We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Mount LeConte
from USD 196.45
More Info
from USD 80.00
More Info
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveller rating
224
17
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
224
17
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews myrtle point alum cave trail day hike dining hall wool blankets waiting list lodge area strenuous hike hiking poles le conte great hike bucket list rainbow falls an early start coming down snow and ice views are spectacular
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 246 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

I was a little nervous about doing this hike with the many reviews saying how strenuous it is. The trail is actually in beautiful condition with helpful steps and smooth walking. We did Grotto falls the day before and that trail was full of roots and muddy. We took the advice and got an early start hitting the trail by 7:15am. No problem getting a parking spot and we saw very few people on the way up. We took the trail at the lodge to the cliffs where we had our lunch with a fabulous view. Spent some time looking around the lodge and chatting with other hikers before heading down. We met many more people just coming up. We made it back to the car at 2:20pm. So glad we did this hike!

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank Colleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Mount LeConte was a strenuous hike but the views are so beautiful that it is definitely worth it. We took the Alum Cave trail which is 5.5 miles. It is the toughest trail to the summit but it has the best scenery so it is the most popular. It took a little over 4 and a half hours to reach the lodge. Plan on booking well in advance if you want to stay at the lodge. We had to make reservations seven months in advance. There are only a few cabins and it is a popular place. Dinner was at six and the food was good. The staff are friendly and they serve the meals family style. You get dinner and breakfast with your stay. The cabin we stayed in slept eight and there were two rooms with bunks. There is no electric or showers. At sunset you can hike a half mile on a trail to see it and it is definitely worth it. One of the most beautiful scenes I have seen on my hikes. Around 6:30 the next morning we took another trail that was a little over half a mile to see sunrise. I would definitely recommend this trip. We were all tired but definitely loved it.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank Phenioxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

We booked a room for the night in August! It was the best ever! The prices were reasonable! But they gave you breakfast in the morning! Very nice to stay at! We used the Alum Cave Bluff trail! It was short and steep! We spent the weekend hiking on the trails. The Lodge was very nice!

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank meshular1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

The hike is pretty challenging so we had to stop and take breaks along the way. But the scenery is so beautiful and the air is so fresh. And the view from the top is breathtaking! The lodge also offers a dining room where you can buy a sack lunch and rest before you head back down. I highly recommend taking this hike to the top if you have time and are able to.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank NewBaconings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

Strenuous but worth it. Beautiful hike! It's my wife's new favorite. The Mt Leconte lodge and cabins are so cool. Loved the scenery along the way. Take the extra .3 mile hike to cliff top. The views are remarkable!!! Start early or you'll have trouble getting a parking spot. This hike should be on everyone's to do list.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank P1098FXjohnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews