We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Out of this World”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brekka bathing in the Northern Lights
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
89 reviews
Brekka bathing in the Northern Lights
Photo by Eugene Everson Oct - Nov 2017
The happy hot pot of Lodge Brekka
Shooting Star
Christmas 2014
Two linked lodges, Langholt and Brekka
Photo by Eugene Everson, Oct - Nov 2016
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik, Capital Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 89 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Jane M
East Calder, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Out of this World”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We went to Brekka lodge as a family of 5 with 3 adult children from 16 onwards and when we arrived we all got the wow factor and were so excited to be staying at this lodge.
It was immaculate,beautiful design and outstanding views containing everything you would wish for. A lot of thought had been put into every day needs by the owner.
The hot tub was a brilliant sociable way to relax at night.
I cannot highly recommend brekka lodge enough. Thankyou for a wonderful place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2017
Thank you very much, Steven and Jane. We're happy to have provided the "wow-factor" to your visit. -Thank you for being there!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma E
1 review
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 19 March 2017 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed at Brekka in Oct/Nov 2016 for 4 nights.
The accommodation is beautiful, a good size for the 4 of us, had everything we needed and was very clean and tidy.

The large windows in the living space displayed the amazing views and the scenery was a fantastic backdrop for the mornings sun rise.

The hot tub was great and not difficult to set up. The instructions for everything in the house were easy to follow.

Upon arrival the house was lovely and warm and the welcome bottle of champers was a really nice thought.

Jon made everything about the booking process easy, responding quickly and providing great directions and information.

The house is in a quiet location, very peaceful with impressive views. I would recommend a trip around the peninsula at least once instead of always using the tunnel, as the scenery is beautiful.

We would definitely recommend visiting Iceland and staying at Brekka.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2017
Thank you very much. Apparently it's not only our lodge Brekka that is beautiful, but also your words are!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travster
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just book it.”
Reviewed 17 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We have just returned from a week's stay at the Lodge and we both agree it was one of the best, most relaxing holidays we have ever had. Brekka is situated in a very peaceful location with beautiful views across the fjord and is a good place to view the Northern lights - we did seem to bring a lot of clouds with us from the UK but managed to see the lights on both of the two clear nights we did have.

I would echo the need for a 4x4, especially if there is snow on the ground. Iceland had record snowfall in the week before we arrived and there was still a good covering when we arrived but the owner, Jon Baldur, who provided help and advice on our trip from the initial booking via email, was waiting for us at the cabin when we arrived to make sure that we got up there ok, which was very much appreciated.

The cabin itself is very comfortable, cosy and well laid out with plenty of space, excellent amenities and also lots of windows through which to enjoy the views when you're not on the decking or in the hot tub. I think this is definitely the best option for enjoying Iceland's scenery and attractions, away from the lights and relative bustle of Reykjavik - much more relaxing : )

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2017
Many thanks for these words.
But it's not only we who are the "doers". Great people like you give us the confidence, it's all worth the while!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin C
2 reviews
“Amazing place to stay with a truly astonishing view”
Reviewed 8 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We spent 4 nights at Brekka in February 2017 and loved every second of it. The cottage is so well maintained and appointed and the owner (Jon Baldur) was hugely helpful. The view from the living room is astonishing with the sun reflecting on the water of the fjord throughout the whole day. There was plenty of room for all five of us and the hot tub in the bushes was fantastic. Best place we have ever stayed.
Thanks jb.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2017
You make our day, Gavin!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoSargent
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful lodge in a stunning location”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We booked this based on how lovely the lodge looked in the photo's, but to be honest I don't think they do it justice. This lodge is absolutely lovely, very warm and cosy with lots of room for larger families. The hot tub was great, although the weather wasn't that good for us so we weren't able to see the northern lights. With the utility/shower room, you could easily come in from the tub and get changed before giving the bathing costumes a spin in the washing machine to get the majority of water out. Akranes was convenient for shopping - we ate in the apartment each night as it had everything we needed. Lovely to have the TV in a separate area as well. We had a lovely restful few days and spent each evening after being in the hot tub playing cards while listening to music. You definitely need a 4x4 in winter here (lots of gravel roads about). The driving was very straightforward and we enjoyed time doing the golden circle. Only 1 1/2 hours from the international airport and worth being a bit further out to get the idyllic location. Would certainly recommend Brekka to anyone wanting a family home from home

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2017
Well, there seems nothing to be left to say for me, except THANK YOU!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing