We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely home made cakes in a lovely location. WiFi great plants in nursery”

MacPennys Nursery Tearoom
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Bransgore
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Traditional tea rooms serving freshly prepared food and homemade, delicious cakes. You will be warmly welcomed by our friendly staff to join us. We offer all-day breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea, cakes, freshly ground coffee, selection of teas, hot chocolate, milkshakes, sandwiches, Panini and much more (we have gluten free bread and gluten free cake).
Restaurant details
Description: Traditional tea rooms serving freshly prepared food and homemade, delicious cakes. You will be warmly welcomed by our friendly staff to join us. We offer all-day breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea, cakes, freshly ground coffee, selection of teas, hot chocolate, milkshakes, sandwiches, Panini and much more (we have gluten free bread and gluten free cake).
Reviewed 12 August 2017

British tearooms at their best.
Great selection of cakes and drinks. Nursery full of unusual plants at good prices.
Beautiful NGS garden in old gravel pit with amazing trees and shrubs in such a confined space.
Toilets rather tired .
Camping at Holmsley and good to go for tea and cake and use WiFi.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jondelle, Owner at MacPennys Nursery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

We are pleased you enjoyed your visit :-)
The toilets belong to the Nursery, I will pass your comments on.
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2017

Nice little cafe in the grounds of McPenny's Nurseries. What makes the place so good is the staff.
No matter who is on duty, or what time you go, they are always helpful, and pleasant. Hot meals are served until 2 o'clock, but cakes and tea or coffee along with other drinks are served until closing time. The cakes are freshley made locally, meals are prepared when ordered also using local produce.
I'm with Bernard R on this one agreeing with all he says about this lovely little place.
we have been coming here frequently for a long time, and never is the service or food less than excellent.
In response to Carol Nash,s observation about the toilets, These are the responsibility of the nursery, not the tea rooms....They do seem better cared for these days.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jondelle, Owner at MacPennys Nursery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you for your lovely review! We always like to hear that our customers feel they have had great service-along with delicious food and drink of course!
Look forward to seeing you soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

Lovely cup of tea and cake but a visit to the toilets was something else.
Outside toilets(no problem with that), but rubbish everywhere on the walk from the garden to the toilets. dirty toilets and very unloved.
Was surprised to see the other reviews, maybe they didn't use the toilets.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CAROLNASH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jondelle, Owner at MacPennys Nursery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Pleased to hear you enjoyed your tea and cake. The toilets belong to the Nursery and not the tearooms, I will pass on your comments. We hope to see you again soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Have passed MacPennys on a few occasions but decided to visit this nursery and we needed refreshments. After wondering around the nursery we headed to the Vintage Tea Room. It is very quaint, with both outside and inside tables. We chose tea for two and cake for one as my wife is diabetic, although she did try a very little piece of the apple cake withouth cream! Vintage crockery very pretty. There was plenty of tea but the cake portion was small. Having made these comments we did enjoy our visit to this "Little gem" .

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jondelle, Owner at MacPennys Nursery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit. I am sorry to hear you had a small portion of cake-people normally comment on how generous our slices are! Please do visit us again and try some more cake :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

I took my 94 year old dad out for a slice of cake and a cup of tea and came across this little oasis inside a fantastic garden centre. Well behaved dogs allowed in if they're in a lead which is great news for my Collie cross!! In doors and out doors seating areas ( both dog friendly). A great array of homemade cakes, breakfasts, panini's etc. A good pot of tea and a piece of warm Apple cake with clotted cream set me up for the rest of the day.

The staff were very friendly and polite and the service could not be faulted.

I only wish I had time to look around the extensive garden centre around the tea rooms.

Now saved as a favourite on my iPhone sat nav. I will be back!!!

Thank 802bernardr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jondelle, Owner at MacPennys Nursery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

We are really pleased to hear that you and your Dad enjoyed your time with us, we look forward to seeing you again soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MacPennys Nursery Tearoom also viewed

 

Been to MacPennys Nursery Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing