We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
USD 143
View deal
Hotels.com
USD 143
View deal
ZenHotels.com
USD 135
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.comUSD 151
CheapTicketsUSD 143
eDreamsUSD 151
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,006)
Filter reviews
2,006 results
Traveller rating
543
972
346
82
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
543
972
346
82
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar love hotels the club lounge the red light district golden gai economy room minute walk walking distance small room modern hotel train station other hotels robot restaurant never felt unsafe late at night on the small side convenient location
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 2,006 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2019 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights at the start of our honeymoon to Japan. It’s is well located in the city with easy access for the Shinkansen from the main Shinjuku station, as well as other stations servicing the Tokyo transport network! Only thing to note is that my family (who are from Tokyo) did remark this was not in the best area (lots of love hotels In close proximity). TBH, this didn’t phase us at all coming from East London and found the whole area fascinating (from night to day there’s a great contrast!!!).
We didn’t want to pay heaps for a room given we would be out most days exploring, and managed to get a good deal on the room rate. The room was pretty cosy (that’s standard for Tokyo and other cities such as Osaka) but really clean and well organised. Hotel facilities were great too: Colin laundry a bit small but good, vending machines offering snacks and drinks, and a cafe serving good coffee and cakes. Rooms made up every day to a good standard!
The view from the roof top bar was awesome and service was good: they served a good range of drinks both international and local brands.
Staff on reception all spoke great English and were super helpful. It was the perfect place for a quick city break, and matched our expectations perfectly!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank MinkyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shinjuku-granbell, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2019

Dear Mr./Ms. MinkyLondon

Thank you for many positive review.
All the staffs are happy to hear it.
I am relieved to hear that you enjoyed at the cafe and at the rooftop bar in this hotel.
Both of them are very popular not among the guests who stay at the hotel but also the guests from outside.
To be able to respond the guest expectation, all the staffs keep doing their best.
I appreciate your consideration.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2019 via mobile

We’ve stayed here for 4 nights. It’s really convenient because you can walk to Train station for 10-15 minutes or less than 5 minutes with Taxi. This hotel surrounds by night clubs, shopping malls and restaurants. The staffs are friendly, the Bar upstair is great, the room is clean and not too small but the breakfast is not many varieties.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank krisnat2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shinjuku-granbell, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2019

Dear mr./Ms. krisnat2015

Thank you for many positive review.
All the staffs are happy to hear it.
The terrace at the rooftop bar is highly recommended for the coming season.
You can feel so free watching the wonderful night view from there.
All the staffs keep doing their best to be able to provide better service.
I hope that you will choose Shinjuku Granbell Hotel again and I am looking forward to seeing you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2019 via mobile

I recently stayed here for my holiday. It is situated about 14 minute walk from Shinjuku station. It is a decent enough holiday. Here are my positives or negatives are said hotel
-it is very convenient location for travelling in and around Tokyo.
-the staff with whom I met seem to speak decent English for the limited or non speaking Japanese foreign tourist.
- the receptionists/ hotel clerks are professional and attentive to your needs.
-as a guess you have access to a mobile device called handy which is free to use &,
I used it extensively for Google maps to navigate in & around Tokyo. You can make Free phone calls & internet use to find places to visit & browsing. It seemed to last the full day.

On the negative side these are what I found:
-The internet/ WiFi connections/speed is variable & therefore there is not at a consistent level that one can watch YouTube videos without a lag. I highlighted this to the staff and they provided and set up a free Ethernet connection which helped but still did not fix this issue.
- there is no laundry service. The hotel guest has access to 2 washing machines & 2 tumble dryer which cost ¥300 & another ¥100 for detergent that can be purchased at the reception desk.
-there seems to be a queue to use the laundry self service.
-bed sheets are very thin so if you are prone to coldness this may be a problematic issue

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank stan7lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shinjuku-granbell, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2019

Dear Mr./Ms. stan7lee

Thank you for many positive review.
All the staffs are happy to hear it. Be encouraged by your review, we are going to enhance the service.
As for wifi connection and laundry service which were pointed out, I really sorry for the inconvenience.
As precious opinion, we would like to use them to improve the service.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2019

The hotel is in a great location right in the heart of Shinjuku although it’s right bang in the middle of the red light district this didn’t bother us.

Found the hotel staff not to be the friendliest.. perhaps because we were a young couple. When checking in, we were given a room that had a terrible view and looked nothing like the photos when booking. Room was tired and not what we expected. Requested to be changed to a better room with some kind of view and after a few minutes being told there were none available she eventually gave in and gave us a better room... strange!

Room was MUCH nicer, bathroom nicer too although tiny it was well thought out. Although he warned there is NO WHERE to store your belongings so suitcases had to be left unpacked on the floor which meant there was no space to walk.

I also found the hotel lobby very scruffy, the corridors also had dirty towels and maids trolleys everywhere any time of day. Breakfast was also a disappointment although the view was great it felt like a school canteen rather than an luxury buffet.

Overall a decent stay but make sure you’re not given an old and tired room and be prepared that the lobby is not as shown in photos.. it’s more like a waiting room filled with suitcases.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank LouisaLam7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shinjuku-granbell, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2019

Dear Mr./Ms. LouisaLam7

Thank you for the review during your stay.
We are very sorry that the service provided by the staffs were not satisfactory.
As for pointed out problems, we are going to improve them one by one base on your precious opinion.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2019 via mobile

We booked a 1 night stay at Granbell Shinjuku. it was fuss free, value for money and has an excellent location.

The room is small but packs all you need for a few night stay in the city. You will be out most of the time anyway. The furnishings are modern and well maintained. Amenities were thoughtful and overall a really good experience.

The location is a 10-15mins walk to Shinjuku station, which was no problem for us. It’s surrounded by all the hustle and bustle you expect of Shinjuku, with food and shopping right at the doorstep.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SinG198
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shinjuku-granbell, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2019

Dear Mr./Ms. SinG198

Thank you for many positive review.
I am really happy that you awared of the commitment of the hotel, such as furniture etc..
As you said, this location has an excellent access to the metropolitan area. On the other hand, there is less noise and it is really nice place to have a rest quietly. This the point which many guests evaluate.
We keep doing our best to be able to provide better service.
I hope that you will choose Shinjuku Granbell Hotel again and I am looking forward to seeing you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews