We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1-Hour ATV Ride near the Grand Canyon's West Rim
2

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Rim Trail
Reviews (1,557)
Filter reviews
1,557 results
Traveller rating
1,335
202
19
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,335
202
19
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hermit's rest grand canyon shuttle bus nice walk mather point visitor center spectacular views bright angel take your time edge miles stops points rim visitors west rocks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,557 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2024

This trail runs basically the entire length of the southern side of the park. I think the only stop you can't access is Yaki Point. The trail is more of a walkway and is paved for the vast majority of it. There was at least one section along the red shuttle line that was unpaved (I think between Hopi and Mojave Points...maybe a little past). The paved sections are also pretty wide, so it never felt too busy. There are plenty of lookouts.

Date of experience: March 2024
Thank Icarus4335
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 August 2023

Beautiful hike, plenty of places to stop for either photos or a rest or both. Fairly easy to do and flat with not many rises or drops. A lot of walking along unsealed paths and tracks but just wear comfortable footwear, watch where you're going and don't do anything stupid.

Highly recommended and easy to do at your own pace.

Would recommend

Date of experience: September 2022
1  Thank WizardDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 May 2023 via mobile

This is a 13 mile trail right along the edge of the Grand Canyon South Rim. Very well designed with shops, visitor centers and outlooks along the way. Use the various bus shuttles and hike one-way segments. Very little elevation change. We hike a lot. Nice alternative to the days we hiked down, into the canyon.

Date of experience: April 2023
Thank Steveh3Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 May 2023

As an alternative to hiking down the canyon, the extensive rim trails are lovely. Due to remaining snow on the canyon trail we hiked both ways on the rim. Fairly easy w no large elevation changes and you can’t beat the views!

Date of experience: April 2023
Thank shirley83001
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 April 2023

This is a long trail at approximately 13 miles from South Kaibab Trailhead to Hermits Rest. A large portion of it is paved, but the stretch between Hopi Point and Monument Creek Vista is not paved, narrow, and very close to the edge without guard rails. During inclement weather and after a snow fall, hikes are not recommended on this part of the trail. The Hermits Rest Free Shuttle Bus (Red Line) is recommended for this part of the trail, and one can board the bus at the Bright Angel Trailhead. Check the park's website for bus schedules. Enjoy the wonderful view along this trail. We certainly did.

Date of experience: March 2023
2  Thank JRMADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews