We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage, great location, all you could need”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ostlers Cottage

Ostlers Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ostlers Cottage
The dining area, leading onto the courtyard garden The comfortable sitting room with stereo and smart TV with DVD player
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Ostlers Cottage
The dining area, leading onto the courtyard garden
The comfortable sitting room with stereo and smart TV with DVD player
Fully equipped kitchen, overlooking the garden
Newly refurbished, with lots of storage space, and dishwasher!
Twin bedroom in coastal style
Double bedroom with original fireplace
Master bedroom with beams, and en-suite with patio doors to garden
Separate seating area in master bedroom with its own TV
Garden lawned area for games or lounging
Courtyard garden, perfect for outdoor dining & relaxing
Winterton village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Winterton-on-Sea, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Naomi O
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, great location, all you could need”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

A well equipped cottage that is in a wonderful location. We travelled with our two young toddlers and two dogs and the cottage has everything you need, from washing machine and tumble drier, to a dishwasher, with some really nice touches - like dog bags in the utility room, table football, and stairgates for the young ones.
There was an issue with the heating when we arrived, but that was solved very quickly and without fuss. The garden is great for the dogs (the only thing I would say is that my escapee springer spaniel would be able to get under the side gate, but we solved that by putting a sheet of wood against it) and kids alike.
We love the area, having stayed in Winterton several times, so knew that the beach was a wonderful place for both the kids and dogs. We saw seals almost every day.
A fantastic holiday - a wonderful, homely cottage. I would definitely recommend it for families, and for those with dogs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and the homely feel of the cottage
Liked least: that the heating wasn't working when we first arrived!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HungrySpi...
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation in excellent location”
Reviewed 9 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Very well appointed accommodation with everything you could need for a relaxing stay. Just across the car park from the local pub serving excellent local beers. Fantastic for dogs - we took three golden retrievers. Beach about one minutes walk away with great walks in the dunes or along long stretches of golden sand if you fancy the alternative or if the dogs want a swim. Possible to see the local seals in the surf as well. Local chip shop just round the corner which cooks to order - must try the jumbo sausage next time. Great location for a trip on the broads - boating companies will accept the dogs too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being relaxed
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki M
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing week, great dog-walking on the beach.”
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a week at Ostler's Cottage at the end of August, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were with 2 friends and had 3 dogs between us, who had a wonderful time!
The cottage is comfortable, clean and well equipped, and the big double bed in the downstairs bedroom is exceptionally good. There is a small garden where the dogs could potter about, and the dunes and beach are a few minutes walk away. We had excellent fish and chips from the local take-away, the local mini - market is not up to much, but the village shop/post office does stock basics and fresh bread.
The cottage is next door to a pub,The Angler's Retreat, where we had a mixed experience, but I will revue that separately.
There are wonderful places to visit within easy reach: we went to Blickling Hall,(NT) which is very interesting and has lovely gardens, but the most beautiful gardens in the area.....at East Ruston, just 25 minutes drive from Winterton - are a must.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The big bed and ground floor bedroom.
Liked least: En-suite bathroom is too narrow, and there is nowhere to dry your shower towel.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbys
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing