We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,278)
Filter reviews
3,278 results
Traveller rating
691
1,521
777
194
95
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
691
1,521
777
194
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviews general store post office east wing grand canyon grocery store no wifi in the rooms air conditioning national park visitor center market place main building shuttle stop coffee shop mather point short drive king bed reception area
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 3,278 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The only thing this motel has going for it is the location, which is wonderful, right in the middle of the Grand Canyon. Rooms are very disappointing - not well maintained, dingy and rough towels, toilet seat fell off, sheets that don’t fit the bed (they use small, flat sheets only which means you end up in a wad at the end of the night). Food at the main lodge is beyond bad, and the entire operation is so disorganized it’s almost amusing to watch. Service is non existent.

Fortunately, Yavapai Lodge isn’t the only option at Grand Canyon. We visited several of the other lodges and found them to be far superior both in terms of lodging and food. Yavapai is run by Delaware North Corporation, which probably explains why it’s so bad - DN specializes in concessions at sports venues, which tells you everything you need to know.

Room Tip: Avoid this motel
Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
4  Thank abinotwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We signed in at the main lodge and then found out we were actually being housed in one of the two-story buildings out in the woods, away from the main lodge. Entering the building to which we had been assigned felt a bit like walking into a college dorm, but once in the room, we found a comfortable bed, no internet (which was lovely), a view of pine trees, a refrigerator, a coffeepot, NO microwave, a shower tall enough for me (6'1"), a small couch, and a quiet, good night's sleep! It's expensive for what it is, but it's in a National Park, so you can't expect economy prices. There's no breakfast included so plan ahead. (The market/deli/general store is near the main building where you register.) There's a free shuttle bus that stops nearby which will take you back to the Visitors Center or points along the rim - so that's handy if you don't want to drive (and find parking) every time you want to go somewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

The registration is a little confusing but it has a lot to offer so get a feel for the layout of the lodge and park are a bit much at first. The location of the rooms were good. The rooms were older but done up very nice. Wonderful windows to see the forest. Clean beds and bathroom. The restaurant looks wonderful for beverages, but is not good food at all. Even if was free I would not eat it. The front desk happily refunded our breakfast and admitted to having complaints about the food.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank kbeckpta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3802015, Manager at Yavapai Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the feedback you have shared. We look forward to you returning again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

This lodge is ideally situated for the south rim adventure . Walking distance from the rim for those who do not wish to take the shuttle bus. Long Hikes along the gorgeous south rim .
Basic , clean & acceptable rooms although the fridge was not great ( froze our food )& no microwave in our room which is odd. As good as a best western with the best location. Good general store with varied choice of food which is needed considering that the lodge has rudimentary food choices. Fast food : plentiful . Breakfast is a la carte or buffet canteen style , self service. Would stay again for the location in spite of the rough style . Shame for lack of internet in the rooms. Internet at reception is poor but on offer. We stayed in the West area which is fine. East side is motel style.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LinaCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3802015, Manager at Yavapai Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the feedback you have shared. We look forward to you returning again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Located within the national park but not really within walking distance of the rim.
Good size rooms, clean and comfortable but in need of refurbishment.
The restaurant is more like a canteen with the sort of food quality you will remember from school or college.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3802015, Manager at Yavapai Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the feedback you have shared. We look forward to you returning again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews