We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler40005333389

Bright Angel ❤

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 July 2023
Buckey O'Neil suite! WOW!
Felt honored to stay there. Walked outside to watch sunrise and sunset. Very roomy with all the amenities. Bed was comfy. Janey at the front deck was wonderful. She knows how to take care of her guests.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Room with a Rim view
AU$545
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$545
  • Algotels
3.9 km from Bucky O'Neil Suite
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$441
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$441
  • travelup.com
3.7 km from Bucky O'Neil Suite
Free parking
Restaurant
Main Building
AU$395
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$395
  • Algotels
4.3 km from Bucky O'Neil Suite
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Skyscanner.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$444
  • Vio.com
4.0 km from Bucky O'Neil Suite
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Skyscanner.com
  • travelup.com
3.8 km from Bucky O'Neil Suite
Free Wifi
Free parking
double queen room with frig and gas logs fireplace
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
16.8 km from Bucky O'Neil Suite
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$411
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$411
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
2.1 km from Bucky O'Neil Suite
Free parking
Restaurant
Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$324
  • Priceline
8.9 km from Bucky O'Neil Suite
Free parking
Pool
AU$234
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$234
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
9.0 km from Bucky O'Neil Suite
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
26
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
26
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wet bar gas fireplace once in a lifetime screen door bright angel lodge stayed nights grand canyon rim trail baseboards edge cabin heater
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2023

We stayed in this Suite 4 nights. It was restored in 2019. This suite is a 2 bedroom suite attached to other rooms in the Buckey O’Neill wing. From the trail, it looks like a Cabin, but it is actually attached to other rooms. It has an entrance inside and 2 doors that open directly onto the Rim trail. A placard is on the rim trail describing the original cabin. So, you’ll have 50-100 people taking pictures of your Suite, daily.
We loved walking out our door with a glass of wine and sitting on the rock ledge of the Rim Trail (overlooking the hikers on the Bright Angel Trail). We often saw Condors too. T5 was our favorite condor. All are tagged.

The 2 rooms are a bedroom, with a tiny bathroom and a living room with a functional gas fireplace.
The baseboards make a lot of popping noises, so turn off at night while trying to sleep. In Summer, no problem. Like most rooms at GC, no air conditioning but the cabin holds its temperature well.
I believe this Suite might be the nicest room/suite in the entire complex of hotels at the GC. Check-in at Bright Angel Hotel. We stayed 4 nights and there is no housekeeping service (ok by us).
The best part of staying here is the “walk out the door and you are standing on the Rim Trail”. We definitely would stay here again.

Room tip: Request specifically Buckey O’Neill Suite.
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steveh3Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 April 2023

Decided to go to the Grand Canyon somewhat last-minute. Everything was sold out, but called Xanterra anyway. There was one "room" available across all their hotels, the "Bucky O'Neil Suite". The price was a bit of a shock, but I decided to do it. Got off the phone, looked it up, and couldn't believe what I'd just booked.

Overall, it did NOT disappoint. I mean, c'mon, the Grand Canyon is across the sidewalk outside your front door. The room was cozy (it's two rooms -- living room and bedroom), rustic with modern furnishings and touches like a wet bar. You certainly won't feel like you're roughing it. Having a fireplace was great. It was really cold outside but it stayed warm inside. Note that there are two front doors but the whole place is yours. It has a door on the other side that goes into the connecting hallway where the attached building's other rooms are. It wasn't weird or creepy... in fact it'd be convenient if you're lugging your stuff from the parking lot when it's cold or rainy.

The Bright Angel Lodge is literally steps away with 2 restaurants and a coffee shop -- couldn't be more convenient.

We got funny looks from the crowds passing by on the sidewalk, and yes, a few people tried to walk in. We just kept the screen door locked and went into it with the right attitude. We thought it was all kind of amusing and everyone was apologetic. We actually ran into the guy who did the restoration in 2019 and showed him around inside. It was a really interesting conversation.

So here's the one negative (other than the price of course), and if they could fix this, it'd be perfect. The baseboard heaters look old and they clang, pop, and creak as they expand and contract. I noticed it during the day but it didn't bother me. However, at night it is dead SILENT (except for the heater, of course) and that racket was impossible to sleep through. We were awake throughout the night with short periods of falling asleep. The next day we were wiped out, and needless to say, it really impacted our two-day trip. For the price, that shouldn't happen.

Otherwise, 5 stars all the way... oh wait, the pillows are awful too. About 8 squares that are like 10 inches high and super springy. Ha, ok, other than that, 5 stars all the way!

Room tip: Bring ear plugs to sleep through the clanging heaters.
Date of stay: April 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Likesalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 May 2022

Staying in the oldest cabin right on the edge of the grand canyon would be anyone's dream. Having it fully decorated in holiday garb... we got to walk out to the rim of the Grand Canyon 15 ft away with our wine classes and cheese and enjoy the view. Once in a lifetime trip.

Date of stay: November 2021
1  Thank Trail60944995969
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2019 via mobile

Booked this cabin a year in advance, and are so glad we did! Right on the rim of the south rim of the canyon - perfect for sunrise and sunset, conveniently located, and very roomy! Our daughter loved having her own private room, complete with fireplace and separate entrance! Keurig, fridge, king size bed, and a private bath with tub and shower!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank CarsonsMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Called for 3 hours straight to get reservations at the Grand Canyon and when we finally got through, they had one room left ...the Bucky O’Neil suite. We stayed here for 5 days and loved it. Two room suite right on the rim built in the 1890’s. Very comfortable furnishings, gas fireplace, refrigerator, Keurig, comfy king bed (no microwave). Walk right out the door to see the sun rise, sun set, clear beautiful skies at night! Bright Angel Trail right outside. We had one or two folks peep in but there’s a historical plaque outside the door so I’m not sure folks know it’s a private room. $465/night when we were there and well worth it.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank esl122
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews