We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,192)
Filter reviews
6,192 results
Traveller rating
1,240
2,665
1,448
536
303
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,240
2,665
1,448
536
303
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursedeath valleyborax museumgeneral storefurnace creekon sitepost officeswimming poolrocking chairsspring fedtennis courtsnational parkair concorkscrew saloonwrangler steakhousean oasiszabriskie point
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 6,192 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

This was our second visit staying at the Ranch at Death Valley. Next to the 900 building there are Horse Stables, and we went for a lovely sunset ride. They have a max of 14 people in a group so the feeling is intimate as we rode through the sandy rocky desert floor with the colorful golden sky behind us. There was something calming about this experience which can take you back into time as horses are a part of history of Death Valley. Check the schedule for I think they are open Fall- Spring only.

We were quite happy with our room accommodations, however we bring our own food and use the fridge in the room and pack sandwiches in an ice chest for our outings.

Hike in the morning( Mosaic Canyon, Golden Canyon) and do the scenic drives such as Artist's Palette then to Badwater Basin with your air conditioning in the afternoon. Zabraski Point a short 10 minute drive away is heavenly and otherworldly. Death valley is an awe inspiring place! Just go!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Cherie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Ok. Overpriced a bit. Really no other option that is somewhat reasonable in this fantastic park. If possible get the deluxe room with one story with rocking chairs. The back is a wonderland of grass, lawn games, swimming pool, trees, and sports courts. This is a perfect respite after a long day! Yes there is construction but this central location is unbeatable.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Liggyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

If your heading to death valley its definitely worth staying here, all of the main attractions aren't to far of a drive away and the hotel isn't hard to find either. The rooms were a little bit dated and the restaurant didn't have much choice while we were there, chicken tenders or pizza was all they really had, but for somewhere so remote you cant expect the Ritz. The pool was great i must add, after toiling the the heat all day it was great to cool off in! If your going to Death Valley then i wouldn't look past here!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

At $600 per night, The Oasis is far beyond the reach of us common folks. Maybe it's worth the price, but "I'd rather spend my money on a cruise" said a park employee we met at the Ranch. And, she is right. So we stayed at The Ranch (currently under construction to make it better, but still pretty good) for less than half the price of the Oasis.

The rooms were very cozy and the nice lady at the front desk gave us a room overlooking the golf course (Yes! They have a golf course) with a small area just outside the room with 2 chairs and a table. A great place to start your day with coffee.

They have a Swimming Pool with no chlorine. Water is filtered every night and is always kept a comfortable 82 deg. Really nice to go in there after a tiring day in the sun.

The Date Grove Diner, though not a award-winning restaurant, does pretty good with the food. You get Pasta, Pizza, BBQ stuff and enough to satisfy most people's appetites. Service is fast and the place is comfortable to sit and eat. There is actually a "Date Grove" outside and you'll see dates on the ground (don't eat them though!)

There is a "General Store" which has everything you may need while you're at the hotel...ice-cream too! Souvenirs! Drinks!

Last but not the least, they have a nice little outdoor museum, called the Borax Museum, which has on display tools and machinery used in the old days for mining Borax and other things in Death Valley. We met an interesting old gentleman there that was displaying stone tool replicas of the Native Indians, that he had carved himself.

All in all, a great hotel to stay if you're planning to visit Death Valley.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the golf course seem to be the best as far as view is concerned.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sonny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one night. The surrounding environment is like no other and even the drive to the hotel is worth seeing.
The hotel itself is being renovated currently, so our experience is perhaps not usual. The reception staff were friendly, welcoming and informative. The room is large, with comfortable beds and has a good bathroom.
Obviously the location is remote, meaning that we had to eat on site and this is the only limitation as food was really expensive and limited in choice. This might be due to building work but things seemed over priced, for example, breakfast cereal is sold by the bowl (fine) but milk was $3 extra. However, I do like the effort made to reuse and recycle all resources.
A lovely setting but pricey in some ways.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Potch24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews