We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
46
23
6
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
23
6
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews arrive early iceberg lake camp store ranger station wait in line swiftcurrent inn within walking distance open sites swiftcurrent pass great park huckleberry ice cream driving around buy tokens tent campers great trails west side make reservations
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

We are a family of six (two adults, four kids ages 8-14). We arrived at our Many Glacier campground very disappointed to see a most inadequate space we had been assigned. It would be impossible to set up both our tents without them being on top of the plants encroaching on the sight, and it left no room for preparing food.
We approached the campground host to ask for assistance. His (name was Rich) response was "I have no solution for you". We looked around at the several other campsites , not yet being utilized, that would have suited us better and wondered why something couldn't be done. We we're all feeling very let down , and a little frustrated that there was no effort to help create a better experience. Rich came by on his bike and agreed the campground was too small for us but still offered no solution. It was only when my husband asked if we could switch with the campsite across the lane labeled "admin" that Rich agreed we could do that. We then moved and that campsite was much better. Later we watched as two other sets of campers struggled with securing their sites as well, despite having reserved in advance. They were told to leave one or two of their chairs to secure their site, and we intervened when one set of chars was almost stolen.
The rangers that ran the evening program we're fantastic and provided a great talk, especially Monica. Sarah at the ranger station was exceptional as well in swearing our daughter in as a junior ranger.
Our kids loved the ice cream at the motor lodge store! Lots of wildlife too (bear, moose, birds).
In summary, campground was fine, administration of it was poor. We made the best of it and enjoyed our time here

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank BuddingWisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

I loved this campground! Doesn't seem like there are a lot of "bad" spots. Nice pull in spots for campers, private sites, nice clean bathrooms. BUT the nicest thing is that you are so close to the camp store which sells EVERYTHING but specifically firewood (until 10pm) and coffee for those mornings when you are feeling lazy. There are also informative ranger led talks in the evenings. Very close to numerous trail heads.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Erica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Although in the East side of Glacier and about 45 minutes from Going To The Sun RD, this is the place you want to be if you are a hiker or outdoorsman. The west side of the park seemed to be more for people who were just driving around, east for hikers! Wonderful location to hike all trails in this part of the park without having to drive. Great access to amenities in Walking distance (store, showers, laundry, etc). Every site was well laid out and though close to one another, have great privacy. Hosts were very nice and helpful. Make reservations or if not, arrive EARLY! We arrived at 5:45am on a Friday and got a spot. Line is quite long by 6am.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank AndreaWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

We arrived at around 6:30am to try to get a FCFS spot in the campground. We wound up having to wait about 3 hours before finally getting a spot. I was skeptical, but I'll say I was not disappointed. Most camp sites offer a good view, and we immediately saw a couple of mule deer wandering through near our site. The campground is near many popular trailheads such as Grinnell Glacier Trailhead and the Swiftcurrent Pass Trailhead. The Swiftcurrent Motor Inn is a short walk away which offers a gift shop with fabulous coffee and groceries. Also at the inn is Nell's diner, which has spectacular food and is open late (10:00pm), which was a welcome treat since my husband and I frequently hike late and come in exhausted and hungry. The bathrooms are a bit lacking, but at least they had plumbing and were fairly warm even in the chilly early morning hours. Another downfall was the lack of showers. They're there, but apparently you have to buy tokens to use them and there aren't many to go around. After hiking nearly 20 miles each day and coming back filthy, easily accessible showers would have been nice.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

We love this campground for many reasons, and think it is the best in the park. Lots of travail heads close by, great fishing lakes, and the campground is clean and quiet. There are many opportunities to see wildlife: moose, bears, deer, and smaller critters too. It's a great place to camp and relax. But please, change it back to FCFS for campsites.
One concern for us is that they have designated half of the campsites as reservable, and the other half are first-come, first-served. We found it impossible to make a reservation, even at the start of the 6 month window. Without a reservation, you end up in a line of cars waiting for the few sites that may come open. We arrived at 6 am and we were 15th in line for just 10 possible sites. Very frustrating! They also need to seriously make some repairs to the 11 mile road in from Babb. Besides dodging
potholes, you have to watch out for 200+ head of range cattle walking in the middle of the road !

Room Tip: Figure out how to reserve a campsite !
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews