We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Tovar worth the wait”
Review of El Tovar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Tovar Hotel
Hillsborough, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“El Tovar worth the wait”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Given the high demand, we had to make reservations for the El Tovar Hotel a year in advance. The wait was absolutely worth it, however. This was our first time staying at the hotel, and we found the ambiance, location and service excellent. A family of four (two 13 year olds), we shared a downstairs room that had two queen beds. It was a bit tight for us, but we spent most of the time outdoors, anyway. The only negative was WiFi was only available in the lobby (there is a small gathering of login addicts clustered on the second floor.

Room Tip: Definitely reserve well in advance. I found Xanterra, the concession manager, very professional and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJoseph54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,123
    1,049
    455
    199
    101
See reviews for
812
1,536
61
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (700)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wickenburg, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
806 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 653 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Since the El Tovar is the oldest of the rim lodges - over a hundred years old now - it was obviously also built first, so the builders could snatch up the best location. El Tovar is right on the rim, more or less, just the wall, the footpath and some lawn in between.
Even though it was mostly built in dark wood, it does not have a somber atmosphere, but just seems grand, impressive and stately, alsop having preserved the character and tone of the times it was built in - no ultra modern concrete, chrome and steel here.
In the lofty entrance hall a massive antlered head looks down on you, gift shops to the left and right, the dining hall/restaurant right ahead.
It's actually been over a year that we stayed there, but it was summer, and the hotel was - as it is wont to be - full. W ehad a room on the second floor, which was nice and spacious, out friend had a first floor one which seemed a bit cramped and small - but they could watch deer on the lawn right outside their window at dusk and dawn.
You can also sit outside on the large front porch and watch the goings-on - always a lot of that since this spot is what Times Square is to New York. The bar and lounge at the back on the right also has seating on a terrace and from there you look right across the canyon.
You need a reservation for the dining room. That was the only bad note. Even though we did have a reservation we stood in line to be seated for about an hour ...

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are nicer; some rooms look out on the canyon, other don't - try to ask for can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esty666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The location cannot be beat obviously, but since it is the only game in town they are fully aware. The hotel has character and is comfortable, but the service is mediocre. The restaurant is terrible. Food was horrible for both dinner and breakfast. Breakfast was ice cold because the dining room was ice cold with a breeze coming in. Staff didn't seem to care. Lobby is always crowded and busy because everyone congregates there. Definitely a must experience, but keep your expectations low so as not to be disappointed. It is by no means luxurious.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanterra, Manager at El Tovar Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for submitting feedback regarding your stay at El Tovar. Feedback left on TripAdvisor is personally monitored to ensure consistent guest satisfaction.

I was disappointed to read about your experience at El Tovar. We take pride in our ability to deliver a superior dining experience to every guest. It is obvious that we failed to meet this goal during your recent visit. I have forwarded your comments to the appropriate team members for their review and resolution. Rest assured that we are constantly working to improve the quality of the products and services we offer here at the hotel. I am confident that if you should return to El Tovar, you will see many improvements.

I genuinely hope this experience doesn't prevent you from visiting the Grand Canyon South Rim and dining at El Tovar in the near future. If you do return, please ask for me so I can personally ensure your complete satisfaction.

David Beckerleg
Food and Beverage Director
Grand Canyon South Rim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The hotel is one of the originals built on the side of the canyon. Its absolutly charming. Our room overlooked the edge of the canyon. We had dinner in the resturant the the food was great. This hotel definatley know's what servise means!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilive2dive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Well you cannot get a better location if you want to visit the Grand Canyon. Very historic lodge. Nice restaurant downstairs. Yes it is expensive, but for such a once in a lifetime experience it was worth it.

Room Tip: Any room with a view of the canyon. But even the ones with out a view have been remodeled nicely - o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaF58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.6 km away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,350 reviews
9.8 km away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
9.8 km away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,854 reviews
9.4 km away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,687 reviews
9.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tovar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tovar Hotel

Property: El Tovar Hotel
Address: El Tovar Road 1, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Region: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price range (per night): $268 - $595
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Tovar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your El Tovar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Tovar Hotel Grand Canyon
El Tovar Grand Canyon
Hotel El Tovar
El Grand Canyon
Grand Canyon El Tovar
El Tovar Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing