We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Zion National Park
from USD 125.00
More Info
from USD 208.99
More Info
Reviews (759)
Filter reviews
759 results
Traveller rating
633
110
12
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
633
110
12
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful drive checkerboard mesa east entrance mile long tunnel big horn sheep take photos hairpin turns turn outs canyon overlook trail every turn pull over rock formations mountain sheep scenic route jaw dropping great scenery every corner
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 759 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

I would caution others to avoid this park during high peak times such as Spring Break. The road itself was bumper to bumper traffic making the trip less than wonderful. Those in taller / wider vehicles tie up the road at the tunnel as it then becomes one-way only. Views are stunning though and on a not-overcrowded day, this would have been much more enjoyable.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

This is a very pretty drive with a fun tunnel. Great scenery and lots of places to pull over and take photos. We saw Bighorn sheep next to the road and a lot of pretty sites. Because we hadn't researched the park much (I so wish I would have used trip advisor to learn about Zion befotehand!), so we were under the impression that we were in the park when in fact we were just on the last leg of this beautiful drive.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Paintyhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

This road winds through the picturesque colored mountains. Easy to stop at the turn outs and take photos.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank Fin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

The Zion-Mount Carmel Highway is the 23-mile section of Utah State Route 9 between Zion Canyon and US Highway 89. The western 10 miles of this route is in Zion National Park and park passes or entrance fees are required ($30/car, valid for 7 days). Note that the Zion Shuttle does not access this area of the park. The scenery along this route is unique and extraordinarily beautiful. Allow about an hour to drive it (20-45 mph), longer if you want to stop for lots of photos or hiking. We drove it westbound just after sunrise on a Monday morning in mid-September and traffic was light. Once inside the eastern park boundary, the paved, two-lane road twists and turns through a series of colorful, textured sandstone mesas and canyons and passes through two tunnels. The eastern tunnel is only about 500', but the western tunnel is 1.1 miles long. Vehicles like RVs that are 11'4" high by 7'10" wide or larger need a permit to pass through the tunnel, because rangers have to stop on-coming traffic so the oversize vehicle can drive down the center of the tunnel. The traffic control is only available during daylight hours and the hours vary with the seasons (see park service website and separate reviews about Zion-Mt. Carmel Tunnel). Due to the traffic control, drivers traveling this route may experience delays. West-bound drivers emerge from the tunnel to a jaw-dropping view of Zion Canyon. The road then switch-backs several times with 5-6 hairpin turns down the side of the mountain to the floor of the canyon and the junction with Zion Canyon Scenic Drive (see separate reviews, shuttle access only February-November). There are some places to pull over and take photos, but they are small and infrequent. I was frustrated by having to take photos through the windshield and out the car window. Lighting may be best for photos mid-day when the sun is overhead; in the early morning there was a lot of shade cast by the canyon walls. There are two trail heads: one at the eastern park entrance for the East Rim Trail (10.8 miles to Weeping Rock in Zion Canyon, may need permit) and one at the eastern end of the long tunnel for the Canyon Overlook Trail (1.1 miles). There is a small parking area for Canyon Overlook but when we visited it appeared to only be open to east-bound vehicles because the left-turn area from the west-bound lane was blocked by traffic cones. Neither of these trails are wheelchair-accessible. Restrooms are available at the eastern park entrance and the Canyon Overlook trail head.

Date of experience: September 2017
7  Thank CrankingChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

We enjoyed the scenery along this road, and we were lucky enough to see a small group of bighorn sheep very near the road.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews