We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“BEST HOLIDAY GITE RENTED IN FRANCE IN 8 YEARS”

Review of La Retraite

La Retraite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Retraite
pool pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
La Retraite
pool
pool
pool
pool
rear patio
main lounge
main lounge
main lounge
TV room
dining room
dining room
kitchen
bedroom
main bathroom
main bathroom
field at Simoussais
La Ferme Flamande, local restaurant
Surgeres
Saint Martin, Ile de Re
Le Bois Plage, Ile de Re
Saint Martin, Ile de Re
Chatelaillon Plage
Grande Plage, Fouras
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Surgeres, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Nicola W
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“BEST HOLIDAY GITE RENTED IN FRANCE IN 8 YEARS”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was a fabulous holiday home.We cannot recommend it highly enough. Alan has gone to great lengths to ensure that your holiday is perfect. The gite is equipped with absolutely everything you could ever need on a family holiday. To say this was a home from home would be an understatement. It was far better than home. Alan provides extensive advice and recommendations and is at the end of a phone should you need anything. Absolute luxury. The perfect place to spend a holiday with all the family of all ages.We will be back next year we hope.
Thank you

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Reviewed 26 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Sep 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We had a few comments about the wifi over the summer so we have now replaced the router and also have a range extender into the lounge. We have not experienced any interruptions in service since.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Portishead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Long evening meals on the patio!
Liked least: Erratic wi-fi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Big dining room off kitchen with access to garden
Liked least: Nothing dis-appointed
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sophie L
1 review
“My only regret is that I didn't book again this year”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in July 2013

Wonderful family owned home, with everything you could possibly wish for. My sister and my fur babies (dogs) had the most relaxing cosy holiday every. I would highly recommend. Alan and his family are marvellous hosts who cannot do enough for you. We had a couple of issues that were fixed within hours. I can't say how perfect this is for families. My only regret is that I didn't book for this year in time! I won't make that mistake next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing