We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Daudert
Naples, Florida

You are paying for the view when you stay here!

Review of Kachina Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 June 2024
You are paying for location. Keep that in mind and don't expect great accomodations and you'll be happy here. The room we had was right on the rim of the Grand Canyon. Kept the curtains open all night so we could enjoy the amazing view every minute. That is what we paid for. As for anything else expect a National Park hotel and nothing more. The room was dated (but clean) and parking was limited. We were there before the busy time so I can't imagine how hard it must be to find parking in the peak time as there is no designated parking for guests. Ate at the hotel next door in a steakhouse as there is nothing in this hotel and the food was subpar but not cheap.
Date of stay: June 2024
Room Tip: Get a parking spot when you can and don't move your car as parking is limited. Use the busses.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sam L, Sales at Kachina Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your review and feedback!

Regards,

GCSR Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Room with a Rim view
AU$466
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$466
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.1 km from Kachina Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Main Building
AU$423
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$423
  • Algotels
0.6 km from Kachina Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$636
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$636
  • Vio.com
0.1 km from Kachina Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Skyscanner.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$408
  • travelup.com
0.2 km from Kachina Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
double queen room with frig and gas logs fireplace
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
17.4 km from Kachina Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$421
  • Algotels
1.7 km from Kachina Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$676
  • travelup.com
0.0 km from Kachina Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    AU$363
  • Algotels
9.3 km from Kachina Lodge
Free parking
Pool
AU$280
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    AU$280
9.4 km from Kachina Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Reviews (1,249)
Filter reviews
1,249 results
Traveller rating
331
601
229
61
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
331
601
229
61
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews second floor el tovar grand canyon canyon view room south rim bright angel parking lot parking spot beds were comfortable parking space sunset and sunrise hotel room limited parking national park coffee maker dining options enjoy the view
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,249 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2024 via mobile

We visited many places in Arizona on our family vacation, but the biggest rip-off was the Grand Canyon

The canyon itself is awesome, beautiful and mesmerizing.

We stayed one night there at the Kachina Lodge which is not a high quality hotel.

Aside from the smell that hit us when we walked into the building, the room was smaller than expected with a low shower head and tiny toilet fit for a leprechaun.

It is close to a shuttle stop, which is nice. The shuttle drivers are all rude as heck and give you rude answers when you ask a question. They are not nice and treat their passengers like cattle. I seriously believe they would use a cattle prod on the people they service if they had a chance. So sad as they have their great jobs because of the people that come there.

The gift shops are all filled with junk from China. They are incredibly overpriced as well. For instance, I found an Indian sculpture by a local artist on sale in the El Tovar gift shop for $452. I really liked it but didn’t buy it as it was just a little more than I wanted to spend. Thank goodness! I found the same sculpture the next day at the Petrified Forest gift shop for $72. Same artist but at a place that has scruples!

Dining is sub-par. There isn’t a big enough dining room at El Tovar to service their guests. We went to another lodge, but it was all cafeteria style.

Parking is awful as well. Know that hotel guests have to compete for spots at the hotel where they are overpaying for their room with people who are just there to look at the canyon. There is not preference for the paying guests, no sir. Go pound salt if you expect to be able to park your car at the hotel where you are staying.

In the real world, these places would close down for poor hospitality. They exist only because of the fact existence of the Hrand Canyon, and they know they can get away with sub standard service, prices, quality, amenities, and manners.

Room tip: Buy your souvenirs someplace else. Don’t buy the Chinese junk sold inside the shops in the park.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Campaignguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sam L, Sales at Kachina Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good afternoon!

We appreciate you sharing your review and feedback regarding your stay at Thunderbird Lodge, your comments have been shared with our management team for review.

Regards,

GCSR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2024

Wonderful location to stay, right on the rim of the grand canyon. You can just jump out of bed and get on the rim trail for sunrise. We saw an elk who had figured out how to drink from the water fountain! The accommodations are not like El Tovar--they are basic but clean. We appreciated having a fridge and coffee maker, and good cell service. You are paying for location.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinaSLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sam L, Sales at Kachina Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2024

Thank you for sharing your review and feedback!

Regards,

GCSR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2024

We stayed in the Kachina Lodge--very clean and serviceable. Dinner at the adjacent lodge was very nice. The setting of course is what you go for. We took a 2 hour bus tour to an area we haven't visited before. It was exceptional both for what you saw and more for the insights provided by our driver. Group was small so it was a great add

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sam L, Sales at Kachina Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2024

Thank you for sharing your review and feedback, we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Kachina Lodge!

Regards,

GCSR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2024

Room is nice and clean. We had a view of canyon which was great. Parking situation is ridiculous. No designated spaces for hotel, you park wherever you can like the masses of people that are visiting the park. I took my 80 year old dad for his Birthday, dropped him off at hotel and had to hunt for a spot and then hike with luggage to hotel. Only in a National Park!

Room tip: Arrive early in day for parking spot even though you can’t check in til 4. It will help you miss the long line at entrance near Williams
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sam L, Sales at Kachina Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2024

Thank you for sharing your review and feedback!

Regards,

GCSR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2024

We were pleased with our 2 night stay at Kachina. The facilities were rather generic but very roomy, quiet & comfortable. The room included a mini-fridge & coffee maker. The view out the window on the Canyon side was superb and the immediate access to the Rim Trail a definite plus. Parking is very limited everywhere in the Park so once you find a space, leave your car parked & use the excellent shuttle bus system.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sam L, Sales at Kachina Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2024

Thank you for sharing your review and feedback, we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Kachina Lodge!

Regards,

GCSR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews