We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply stunning”
other travellers have booked this property
The Place - a charming 17th c house on tranquil Loweswater with unrivalled lake and fell views.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Place - a charming 17th c house on tranquil Loweswater with unrivalled lake and fell views.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
The Place - a charming 17th c house on tranquil Loweswater with unrivalled lake and fell views.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Loweswater, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kdp201620...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply stunning”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This really is an extra special place. The house itself is exquisite - the photos on the website, good as they are, really don't do it justice - with all the character of a much-loved family home but with every comfort and luxury provided (I'd like to take up residence in the bathroom). So much thought has gone into equipping and decorating - I loved everything, down to the last cushion cover! And the setting is utterly spectacular - views from the spacious garden are outstanding and the walking straight from the door, or with a short car drive, offer something for every fitness level, from flat lakeside walks around Loweswater, Buttermere or Ennerdale to some more challenging climbs (including Wainwright's own favourite, Haystacks). Throw in one of the best pubs in Cumbria, the justly famed Kirkstile Inn, just a short (and beautiful) walk away, and this really is the holiday home with everything! Can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2016
Dear Kate - Thank you so very much for taking the time to review your holiday at The Place. I am utterly delighted that you clearly enjoyed everything it had to offer as much as we ourselves do! The situation is really exceptional isn't it? We very much look forward to welcoming you back to this haven of peace of tranquillity. With all good wishes and thanks again, Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-Upon-Tyne
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Jan 2016
Dear Louise

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to review your New Year stay at The Place, Loweswater. I can't tell you how pleasing it is to read your positive comments! We certainly did try to think of everything that might make a holiday that little bit easier and more comfortable. But mostly we know what we like when we need to get away.... We love the house so much and are delighted that like-minded people seem to feel at home and at ease there. Thank you for your custom and for looking after The Place during your stay. We very much hope to welcome you and your friends on another occasion.
With all good wishes
Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Powercats
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The most perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 11 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I having been renting in the Lake District for many years in order to visit my extended family and to enjoy that very special experience of a balm to the soul that can be found in the quieter parts of the Lakes. This house is by far the best place I have found to date by miles. The location is perfect, remote but with easy access and within walking distance one of the best pubs in the area. The views are breathtaking along the length of Loweswater Lake encircled by mountains. The house itself is a beautiful family home, completely renovated with exquisite taste, retaining many of the features of a lake district family farmhouse combined with features like wood burners, comfortable beds with lovely linen and efficient showers.
The hosts take great care to support and advise and welcome guests and are very trusting eg the kitchen is superbly equipped, no need to bring the kitchen sink with you as I usually have to do. A basket of logs is provided with further supplies available for a small fee on trust, likewise a landline to compensate for the absence of signal. There is excellent wifi and a smart television. But if you want to switch off completely, there is plenty of reading matter, games and interesting pictures to peruse. You can walk in 3 different directions from the door, including one of my favourite lakeland walks, the old coffin route which combines the best of highland and lowland scenery and can be extended to include the Kirkstile Inn - absolute perfection! Nothing better than a pint of gold to ease those tingling muscles.
Just one small plea, unlike so many rents, this is a treasured family home, please respect the house, this is not the place for rumbustuous parties or friends reunions, please treat this rental with great respect so we can all continue to enjoy it.
Thanks

Gill (Powercats)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2016
Dear Gill - Thank you so very much for taking the time to write about your stay at The Place, Loweswater. I am utterly delighted that you obviously feel about it as we do! It does have a special atmosphere, doesn't it, and we never tire of the views and the walks and the wonderful Kirkstile Inn. We really love to share our good fortune, in owning this wonderful house, with like-minded guests, facilitating a nourishing retreat, or a longed-for family holiday. And you are so considerate to exhort future guests to take care of it as you have done and as we do. Thank you. I very much hope we will welcome you back to The Place in the future. Happy New Year. Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect retreat”
Reviewed 21 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

An absolutely splendid place to stay with everything you would want from a country retreat. The whole family, 6 of us, stayed for a week in this charming cottage overlooking the stunning lake of Loweswater. It was warm, cosy and extremely comfortable, with all the small details thought through, including a well-stocked pantry and welcome log burner which made evenings after a cold and wet walk particularly enjoyable. Following a long car journey we were also very grateful for provisions like milk and tea bags on our arrival which saved a late trip to the shops. The games room was also a lovely touch and provided endless entertainment.

And then there’s the location. The surrounding walks are stunning, with a range of paths leading up and over the hills straight from the cottage. There are also a number of equally picturesque ‘flat’ routes for those who don’t fancy anything akin to an Everest assent.

If you don’t like walking at all, there are also bikes at the cottage, as well as a Go Ape adventure trail 20 minutes’ drive away, for the adventurous and those not afraid of heights.

And for the post-activity refreshment there are some great pubs, all with hearty food and good local ales. In particular we would recommend the Kirkstile Inn which does a fantastic steak and ale pie and is a 10 minute drive from the cottage.

All in all, we had a wonderful holiday. You could tell that so much thought had gone into making every aspect of our stay as comfortable and hassle free as possible, and we really couldn't recommend this place highly enough.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Dec 2015
Dear Douglas - We are so glad that you had such a good time at The Place and that you appreciated what was on offer. It really is the most amazing location isn't it? We love it so much! We would be delighted to welcome you again any time. Thank you so very much for taking the time to review your holiday - it makes a big difference to us and is extremely gratifying. With all good wishes, Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia S
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Absolutely glorious”
Reviewed 21 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Our whole family (three generations) fell completely in love with The Place. The location is perfect: glorious view across Loweswater to the fells and the most fabulous walks from the doorstep, but well away from the usual Lake District crowds. Yet all the famous places are a short drive away. It's walking distance of a particularly lovely pub, The Kirkstyle Inn, which has delicious post-walk cream teas in a lovely garden as well as excellent lunch and supper menus, is also and not too far (short drive) from a very good village shop in Lorton. As for the house itself, it's really got everything you could ask for, and succeeds in being cosy, characterful and luxurious all at once. Lots of unexpected treats like a bread machine so you can wake up to fresh baking, a slow-cooker so you can come home to a hot stew, and plenty of fun and games for all ages both strenuous and sedate (including pool-table, ping-pong table and also table-football). Great books (including cookery and walk books) and DVDs. A sunny, sheltered garden. So peaceful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2015
with like-minded people. I hope we can welcome you there againAll the best - Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing