We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ramen”

Menya Musashi Shinjuku Sohonten
Price range: USD 7 - USD 9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Shinjuku / Nakano / Suginami
Reviewed 8 August 2019 via mobile

This is the place to go for authentic ramen ! It's a cute little restaurant in Shinjuku. You order from a machine and give the ticket to the waiter. They will ask of you want small medium or large! The pork is delicious. It's easy to find but the signs are in Japanese. See picture attached to see what it looks like from the outside

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank charproctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2019 via mobile

Was really surprised how quick we got our orders. Food was good but a bit salty for me. I had spicy chicken bowl and destroyed it!!!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Marc_and_Kim_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 April 2019 via mobile

OVERALL: Counter-sitting, high input/output, classic Tokyo ramen house with a clear broth, chewy noodles and a deck of card or more of thick cut pork per steaming bowl. You want to the classic ramen house experience of hot bowl, slurp it up, and go satisfied? Menya offers it.

FOOD: Stars are the thick cut pork slices and the collagen ladened clear broth. The pork was cut like thick pork belly but was all pressured cooked pork meat. I’m used to US places that do the fine slicing so this was a treat to have to take 3-4 bites per chunk to complete a piece. You get three chunks in your bowl. The soup is clear with little cloud or fat. You get the stickiness that comes from bones being boiled down to their essence.

AMBIANCE: Hard wood lined room with L shaped counter configuration. No tables.

THE DANCE: Come in, line up, get to the ordering machine, order & Pay, hand ticket to chef when asked, keep moving down line, get seated at next open seat when invited, Prep for food, enjoy your food while it’s hot, wash it down, and on your way so the next customer can get their delicious share.

TIPS & TRICKS:
- YEN ONLY. No credit cards accepted.
- LINE. Moves quickly so you are good for a 15 min wait if in the line past the automated doors.
- PACE. Enjoy yourself. Enjoy the flavors but part of the fun and Tokyo-ness is to eat at the pace of the other diners. Also it’s ramen house edicate.

Date of visit: April 2019
3  Thank UnplannedExperiences
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 April 2019 via mobile

This place came recommended by a Japanese who lives in Melbourne. It was disappointing and not worth the effort. Firstly, it was difficult to find, even with a Google Maps! Secondly, there is no English on the outside to confirm you have reached the right place. Thirdly, far from being “the best ramen in Tokyo”, it is ordinary at best. I left feeling disappointed and wishing I had done my own research - rather than blindly accepting the single recommendation of someone just because they were Japanese. The restaurant is 5 mins walk from Shinjuku Station (west exit), and should have been straightforward, but it wasn’t. We probably passed at least 5 other places that could have been better. I’d say don’t bother with this one.

Date of visit: April 2019
3  Thank 66grahamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 March 2019 via mobile

Ramen was great
I luckily had a delicous food and met this wonderful friend in this restaurant even though I came here by myself. We talked about city architectures and beers over the world and that time I really enjoyed having interesting conversation. Hope I can visit this restaurant again and see him before he leaves after his 6-months internship.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank yerin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Menya Musashi Shinjuku Sohonten also viewed

 
Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku
 

Been to Menya Musashi Shinjuku Sohonten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.