We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Immaculate holiday home in a friendly village”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Herring House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Winterton beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Winterton-on-Sea, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lee G
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Immaculate holiday home in a friendly village”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We would certainly return to Herring house. It was all immaculately clean and everything you needed was there. The village was really lovely, the pub was great especially being dog friendly and a wonderful beach five minutes walk down the road. I hadn't realised Richard did not live close by and the arrival time therefore was important, as we travelled over 300 miles it was difficult to estimate so do provide a mobile number.

Thank you for the lovely holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csmith70
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb barn in relaxed, laid back quiet location”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed here recently at half term, our first trip over to Norfolk. The barn is lovely - we like to stay somewhere as comfortable as home, and it was brilliant in that it ticked that box and had wonderful character to boot - the exposed flint walls and high ceilings, just lovely. The barn was exceptionally cosy as the temperature cooled off in the evenings, and our boys slept like logs in the bunk beds. It's very close to the beach - the boys went off for early morning fishing trips at the beach and met the local seals. Kitchen supplies met all of our needs. Winterton is a quiet gem, a haven for families (lovely sandy beach) and dog lovers (dog friendly beach), close to The Broads. Pub very child friendly - and packed. The beach café food is delicious - especially the crab sandwiches. Ideal base for exploring North Norfolk and The Broads. We hope to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnJ2
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peace & Quiet at the seaside”
Reviewed 23 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I along with our two daughters (and dog) wanted a UK getaway near the coast.
We booked Herring House after being let down by another owner in a nearby (further inland) rental property at the last minute.
The owner was very helpful, meeting us on arrival and taking time to explain everything we needed to know about the building and surrounding area.
The accommodation was very clean, tidy, and well equipped. Previous reviews have adequately covered the standard of fixtures, fittings, TV, Wi-Fi etc which we all found to be ideal for our requirements.
The immediate area is a quiet seaside village. There are no gaudy arcades or overly commercialised shops or pubs. We went expected peace and quiet, and we were not disappointed. The fish & chip shop opens for limited periods. The village store, whilst expensive, provides for most emergency needs. The pub is superb.
We found the beach to be the place where we spent most of our time, when the weather permitted.
We would not hesitate to return here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log Burner, Warmth and Comfort
Liked least: Slightly overlooked by surrounding established housing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enceladou...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An Excellent Barn conversion”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Herring house is an excellent barn conversion in almost all aspects. The Kitchen is well equipped and has a nice seated dining area coming off from it. The bedrooms and bathrooms lead off from the kitchen. The bedrooms are lovely, the bathrooms are large and clean.
The upstairs living area is it's best feature. It's very large, it's attractive with large velux ceiling windows. The furniture is comfortable, the television gives a decent picture and the freeview box gives plenty to watch with a decent reception. It's also got a wood stove which the kid's loved and the owner supplies plenty of wood at no charge...he even gave us more when we asked for it.
The owner was very helpful, easy to contact and we saw him several times while we stayed here.
The whole place was clean and well maintained. It has good wifi that's not too slow. The heating is on a thermostat that you control and it heats up very quickly when needed. There is always hot water as the boiler is a combi boiler.
There is a small paved garden with barbeque at the front.
I would have scored a rating of 5 but for 2 points. The first is the car park. There are limited parking spaces, enough for 6 cars. It was adequate on all but one occasion, it's easy to get "bullied out" of the car park by a larger party staying in the other barns if they choose to park badly. Perhaps allocated parking spaces would be better.
The second point is the lack of windows. The Velux windows are impossible to reach without climbing on the furniture as the release catches are easily 8 foot up in the ceiling. They have no blinds either so you would not be able to shut the sun out while you were out. There was also a fire exit sign on one of them which is ridiculous, I almost wonder if someone staying there previously had put it there as a joke. There are no windows in the bedrooms either, just outside doors which you obviously can't leave open. This would be an issue for me in the summer months but was not a problem on my visit.
These are minor points and would not stop me booking here again, just maybe not in the hottest time of year. It's a fantastic barn conversion and I would reccomend it. I do always try to give a balanced review which is why I mention both the pros and cons and these were the only cons.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The living room
Liked least: The lack of car park space
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing