We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pretty little get away”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
87 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Calstock, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 87 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
welshprot...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pretty little get away”
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Our family have always raved about this place so we joined them for a couple of nights this year and its easy to see why! Such a gem nestled away in a beautiful part of the world. The cottage was beautifully presented surrounded by lovely trails and the nearby town. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian R
Belper, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A brilliant place to stay”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We were greeted on arrival by Nick who gave us a low down on the area and the cottages facilities, a perfect start to our break.
The cottage is very well appointed and is in a beautiful location with walks straight from the garden. Very peaceful and very enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim T
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wow what a place”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

we were looking for a quiet retreat for a well needed relaxing break and as we drove down the lane we just fell in love with the what we saw , the smithy can only be explained as the perfect holiday setting for two and in our case our dog too , greeted by the lovely Nick and his dog jess, we fell in love with the place , the smithy itself was perfect ,a nice holiday conversion to a high level of comfort with everything you could need and also a lovely comfortable bed something we have not often experienced in a holiday let , the surrounding country side is just stunning and there are plenty of walks and paths starting right at the end of the garden that Nick pointed out to us , i can highly recommend this place if you want somewhere very quiet and out the way but also a good base to explore Devon and Cornwall

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2016
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear you had a relaxing holiday, found the cottage comfortable and loved the surrounding countryside - we hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaabConve...
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Tranquil, wonderful spot”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was a great find and one that I am reluctant to recommend as it may mean we may have difficulty re-booking ! It is a beautiful quiet location and has everything needed for a relaxing break / holiday. The Smithy is well equipped and a short walk ( 20 mins ) rewards you with a decent meal and drink with friendly locals.
We have a very low slung car and so we had to negotiate the access drive very carefully so please approach with caution if you have a similar car.
We are already trying to rebook, so please stay away !!!! Only kidding, you will love it. It truly does take you away from the hustle and bustle of the hectic everyday life. Thank-you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quirkiness off property surroundings
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
Thank you for your review - we're delighted to hear you had a relaxing break! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann-Marie...
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Had a relaxing getaway from it all week at the Smitthy. Very rustic and rural. Lovely to wake up to beautiful views and the local robin visiting every morning! Nick very welcoming and His puppy dog Jess. Really enjoyed our stay...just a shame summer disappeared!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: No instructions for washing machine and no wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2016
We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Okel Tor Mine and made friends with the robin!

Sorry that you experienced difficulty with the Wifi. You should've said! Normally this is extremely reliable though, due to low broadband speeds in this area, the connection may be slower than many are used to.

Further to your comment about the washing machine, we have now placed simple instructions for its use, in the utility room.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review - we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing