We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Cosy Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Prospect Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Winterton-on-Sea, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
5
people found this review helpful

Cosy cottage, beautifully maintained, in a gorgeous village.
Has local shop, chip shop and post office all within walking distance and off road parking for two vehicles.
Just returned from wonderful two week stay, enjoyed the beach only a short walk away and also being near to bus stop should you wish to go out and about and not have to drive.
Everyone we met was welcoming friendly and helpful.
The only two negatives (if can call them that) is the downstairs flooring is all tiles and at night it gets cold and could do with a rug for lounge, the stairs are a little steep but if you take your time using the handrails you should be ok, door frames are a little low so need to mind your head if your on the taller side.
All in all even with slight negatives this is a beautiful cottage owned by lovely people who can't do enough for you and situated where you can enjoy your peace and quiet perfectly.
Already re-booked for next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie G
Braintree, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a brilliant week in Prospect Cottage. We loved the cottage, it's super dog friendly & cozy.
The owners not only left us a few welcome treats, but also there's loads of essentials to make your stay easier.

Parking is great & the garden is secure for dogs & is in two parts which was handy.
The cottage is a few minutes walk from the most amazing dog friendly beach we have ever seen. You also have a shop, post office & chip shop on your doorstep & a dog friendly pub round the corner called the Fishermans Return (the food was amazing!!!)
Winterton is a lovely quiet place & everybody we came into contact with was super friendly.

We had concerns before we went about the electricity being a coin meter & no central heating. The electric was in no way an issue, we only used about £7-8 of the £20 provided by the owners. We were very fortunate with the weather & didn't need heating, but there are electric heaters in every room.

Two things that may be an issue to some people would be the very steep stairs (although I'm 7 months pregnant & they weren't a problem for me)
The other is the hot water, you have to turn it on 90 mins before you need it. This again really wasn't an issue to us as we turned it on when we got up & then walked the dogs. I must say the shower in the downstairs wet room was better than our power shower at home!!

We would highly recommend Prospect cottage & the gorgeous Winterton & will most definitely be returning!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbather...
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“WOULD BE PERFECT IF.................”
Reviewed 4 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
5
people found this review helpful

We stayed at this lovely cottage in April 2016. We booked with 2 of our friends who stayed in Juanperi cottage which is next door. Both of us took our dogs. We liaised with the owners of Juanperi cottage for both cottages, which included booking the dates, payment etc. When we booked we were given an amount to pay in total, this wasn't broken down per cottage which we thought was absolutely fine.

I'll start with the positives. This cottage is beautiful. It has a lot of character and original features. The internal doors are so in keeping with the cottages age and character they really contribute to the overall feel.

The location is also second to none. Literally a stones throw away from the beach, shop, post office, pub and the lovely Dunes Café. If you are planning on visiting this cottage with your dogs the location couldn't be better. Our dog literally had the time of his life.

There is a lovely spiral staircase leading to the bedrooms & bathroom. I could say that this wouldn't be appropriate for anyone who had mobility problems as it was very steep and would be difficult to navigate if you had issues.

The outside area is beautiful and a real haven for birds. It was lovely to sit outside and watch the blackbirds pull up worms in the garden.

The kitchen is well equipped with a good oven and hob as well as plenty of utensils.

This cottage had all the potential to be perfect but for a few things.

We arrived at the same time as our friends as we were in convoy. In Juanperi cottage they had a lovely welcome pack which included tea, coffee, tin of biscuits, a selection of cereal boxes, a bottle of wine and treats for the dogs.

In our cottage we had a pack of chocolate digestives and a half drunk bottle of red wine which was in the fridge. A bit underwhelming. Given that we'd booked the cottage together and paid exactly the same per cottage I found this discrepancy really disappointing.

In our cottage the only heating we had was via plug in wall heaters. We visited at the end of April where the weather was a bit wild to say the least. For the first 3-4 days we were absolutely freezing. We put the electric fire on in the living room and the wall heaters then watched with dismay as the £20 credit on the metre started to dwindle. If we wanted any hot water we had to put the immersion heater on for 1 1/2 hours. We couldn't even wash the pots without filling the kettle a couple of times in the morning. We only put the immersion on in the late afternoon to have a shower when we got back from a day of walking. If you had a family of four or more then the £20 credit wouldn't be nearly enough, especially if you were staying in the colder months. We had to put an additional £5 into the metre.

On the first night we tried to put the heater on in the bedroom but this wouldn't work. Cue an absolutely freezing night. To be fair we contacted the owners the next morning and a new heater was fitted the same day.

As we had travelled with our dogs we didn't intend to go out much at night. We had a couple of nights in the pub but we were so exhausted from all of the walking that we tended to stay in with a bottle of wine. The cottage has wifi which was great and a tv that had freeview.

Now I don't come on holiday to sit in front of the tv all day, but when we're away with the dog, we tend to stay in at night. Our friends in the cottage next door had sky tv, apple tv & Netflix. All of this with a vast array of DVD, board games and even a playstation. Given that we'd paid exactly the same amount each for the cottage we were a bit miffed as we had absolutely none of this.

I appreciate that Prospect Cottage has 3 bedroom & 2 bathrooms compared to 2 bed & 1 bath at Juanperi but when you are booking cottages together and paying the same amount of money you do expect a similar kind of experience.

We really did enjoy our week in Winterton but felt that but for the heating, hot water & other issues this would have been a five star review. I would stay in Winterton again but wouldn't stay at this cottage except for middle of summer when it wouldn't be quite so cold.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: no central heating
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynor542
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonerful Cottage”
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just had a lovely weekend break in this beautiful little cottage. Location is perfect just a stones throw from Beach, pub, shop and chippie. Took four dogs with us and they all had a brilliant time. Communication with the owners was excellent. Would definitely return.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Cottage - Ideal Location”
Reviewed 15 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I recently stayed here with my 2 dogs for 3 nights. The location was ideal and the village was lovely and quiet. Amenities are a stones throw away and the dunes are a mere 3 minute walk away from the cottage gate if that.
The beach is fantastic and you can walk for miles in either direction. Again, ideal for exercising dogs.
The cottage itself was very clean and had everything I needed in it. It was very comfortable both downstairs and upstairs. The stairs are steep so it may not suit those with mobility problems. Recommend for a quiet getaway and will stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location so close to the beach
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing