We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect venue for a special weekend”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of duvale priory

from the garden looking towards duvale priory.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
from the garden looking towards duvale priory.
Duvale dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
from the garden looking towards duvale priory.
Duvale dining room
BBQ area and seating
Seating outside
Seating outside
Garden
Garden
Front view
Arrival side
Front room with wood burner.
Bedroom
Front room
Front room
Front room
Pool table room
Pool table room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Bampton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JemmaB
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect venue for a special weekend”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We rented Orchard Barn and Duvale Retreat for a long weekend and had a party with 30 people on the Saturday night in the Barn. The layout was perfect - good sized kitchen and long table for the buffet, three connected sitting rooms - one for the cocktail bar, one for the roulette table and one for the photo studio! - and plenty of storage space for food and drink. Lots of comfy sofas and nice log burners. Bedrooms are generally spacious, clean and comfortable. Bathrooms a bit small and dated but perfectly serviceable and everything else more than made up for what they lacked in style. I worried it might be cold but shouldn't have, the heating was more than adequate. We also enjoyed the outdoor areas - enough space to find a quiet corner and for kids to let off steam. Don't come if you're looking for luxury but as a big home away from home it's perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt like a home
Liked least: No nice walks without driving
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly S
Witney, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our 10th annual visit - another great weekend”
Reviewed 10 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

for us there is something very comforting about the less than perfect interior. Yes the showers don't flow well and there are a few missing light bulbs but the log fire and ambiance make us instantly relax and throughly enjoy our time together.
We are 5 families and have been visiting annually for 10 years. Our now teenagers still love to come too especially as wifi is available.
Ideal for a large family gathering or as several families wanting a break away.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura F
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice house - could be great house”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed in the large house on this site in August as a party of 8 adults and 3 children. The good things are; plenty of space, large kitchen that could sit everyone, an even larger dining room, a nice size pantry, pool table, great garden with ducks and friendly cat. We enjoyed our stay and the house was warm but there are a number of small things that could be improved to make this house great; no triangle for the pool table, oven door handle broken, other people’s rubbish in draws (even a pair of dirty pants) and the back door didn’t lock.
You can walk to the local pub; The Exeter Inn (which is nice and serves food) but the walk is along a 60mph country road, so we had to nominate a driver. The fishing pond was not what we expected.
The location is lovely for walkers but it did feel like all attractions were an hour away in the car.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
637Michel...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect country weekend”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in March 2014

we have stayed here for a long weekend every year for the last ten years, a group of 21 of us from university have our re-union here every year and the adults and kids both love it; beautiful views and great location; the house is old and rambling with plenty of space and the extensive gardens are great for the kids; there are great local walks where you can bring a picnic and a beautiful trout lake to walk around; the owner is very helpful and friendly and there are always plenty of logs for the open fire; we will be back next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: locaiton and views from the house
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordvis...
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a wonderful honest, unspoilt farmhouse experience”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

So many places are tarted up, given re-fits, ensuites to every room, fresh paint every year, with the mis-guided concept that this is what the guest wants, and so will pay for it. Duvale is a timewarp, of eccentric shared bathroom facilities, doors which don't open/close, pealing paint, temparamental ovens, and 80s decor, and this means we arrive and can instantly relax, knowing we won't get moaned at for the muddy boots in the hall, the sofa cushions in disarray, the odd spilt drink or broken glass,and the children have free rein of the whole premises, and go Amazon for the whole week.
We are a large group with limited financial means and Duvale is perfect for us, or any group who are not concerned about the fripperies of life but want a solid, friendly venue with a large kitchen, wood burning stoves, and stacks of atmosphere.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing