We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy to moderate, educational hike in unique desert surroundings” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barker Dam Trail

Barker Dam Trail
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Easy to moderate, educational hike in unique desert surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

As part of a Park Boulevard scenic drive, we stopped here for a short hike. The trail was mainly flat but included some easy rock scrambling. We found the trail well-marked and it had a good number of educational signposts explaining the desert flora and fauna. It was interesting to see the dam area and its pools of water. There were even some interesting petroglyphs to see. The trail isn't far from Hidden Valley which is one of the most interesting area of the park.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KadenceGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    73
    15
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
440 reviews
218 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Easy trail with plenty of beautiful things to see!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The trail is about 1.2 miles, It's fairly easy but good hiking shoes are always recommended. There is also no shade so bring your sunscreen! Halfway through the hike, you come across Barker dam...there is not too much water there right now, but still worthy of pictures. There was a little bit of snow on the trail too which added some fun. Definitely a must if in Joshua Tree!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolinelomeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of many interesting trails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

This trail provides a leisurely stroll of about one mile, mostly flat with a few places where you need to maneuver around and over rocks. The trailhead is located in a parking lot, with toilet facilities. Not much water in the dam when we were here since we haven't had much rain this year, but the rock formations and cactus made for lovely scenery. Be sure to bring a camera.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Easy trail with something extra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

You can easily hike off the beaten path on this very easy nature trail. Hop some rocks, meander about the Joshua trees, all while very near a well-maintained trail. Lots to see and read!

Helpful?
Thank Mepeachykeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Needs Better Marking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

The Barker Dam Trail was our one somewhat negative experience in Joshua Tree National Park. We think it could definitely use better marking... we got lost, but ironically it wasn't so bad because we found other people that were lost, and we helped each other figure out the way to get out. The park management could really do a much better job marking the trails here!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Eager_TravelerNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barker Dam Trail also viewed

Joshua Tree National Park, CA
Joshua Tree National Park, CA
 
Joshua Tree National Park, CA
Joshua Tree National Park, CA
 

Been to Barker Dam Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing