We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Sprague Lake

Sprague Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

After leaving a completely frozen slightly dangerous Bear lake we weren't too enthusiastic about seeing Sprague Lake, but we were pleasantly surprised. The walking path was clear and no ice however there was ice on the lake and river which was picturesque. If you walk around the trail there are wonderful photo ops.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank RachaelTooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"picnic tables"
in 21 reviews
"parking lot"
in 35 reviews
"trout"
in 14 reviews
"easy hike"
in 24 reviews
"pine beetle"
in 4 reviews
"fly fishing"
in 6 reviews
"flat path"
in 5 reviews
"glacier basin"
in 9 reviews
"great place for a picnic"
in 4 reviews
"moose sighting"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful walk"
in 7 reviews
"views of the mountains"
in 9 reviews
"walking path"
in 4 reviews
"continental divide"
in 12 reviews
"parking area"
in 9 reviews
"beat the crowds"
in 4 reviews
"the loop"
in 7 reviews
Filter

40 - 44 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

We just visited Rocky Mountain National Park and stopped at Sprague Lake at the recommendation of the ranger. It appeared to be a fairly easy walk around the lake, and we’d heard it was a great place to see wildlife. The day we were there it was raining, windy, and cold so we didn’t do the whole walk. It was beautiful, and we would have loved to had better weather to truly experience the lake.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank beth070303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

Beautiful sunrise with nice short paved sidewalk around lake. Not much of a hike, but definitely accessible to all. Elk hang out in the area it can be especially fun during rutting season. Try to catch the sunrise here if you can.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank WallyC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

Sprague Lake is famous for wildlife viewing, including moose and elk. There is a picnic area as well as a flat 0.5 mi/0.8 km loop trail around the lake.

We visited the lake around 5:30pm on the Saturday of the Labour Day weekend, and it was not too crowded. It was a calm afternoon, and the beautiful lake formed perfect mirror reflections of the mountains and clouds (see photos).

We were incredibly lucky to witness a Planet Earth moment. When we arrived at the lake, there were 6 cows (female elk) in the lake. Then we heard a loud sound, and a bull (male elk) came out of the forest and went into the lake right in front of us. While we sat by the lake, admiring the elk, we heard a second sound, louder than the previous one. A second, bigger bull came out of the forest and went into the lake, also right in front of us. As the bigger bull swam towards the cows, the smaller bull slowly and quietly left the lake. The bigger bull herded his harem of cows towards the opposite shore. I could just imagine Sir David Attenborough's voice narrating the entire encounter, "and the young bull will not mate for another year". This was a once in a lifetime experience.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank pingaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

Been there done that. Beautiful lake with a short hike around the loop. Taken the help of officer at the ranger office to know about the places to visit and he guided us to places and told whats best to visit with kids. With lot of sun and snow around, we enjoyed the best. My suggestion is to take help from visitor center as they might help you with route as there is no mobile signal

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank 463bharanik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sprague Lake also viewed

Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
 
Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
 

Been to Sprague Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing