We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Don't waste your money and time” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crab Claw Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crab Claw Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money and time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

I won't recommend this to anyone - I was asked by a friend if I would recommend for him to take his wife there and I said 'no'. You can't make yourself a cup of tea/coffee in your room, not allowed to prepare meals in your room, not allowed to have eskies in your room, there was wildlife in the bathroom, no phones in the room. The only good thing about the whole experience was the couple of wait staff in the restaurant...they were pleasant people....not all of the staff were though! We felt like intruders at this resort. We didn't feel welcome at all...but I noticed that the bigger groups who obviously had the money to spend were having a good time and received undevided attention from the staff at the resort!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pushka2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    30
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
29
28
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broome
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

Found Crab Claw Island not quite up to calling themselves "Resort" but none the less a beautiful spot to explore. Staff not overly welcoming. Didnt try to promote what they had on offer, you had to just know these things or find out yourselves. Food ok, plenty of cold beer. Rooms pretty basic but didnt expect much more, nicely situated on stilts
Air cons VERY LOUD and old. Definately need to be upgraded, we left early due to lack of sleep from the noise of them.
Fair few rules too

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BroomePrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eaton, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

Yep, it's Crab Craw, because that's how it often comes out, and we're sticking with it. Along with my husband and two friends, we spent two great nights at CCI. As with the previous post by KarksB, we had a pretty darn good time. Unfortunately we didn't catch any fish, nor did others who went out each day - maybe Karks got them all. However, I do have to mention that there were quite a number of crocs in the area (I know they were giving the crab pots put out by other visitors, a hard time) and may have also scared off a few fish - especially the big ones we were going to catch!.
We enjoyed our time at this little resort and loved watching the sun and moon come up over the bay/harbour - a nice place to escape the city.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

This place is about one and a half hours from Darwin - on the Bynoe Harbour. Rooms are very comfortable (not flash) - air conditioned and have comfortable beds and a fridge - restaurant is open early to late and the food is VERY good. Cabins are right on the beach and the sun rises are to die for. The harbour is full of fish and you don't need a boat to catch them - off the beach is great. We had the best of times

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarksB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2009

This was the best holiday ever - owner Jax Campbell picked me up at Darwin airport and from that point on did everything she could to make my dreams of a fishing holiday in Australia's Top End come true. Coming from New Zealand I am used to fishing trips where one or two decent fish make a good day's fishing but at Crab Claw I was catching queen fish, golden travelly, giant travelly, moon fish, even a small barra (and few cat fish and a very large ray) off the beach. In one of Crab Claw's boats, well in sight of their bar and restaurant, I hooked a nice jew fish and a very nice queen fish. I could have asked crab Claw's chef to cook these fish but I thought it better to put them back to grow even bigger - good job too - the afternoon I caught my first decent barra Jamis the chef had been out crabbing and, eating with the staff, I was served a huge portion of the largest crab I have ever seen in my life. The accomodation - a cabin - was comfortable and air conditioned - the meals were enjoyable, the fishing great, the bar well stocked and the staff couldn't do enough for me - my only moan is that the only coffee available was instant - but after a couple of days in the tropics my thirst was more satisfied by water and beer than by the caffine that is my addicition in New Zealand - thanks Jax and Crab Claw - I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maggiesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crab Claw Island
36.5 km away
Skycity Darwin
Skycity Darwin
#18 of 38 in Darwin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
35.7 km away
Cullen Bay Serviced Apartments
35.8 km away
Mantra on the Esplanade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
36.1 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
35.8 km away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crab Claw Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crab Claw Island Resort

Property: Crab Claw Island Resort
Address: Crab Claw Island Road | Bynoe Harbour, Crab Claw Island, Northern Territory 0844, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Crab Claw Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crab Claw Island
Price range (per night): $186 - $293
Hotel Class:3 star — Crab Claw Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Crab Claw Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crab Claw Island Hotel
Crab Claw Island Resort Northern Territory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing