We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“wonderful location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Calstock, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
linda1201...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“wonderful location”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Sorry this review is late. we had a wonderful week the cottage was lovely and even the 1 days torrential rain was ok - we stayed in put the stove on and occasionally stood looking at the view from the shelter of the verandah. the position of the cottage Is idyllic and the walk to the pub along the river a bonus. we loved jess (the dog) and nick was good company but not intrusive
Ps the bedding was so good I have bought some of the same stuff for home

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear you had a wonderful week and loved the bedding so much that you bought some for home! We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tjliddle7
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A very special place to stay”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

When I first saw the Smithy I knew it was the right place for myself, my husband and our dog. Greg was very helpful when booking and Nick, the owner, is a lovely man who respected our privacy but was there if we needed him. He has a lovely dog called Jess. We loved wondering about looking at the old buildings. We had a wonderful week and would love to go back and stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
We're delighted to hear you had a wonderful week and hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom H
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A beautiful, peaceful retreat. Perfect to unwind and recharge.
We spent hours just sat outside overlooking the garden, river and countryside beyond.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
Thank you for your review - we hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PamM14
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Another perfect stay”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This was our third stay at the Smithy and the only problem was that we couldn't stay longer. A perfect retreat and great walks for the dogs. The weather couldn't have been better. Hope to return later in the year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent visit and look forward to welcoming you back later in the year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norsecoun...
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Battery Recharge? - Mission Accomplished!”
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Once more Okel Tor lived up to our (very) high expectations. Peace & quiet, rest & restoration of the soul completed! Great weather, thanks Nick & Greg for organising that. Cottage warm & comfortable, welcoming as ever. Nick is a great host, helped us out this time above & beyond the call of duty. We can't wait to come back. J&C

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace & quiet
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing