We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Private Grand Canyon Hike and Sightseeing Tour
117

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience South Kaibab Trail
Reviews (1,754)
Filter reviews
1,754 results
Traveller rating
1,528
207
12
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,528
207
12
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ooh aah point skeleton point bright angel phantom ranch south kaibab grand canyon hiking poles start early miles round trip bring lots of water turn around hiked down take your time experienced hikers spectacular views mile hike cedar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,754 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2024 via mobile

Awesome hike with beautiful views! April 30 was great timing - trails were dry and dusty with no ice or mud, and it was a perfect temperature in the morning.

My husband and I hiked to Skeleton Point. Started at 8am and was done around 12:15pm. It was very hot coming back up, so recommend leaving earlier. We didn’t find it too busy, but there were lots of people coming in as we were leaving.

The way down was a calf burner but relatively easy. The way back up was challenging and steep. That said, it’s very doable for anyone active / in decent shape without training. We had regular running shoes and no poles. We took tons of little breaks and a few longer rests at lookouts, and we still finished in 4h10min. We had 1.5L water, 1L of Powerade, 2 granola bars and half a sandwich each, which was perfect to keep us going.

Date of experience: May 2024
Thank tdyck4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 April 2024 via mobile

We hiked down to Skeleton point, with 2 pre-teen kids. There was no ice at the top when we started at around 9:30am, and we made it downtown to Skeleton Point in under 2 hours, and back up in another three, with a few snack and photo stops along the way. We hiked in tennis shoes and without hiking poles, and that worked due to the weather being in the 50s. When we arrived back at the top, the trail was a lot busier than when we started, especially from Ooh Aah Point towards the top. I'd recommend starting earlier in the day, and wearing lots of layers, as it was cooler ehen we started out, then got much warmer as we were going back up. It's an amazing hike!

Date of experience: March 2024
Thank bolkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 March 2024

Amazing views. We only hiked to Ohh Ahh Point. I used hiking poles. It was easier hiking down :) We were lucky, no ice when we were hiking!

Date of experience: March 2024
Thank travelingal31
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 October 2023 via mobile

We trekked down to Skeleton Point -here’s a bit more detail on how we found it.
We got to the park for 7.30-ish and got the orange bus west bound to Kaibab trailhead for about 8.00am. Restrooms and water at the visitor centre but none at the top of the trailhead so plan ahead. Temp was 48 degrees so cool so we wore lots of layers. We took snacks, a sandwich each and about 1.5 litres of water each which was fine.
We’re mid 50s and done a fair amount of trekking. It’s 3 miles each way. Fairly easy downhill - no scrambling or scree and the trail is really obvious compared to hiking in Europe. Mules went by so you have to squeeze in but again no problems. Cedar breeze is about halfway down and has (horrible) restrooms but no water. Skeleton Point another 1.5 miles on - about 0.75 of steep downhill and then 0.75 of fairly flat round the lower rim. Views amazing all the way. Return journey is obviously tough, first 0.75 mile flattish but then you climb steeply for about 1.25 miles. The last 0.75 to the top are not too bad. All in all took us about 2 hours each way - about 3.5 hours in total walking excluding picnic and photo stops. Very enjoyable and worth it.

Date of experience: October 2023
3  Thank MermaidRose55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 August 2023

This is a very picturesque trail, but a very tough one. It's steep and rough, and a huge workout. Be very careful to carry enough water and electrolytes, and snacks. It requires good hiking shoes. We chose to go with a supported tour, and were extremely happy with guides, and all the equipment etc, that they provided

Date of experience: July 2023
Thank katevO8368UN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews