We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect holiday home”
other travellers have booked this property
The Dairy self-catering cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Dairy self-catering cottage
The Dairy on the left with dog exercise paddock and country walks on your doorstep The lounge with cosy underfloor heating and a woodburner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
The Dairy self-catering cottage
The Dairy on the left with dog exercise paddock and country walks on your doorstep
The lounge with cosy underfloor heating and a woodburner
The cosy lounge combines comfort with loads of character
Fully equipped kitchen (and  utility room too)
The dining area
The master bedroom
Master bedroom
En-suite bathroom for master bedroom
The twin room in The Dairy
The en-suite bathroom for the twin room
Linked to The Dairy annexxe should you need an extra double or twin room
Located just outside the picturesque Norfolk village of Great Massingham
Surrounded by fabulous dog walking right on your doorstep
Guests taking a walk with our alpacas
Meet our friendly alpacas
Peaceful location less than a mile from Great Massingham and adjacent to Peddars Way National Trail
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Great Massingham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
adamfogg
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect holiday home”
Reviewed 1 February 2017 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It has taken a little while to write this review but the delay should not retract from the wonderful experience we had here. My daughter and I took my elderly grandparents for a week away with the knowledge that due to limited mobility this may well be their last holiday. If indeed this is their last holiday then they certainly finished on a high.
Firstly I must say the owners were a delight to communicate with, they were patient as I explained via email about the need for all ground floor level for my grandparents but also our dog. The welcome on arrival was warm and genuine and they took the time to talk to all the members of our party. My daughter was thrilled at being introduced to the resident alpacas and she still talks about it today, although she insists that they are called apalacas!
The barn itself has been converted to the highest standard, all fixture and fittings are of real quality and feel as robust as you would find in a normal home. The cooking appliances are excellent and you will really find everything you need in the drawers.
The bathrooms were lovely and bright, the large walk in shower was stunning and the grooming products supplied were of a very high standard.
Although no longer in this field I have had a long career in Hotel Management which includes Five star establishments and so cleanliness is an area that I find myself being drawn to perhaps with an eye for detail beyond the norm and I have to say that this was simply the cleanest property I have ever stayed in or visited holiday wise. It was spotless and should be commended.
The area was so peaceful and there is so much to do and see all within half hour. If you have a dog this place is ideal and the dog run is perfect.
It really was impossible to fault, the only problem is that this has now become the benchmark to which all other properties will be compared to - one of which has already failed dismally!
Perfect property, great location and warm and friendly owners. Book now!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2017
Thanks for the lovely review and glad to hear your parents, daughter and yourself had a great time. As we were very new here when you came to stay, it's really great to hear we're doing it right. Your daughter is doing better than most with the alpacas - most of our guests reckon they're llamas which they most certainly are not! Best wishes to your folks and hope we may see you again at some point in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara04...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best holiday cottage we have been in.”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The Dairy was just magnificent, warm, comfortable, everything that you could want for holiday luxury.
We have had many self catering holidays, and The Dairy just about beats all.
We had not been to Norfolk previously and really enjoyed going to surrounding places, and The Dabbling Duck in the village was well worth a visit.
Great- we hope to re-book for next year.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon f
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed over the Easter period in The Dairy and had a lovely time. The barn is spotlessly clean and with the underfloor heating an even temperature throughout. Everything we could wish for was available and can highly recommend, the dog even had a paddock to roam in. With Peddars Way virtually on the doorstep, this also makes the barn an ideal place to stay with such a wonderful walk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Underfloor heating, paddock for dog.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ke11y2013
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An Amazing place.”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at The Dairy with my husband and 2 sons, and our Dog. It is an absolutely beautiful place. Well laid out, beautifully furnished, and had everything we needed. The owners, Sue and Mark were really lovely. We were spoilt on arrival with wine and mlk in the fridge, bread in the bread bin, and gorgeous biscuits for us to enjoy with a cuppa. Oh, and there was a lovely big doggy biscuit for our Nero! Our youngest son was most taken with the goats, his favourite being the little girl goat, April. And Nero was besotted with Dexter, the owners gorgeous Spaniel. There was also a huge paddock out the front for Nero to run in, as well as dog agility equipment! Loads to do in the surrounding area, and beautiful walks on the doorstep. Will definitely be re-booking!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space!
Liked least: Nothing I disliked.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2013
Thank you so much for your glowing review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful holiday. Dexter misses his playmate Nero - so lovely that the dogs both had such fun too. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Very best wishes Sue, Mark and Dex.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJW001
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful home in a lovely location”
Reviewed 8 May 2013 for a stay in January 2013

The accommodation was top notch with excellent fixtures and fittings - it was obviously designed and built with a lot of thought and attention to detail. Owners are very friendly and will to help but are not intrusive. Very dog friendly with walks right on the door step. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and facilities
Liked least: Liked everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing