We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,270)
Filter reviews
3,270 results
Traveller rating
689
1,517
775
194
95
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
689
1,517
775
194
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviews general store post office east wing grand canyon grocery store no wifi in the rooms air conditioning national park visitor center market place main building shuttle stop coffee shop mather point short drive reception area king bed
Filter
Updating list...
1,854 - 1,859 of 3,270 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2015

The lodge is a typical national park lodge. Rustic, clean, comfortable and has a typical motel style room with a new bathroom. Two beds with a sofa. It was perfect for an overnight stay. Very close to the rim. Food is expensive but good. I'd stay there again vs leaving the park and driving back. We spent Thanksgiving here. Traveled for one night from Las Vegas. We had a lovely experience. I'd stay there again.

Stayed: November 2014
Thank blujaybirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

You cannot beat this location - it is in the park. We actually had an elk right outside our window one morning (see photos). The main lobby was being refurbished when we were there so we didn't see much of it but the updates we did see looked beautifully done. The rooms were quite nice. They were clean and simple. There is no A/C in the room so be prepared for that, but there is a fan right over the beds. Overall, we had a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank jennacole6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

..spread out..lodge buildings..lots of walking..issue for disabled traveler..was able to borrow a wheelchair..to get around..walk to the breakfast room is a bit far..from 7000 buildings...clean room..comfortable bed..lots of trees around..weather did not cooperate well..but grand canyon views are fantastic as always!

Breakfast ordering system at the lodge is for the birds..does not make sense..it is not user friendly...they should go back to buffet system especially for the tour companies..to speed up the ordering and getting food system..had to go back twice to get the coffee and cream that was ran out..

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tasilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

The lodges were set out over quite a large area. We were in Building 5, West Yavapi which was reasonably close to the main buildings, i.e. reception, food hall, tavern etc.
The facilities in the rooms were good and the single level buildings fitted in well with the countryside.
We were pleased that we'd stayed inside the park, but somewhat disappointed at the "restaurants" available. Really the only option was fast food with the lodge having a huge self order food court - a bit like a New Zealand shopping mall food court.
We dined at the quite new Tavern within the Lodge, but were very disappointed.
Shuttle bus stops were very handy and the only way of getting around the south rim other than walking.
Wifi only available in the main building, but I was here to see the Grand Canyon and it was available if needed. Being an international traveller with an elderly parent, having some level of contact with home on a daily basis was important to me.

Room Tip: If you don't want to drive request a room close to the reception area and tavern.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KiwiKerry53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

We stayed in #7120, a long row of single story units, old but very nicely maintained. The unit was up to date with everything fairly new. The A/C didn't work, we only stayed one night and it was actually nice to sleep with the windows open given it was down to about 55 that night.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwuleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews