We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passing Visit Touring The Cotswolds”
Review of Unicorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Unicorn Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Deddington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

An interesting place to visit as well as the village. The choice on the menu is reasonable but the food is very good, and I was certainly felt welcome. It looks like it has a clientele of regulars too, so the overall atmosphere as a visitor was very pleasing and relaxing.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
Thank J2R2R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

Maybe I was just unlucky......?

The welcome on arrival was great and friendly, room was OK, it's an old inn with uneven walls and floors etc and that's without a drink.

Room was lovely and warm, great Wifi and comfy bed, left very early before breakfast so I can't comment on food but and it's a huge but.......

THIS IS THE NOISE EST HOTEL I HAVE EVER STAYED IN.

The Inn is small so must only have half a dozen rooms, but 12pm noisy guests shouting in the corridor, then again at 2:30am then 3:30 am, with a fall out and a comical "do one then" combined with the church bells going every hour in the village square, by the time it got to 5:30am I had enough, showered and left.

Maybe I was unlucky, everything else was ok, but not being able to sleep after a long day and with another long day ahead.

Thanks to the totally inconsiderate other guests, or staff?

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank ClarkeHicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Pub and staff really lovely, but bedrooms need a lot of TLC. Our room was freezing cold, with a gale blowing through the windows. Central heating was on a timer, so had no way of heating room when it went off. Carpets all need replacing, as they are filthy dirty, and cause the whole of the upstairs to stink. When booking I asked if it was noisy, and was told no, but they somehow didn't tell me there was a fun fair outside our window

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016

We have stayed here previously and have always enjoyed our time here. There is a friendly atmosphere and the food is excellent. Staff are lovely and very interactive we are looking forward to our next visit in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiselbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

I have stayed here a few times now while on business in the area. Staff are always welcoming. Food in the restaturant has been very good every time I have eaten there. Rooms are a little quirky but it is an old building so don't have a problem with that at all. All in all a good place to stay whether you are there for business or pleasure.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Thank Sean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deddington
0.1 km away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
558 reviews
9 km away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
8.5 km away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
459 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Unicorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unicorn Inn

Address: The Unicorn Market Place, Deddington, Banbury OX15 0SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury > Deddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Deddington
Price Range: $121 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Unicorn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly refurbished Unicorn Inn in Deddington. The Unicorn is a stunning 17th century country inn oozing with character that has an incredibly diverse offering. Not only does the Unicorn have a charming bar area and snug both complete with open fire places, it also has a contemporary restaurant, large garden, function room, relaxing coffee area and six mythical bedrooms. Johnny Parke (head chef and co proprietor) has assembled an exciting menu combining the best of traditional English and European cuisine with modern cooking techniques. All the food is locally sourced where possible and everything prepared onsite. Chris Brewster (manager and co proprietor) prides himself on his well-kept cellar. Providing great quality traditional ales and bespoke international lagers. The wine list has been assembled to cater for those who like the odd glass in the evening and for those foodies who like to match wine with their favorite dish. The Unicorn aspires to bounce back at the heart of the local community and be a warm and welcoming public house catering for families, couples and corporate trade alike. Chris, Johnny and the team look forward to welcoming you here at the Unicorn soon. Within easy distance of historic England's Oxford, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick as well as the Cotswolds, Bicester Village and Silverstone. Advanced bookings are recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Unicorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unicorn Hotel Deddington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing