We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brekka bathing in the Northern Lights
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
Brekka bathing in the Northern Lights
Photo by Eugene Everson Oct - Nov 2017
The happy hot pot of Lodge Brekka
Shooting Star
Christmas 2014
Two linked lodges, Langholt and Brekka
Photo by Eugene Everson, Oct - Nov 2016
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik, Capital Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
hat312201...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a fantastic week at Brekka. The lodge has everything you need and is spacious clean and comfortable. The setting is amazing with views across the fjord. We arrived in Iceland early morning so took the scenic route up to Brekka, stopping along the way for sightseeing and photographs and we were lucky enough to see the Northern lights on our first evening. It is an ideal base for exploring the western area of iceland. We drove the golden circle route, visited Glymur, the Snæfellsnes peninsula, blue lagoon and the falls at hraunfossar. The internet connection kept the teenagers happy in the evenings! Brilliant place and I would definitely go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1969MLA
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“A truly fabulous experience”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My partner and I went to stay at Brekka for four nights at the beginning of April. It was everything we could have wished for and more. The view is nothing less than breathtaking almost like being on another planet. The lodge was immaculate and had everthying you could possible need (apart from a sledge!!!). It was great to visit the city and return to Brekka and of course the amazing hot tub. I would highly recommend a 4x4 if hiring a car in the winter. The only down side was we should have stayed longer.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annalynn...
1 review
“Simply great”
Reviewed 14 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed in cottage Brekka in the beginning of February 2015. It was simply great!

It was everything you could wish for, the most amazing view, well equipped, clean and very comfortable. The floors are nice and warm ideal for our baby who just started crawling. Loved the hottub! (One advice, leave your silver necklaces in the cottage, mine turned out a wonderful shade of green ;-) )

Even the weather was perfectly arranged, beautiful sunny weather and a whole day of snow. You need quite a serious 4*4 to get away from the cottage in such heavy snow, but it made it nice and adventurous. The Northern Lights where amazing. We feel very lucky to have had such a nice and wonderful stay.

The contact with Jon was fine, we knew everything we had to know on for hand and I'm sure that if we had any questions we would have had an answer straight away.

All in all simply great!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheldon G
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“Best holiday of my life”
Reviewed 28 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

I cannot praise the location, the lodge or Iceland enough. This holiday to Iceland truly was the best holiday of my life and one i'll never forget.

Myself and 5 other friends all stayed at Brekka for 4 nights. The location was amazing, the lodge was incredible and had all the things needed to live comfortably.

Jon supplied plenty of handy resources including a very good guide on how to get to Brekka. We were lucky enough to experience the northern lights while staying at Brekka, just by simply walking outside and viewing them straight from the balcony.

If you're staying here during winter I'd recommend a 4x4 as the road up to Brekka can be very icy.

I would recommend Brekka to everyone. This is how you truly experience Iceland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: the weather (which isnt Brekkas fault!)
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona_T20...
Breierley Hill, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A little peace of heaven on earth”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Brekka, and it's neighbour (Langholt) are so amazing that it's hard to write this review - I want to keep it all to myself! We have stayed in both houses which are set a short way apart on the hillside. The setting and scenery are breath taking, in two separate visits of four nights, eight months apart, I haven't seen the same view twice. There is no light or noise pollution and there is the real feeling of isolation, although you are not really that far from civilisation - a vehicle is necessary though. Both houses are beautifully but simply decorated, with all the mod cons imaginable (better than home) and so much space, whilst being spotlessly clean yet homely. The hot tub is a real treat and to sit in piping hot water with cold beer (Icelandic, of course) to hand, watching the nightly display of the amazing Northern Lights is just a little piece of heaven on earth. Perfection!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2014
We are grateful to hear how happy people are staying at our cottages. Also it's quite good to know how easy it now is to get to heaven -just book Brekka:-).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing