We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage, unforgettable views...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brekka bathing in the Northern Lights
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
90 reviews
Brekka bathing in the Northern Lights
Photo by Eugene Everson Oct - Nov 2017
The happy hot pot of Lodge Brekka
Shooting Star
Christmas 2014
Two linked lodges, Langholt and Brekka
Photo by Eugene Everson, Oct - Nov 2016
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik, Capital Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 90 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
5kk2013
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage, unforgettable views, responsive hosts”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The cottage is as described and more, very clean, great furnishings and well equipped. Beautiful location on the fjord with amazing views (changing as the sun/light changes) through every window. Somewhat remote, so quite a bit of driving is needed, but at the same time very tranquil. We were a large group (8 in total) and had no problems with sleeping arrangements - there was adequate space, with two of the children sleeping in the loft (one on a pullout couch, another on a cot) in addition to two people in each of the three bedrooms. With eight of us, having one bathroom was somewhat challenging, but we made do with some planning and would not hesitate doing it again in order to be able to stay in such a beautiful house (However, an extra half bath would have been really helpful). The hot tub was a real plus and at least some of us used it every day to unwind after driving/walking around all day. Jon was very responsive to our questions ahead of our arrival and when we requested additional bed linens/towels, he delivered them within an hour. We also appreciated the bottle of champagne, and basic household supplies, including salt, pepper, oil, vinegar, dishwasher packs, laundry detergent, aluminum foil and cling wrap among other things. A nice selection of tour guides was available to read as well as some books, such as Tales of Iceland, which we greatly enjoyed. Thank you, Jon, we had a wonderful time and hope to be back, maybe for northern lights next time!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2016
Be my guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Aug 2016
Man y thanks for these words. Reg furniture we fortunately normally have no damages of furniture or whatsoever -possibly a broken glass now and then. But in our practical info docs, that we send to all our customers after confirmation of the booking, we ask to report if anything happens that way, so that we can reprovide lacking things, or even charge for the repair of real damages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TorontoHi...
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“We hope to come back here!”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in August 2015

Mu husband, 3 children and I visited Brekka cottage for 3 nights last August. We enjoyed corresponding with Jon Baldur, the owner, before our trip. We also stayed at one of Jon's other cottages, Tvera, up in Westfjords, for 3 nights before coming to Brekka. The beds were all very comfortable and we loved using the hot tub and lounging around the beautiful living room, looking at the books. While there, we visited Thingvellir; the national park. We also went to Althing - the national parliament that was established in 930! We hiked at Glymur - we actually went back a second day as we missed the signage for the right path up as we were talking so much! We also went to the Geysers - there were many, many tourists here which was a bit of a shock for us as we had just come down from the sparsely populated Westfjords! The view from the kitchen and living room is just so beautiful - we never wanted to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: We loved everything about the property
Liked least: It was a little difficult to find the right place to drop off the garbage as we were getting to the aiport from another direction
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cabin in great location!”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here for 3 nights with my wife and 4 friends, and we all loved it! Hugely recommended! It's a lovely cabin, extremely comfortable and nice to relax in. The hot tub is a brilliant extra, we spent every evening in there! It snowed on us and we saw the northern lights from in that hot tub! And a wonderful view of the Icelandic scenery. Location wise, it's about an hour and 45 minutes from Reyjevik and well located for exploring the countryside. There's a supermarket and shops about 40 minutes drive away (general tip for Iceland: if you're planning on a few drinks during your holiday, stock up in duty-free. Alcohol is pricey over there!)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2016
Tom, you're absolutely right about the drinks, it's best to buy these in the duty free at the airport while the bags are slowly appearing on the conveyor belt... Just a little correction: Brekka is only 45 min. drive from Reykjavik, taking the tunnel under the bay, but 1h 30' from the KEF airport. Of course it depends on the speed you're driving:-). Apart from this, to make the buying in more efficient on the way to Brekka, I've listed up a proposal for groceries/menus which I've now started to send to the guests of Brekka and our other houses.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterwigh...
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This was our first trip to Iceland - an amazing country, and just so pleased we chose to stay at Brekka. A truly stunning location overlooking the fjord and mountains - the accomodation is of a high quality throughout, with a warm welcome from the owner.

We did a fair amount of driving to see the sights (Golden circle etc), but the best was simply staying at Brekka and taking in the local sights - a walk up to see Gulfoss waterfall was well worth it. Going to the stunning Snaefellness peninsula is also recommended and easily reachable. We were just so lucky with the weather and even returned home with a sun tann!

You will definitely need a car staying at Brekka, but not sure whether a 4WD is really necessary for general travel. If you are also thinking of visiting Iceland I would definitely recommend Brekka (am just so pleased we chose this awesome location and skipped Rejkavik). Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views!
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing