We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mather Campground(Grand Canyon National Park)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
North Rim Campground(Grand Canyon National Park)
Trailer Village RV Park(Grand Canyon National Park)
Thunderbird Lodge(Grand Canyon National Park)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Phantom Ranch(Grand Canyon National Park)
No availability for your dates from these sites
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,120)
Filter reviews
3,120 results
Traveller rating
673
1,458
729
174
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
673
1,458
729
174
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeneral storepost officeeast winggrand canyongrocery storeno wifi in the roomsair conditioningnational parkmarket placevisitor centermain buildingshuttle stopmather pointcoffee shopshort drivereception areaceiling fan
Filter
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 3,120 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Our family of 4 stayed here to be within the park and close to the canyon. The room was very simple but we hadn't planned on spending much time in it. The one bonus were elk right outside of our door in the morning. Tip: Bring a flashlight....it is so dark at night and no lights within the village. We got lost coming home from dinner and might still be lost if it weren't for the kind gentleman we found who helped us and gave us a small flashlight.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank 662aprilr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

I was able to secure two nights at the Yavapai Lodge for the busy spring break season. Our room was on the East. No problem checking in. The room itself was fine. I wasn't really expecting Ritz luxury in a National Park. We had a room with two queen beds on the East side. It's a typical hotel room set up. Had heater/AC (west rooms do not), mini fridge, coffee maker, tv. It's not on the rim though. I believe you can walk to the rim but we just took the shuttle bus. The stop was located just by the lodge. Two stops and you're in Bright Angel. Just be aware that there is an East and there is a West bound stop. Take the one located next to the rooms. The lodge has a coffee shop, restaurant and gift shop. Next to the lodge is the general store with deli, the post office and a Chase bank. It's hard getting a room inside the Village during peak times so I'm glad we were able to get a room at Yavapai instead of driving to Tusuyan. I would stay here again. We stayed at Bright Angel and although it is by the rim, walls are thin, we actually hear the other family's conversation like we were next to them but that was alright since we were out about the whole day and it was just 10meter walk to the rim. Set your expectations so as not to be disappointed with lodging. The Grand Canyon is a mesmerizing sight. Stay in the village to avoid the crowds in the morning and late afternoon when day visitors leave.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank 451cece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Let’s start with the obvious. You are here to see the Grand Canyon. Out room had a bed... kind of comfortable... a shower... so nothing had a wow factor, so don’t expect it. Your are there to sleep, so expect the bare essentials. Everything seems dated. Food Was cafeteria style, so don’t expect greatness. For the price, I would expect something more, but the location is what you pay for.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank EngyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

In a nutshell, you can get a much nicer hotel room outside of the Grand Canyon with more amenities and shuttle service to the park for the same price or a little more. If staying in the park is on your bucket list and all the other places are booked, this is serviceable. If you are looking for something worth your money, look elsewhere. I wasn't expecting deluxe accommodations when I booked this, and I was still underwhelmed.

We stayed in the west side area. The good news is that there is parking, hot water, and the mattresses were comfortable. The room was clean. There was a nice tv, USB ports, and a coffee maker with good coffee. The bad news is that people not staying in the motel will park in your spot so you have to leave your car and walk to the buses. It really isn't that far. The mini fridge is a micro mini, so you can only fit a few cans in at a time. No microwave. The heater is noisy and we could not control the temp. We woke up hot, then cold, then hot again. I expected better sound insulation with concrete block walls, but we could hear our neighbors pretty easily. There is satellite tv, and the picture was pixelated even with a clear day. You probably won't have a picture with bad weather. The Yavapai motel area is a dead zone for cell phones. Most of our group has Verizon and we all lost service. I had to walk towards the visitors center every time I needed to text or make a call.That may not be a problem for some people, but you are not going to know if someone is trying to contact you. Our dog got sick while we were away and the housesitter had a lot of questions. It got to be a royal pain for me.

The water main was busted so we were on strict water rationing. All of the public bathrooms had the sinks turned off and you had to use hand sanitizer. I wouldn't have minded so much if Yavapai informed us of this before our arrival, which they did not. Others in our group stayed at the other in-park hotels and got an email prior to arriving. The streets are under contruction, so it is a mess trying to get in and out of the registration area and general store. It took us 2 hrs to get through the gates and into registration, and then registering was a mess as well. This was before things got crowded. Again, others in our group were informed that the streets were under construction and we were not. The ordering kiosks in the restaurant were down, so there was a huge line with one cashier taking everyone's order. I reviewed the restaurant last year and nothing has changed. The only thing edible is the pizza, and it is pretty good. Everything else is stale, bland, and not worth the money. The chicken sandwiches look good, and then you bite in to find that the chicken is dry as can be and blander than bland, and the chips are stale.

Bring an actual flashlight and not just the light on your cell phone. The paths are pitch black at night and we still had a hard time seeing 3 feet in front of us with our cell phone flashlights.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank msomnipotent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Stayed here 2 nights in late March with wife and two children (9 and 5). Was in the 7400's building, I think it was building 5.

Overall, it was just meh. Here are the highlights:

THE GOOD
--Location of the resort in relation to the sights was good, with easy shuttle access
--Rooms were clean

THE BAD:
--The lodge buildings are a hike from the main building (lobby, desks, restaurants), which isn't all bad but with little kids and luggage it means driving
--Rooms are small, and dated
--Bathrooms had those chintzy supplies attached to the shower wall and were not good stuff, so if you are picky on that sort of thing, bring your own
--Front desk checkin and checkout experience was pretty bad - long waits and brusque staff
--WiFi is kind of a joke, works sometimes slowly, sometimes not at all
--The rate for a small, simple room like this was far too high
--Restaurants - the pub and the cafeteria - were both overpriced and low quality (but edible)

Reality is, because it's one of only four hotels in the park, they can charge a lot and get away with not being very good. So, that's what they do. My advice is to try one of the other lodgings if you can get it (and afford it), but if you can't, this isn't a terrible choice. Just OK.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Migizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews