We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous long weekend with friends and family”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Valley Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Calstock, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cobwebSar...
Sardinia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous long weekend with friends and family”
Reviewed 17 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a great break at Honicombe with our friends and teenage children.

The lodge was immaculately clean and well appointed with everything that we needed. We especially enjoyed the hot tub and the balcony overlooking the valley.

Our favourite day was Sunday when we walked down through the woods to Calstock and had a magnificent Sunday lunch in The Boot Inn.

Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in January 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: On site facilities were disappointing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Nov 2016
Thank you for reviewing your holiday, which took place nearly a year ago in Jan16.

We are pleased to report that there have been tremendous improvements in the restaurant and bar since your visit, due to a change of ownership back in the spring.

We ourselves have completed a full refurbishments of the lodge since your visit which includes full decoration and new lounge furniture. We believe that the lodge is now modernised and looking fantastic.

With regards to the poor signage directing you to the lodge we have passed on your comments to the maintanance company that is responsible for this.

Thanks again, Jason & Belinda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
dlozuk
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wish I was still there”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

When you look at the photos our first impression was WOW. Then on arrival we could see that further improvements have been made for this year. Those heavy looking chairs on the balcony have been replaced with an easy manageable table and chairs to accommodate us all.

The sofa's have been replaced and we wold have a daily fight in the evening to get to the corner one first.

Site: Grass was cut whilst we were there. Excellent wifi in Games room. Helpful reception staff. Maintenance dealt very quickly with a minor problem and came back with a new light bulb. Outdoor pool was brill. Games room popular as being in a valley o2 mobile signal was poor for surfing but fine for voice calls.. it was great that kids got "forced" off their mobile devices.

Hot Tub: I have now decided that any further holiday rental must have one of these. Very private and lovely just looking up at the stars. Hot tub gets daily maintenance and lovely to see that its gets a drain down when we left.

Pub: We went out one night and had a few beers there to support them. but when you have such a lovely lodge to be in why spend time in a pub!

Local Area: Visit Pasty shop in Callington. Tamar. Saltash: search for Just Be restaurant. WOW.

We really enjoyed our time and wish I was still there.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison P
Retford
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good to find somewhere big enough for all(9) of us.”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The lodge was generally quite well equipped. Comfortable seating both inside and out, plenty of pots and pans etc. However the Fridge was small, particularly considering that the bottle shelf was missing from the door. bathroom door lock/ catch was also broken. Couldn't lock the bathroom door from the inside or you finished up locked in!
Hot tub was lovely.
Biggest downside for us however was the fact that the park is generally is in need of TLC, potholes in Roadways and carlarking areas, and trees and shrubs very overgrown. Brambles growing across footpath up to the cark park. Swimming pool and gym only open 9-5 and at that my son in law was asked to leave the gym at 4.30 one afternoon...'because I'm locking up!". Upstairs games goom was locked for aeveral days without explanation.
Mainly because of park maintenance/ facilities (or lack of) would not particularly recommend, the lodge itself would score 4/5 the park only scire 2/5 in my opinion.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2016
We are sorry that you had a less than perfect stay at our lodge; this is the first bad review we have ever had! As a result of your comments we have travelled 250 miles to the property to make sure that everything is in order, especially ready for our summer guests.

1. We agree with you that some extra fridge space would be useful so we have purchased a 2nd fridge which is now in the kitchen and ready for use.

2. Both myself and our maintanance team have inspected all the bathroom locks and we cannot find anything wrong with them. The system is designed so that the en-suite bathroom can be kept for just the use of the main bedroom or (via an extra door) made available to everyone.

3. We have reported your general comments to the site owners who work tirelessly to make sure everyone is happy; and let them know that you think longer opening hours would be an improvement. However it's important to mention that there is a reception at the Manor House which is manned every day and I'm sure they would have been happy to show you how to access the games room if you'd notified them at the time.

4. The lodge is in a beautiful fertile valley and there are sometimes a few days in the spring when the vegetation grows quicker than the mowers can go; I think that your visit was one of these times; we just had the wettest June in living memory! However as I write I am looking out of the lodge and the vegetation looks to be back under control.

Once again please accept our apologies and we do hope, that despite the weather, you still had a wonderful holiday with your family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisadam...
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First class top quality and very relaxing.”
Reviewed 4 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We found the house to a high standard and all the rooms very clean.Time has been spent making sure that the needs of the occupants are looked after.The on site help was first class as were the facilities.Very well situated with plenty to do.The local restaurants were all of good taste and all the food we ate was very good.The service from the park was also very good,helping to advise us on we're to eat and visit.No problem was to small for them to help with.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The house
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing