We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
thomasgirls
Essex

Only go to Kyoto if you want to see a city and rubbish nothing classy to see here.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 May 2024via mobile
This is a well located hotel if you want high end shops and tacky low end shops and food stalls. Osaka was the first place that we had seen any rubbish and the market area was tacky and dirty. The food venues did not seem to offer good value for food on a stick. If you have been to Kyoto or Takayama you may be disappointed. The hotel staff were amazing very friendly and helpful the rooms were great with good facilities. The cafe in the hotel offers great food freshly cooked in a clean environment that was good value too.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
, その他 at CROSS HOTEL OSAKA, responded to this review
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing Cross Hotel Osaka and for your feedback.
We are very honored to hear that you were satisfied with our location, service, the room and also the facilities.
Your positive feedback is much appreciated, and we will continue our effort to provide the best service to all our guests.
Once again, we highly appreciate you for sharing your precious experience with us.
If you have any chance to come back to Japan, we will gladly greet you in Cross Hotel Osaka again.
We are looking forward to seeing you another time!
Sincerely yours,
Cross Hotel Osaka
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
スカイスパ
AU$210
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$224
  • Agoda.com
    AU$167
  • Vio.com
0.5 km from CROSS HOTEL OSAKA
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$76
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$85
  • Hotels.com
    AU$85
0.5 km from CROSS HOTEL OSAKA
Free Wifi
Restaurant
キング
AU$238
  • Expedia.com
    AU$216
  • Agoda.com
    AU$193
  • Vio.com
0.5 km from CROSS HOTEL OSAKA
Free Wifi
Restaurant
ツインルーム
AU$159
  • Vio.com
    AU$141
  • Agoda.com
    AU$135
  • Expedia.com
    AU$142
0.5 km from CROSS HOTEL OSAKA
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$216
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$240
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$140
  • japanican.com
    AU$182
0.5 km from CROSS HOTEL OSAKA
Free Wifi
Restaurant
ホテル正面
AU$100
Fully refundable
  • japanican.com
    AU$98
  • Agoda.com
    AU$85
  • Vio.com
0.6 km from CROSS HOTEL OSAKA
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$72
Fully refundable
  • japanican.com
    AU$88
  • Agoda.com
    AU$58
  • Expedia.com
    AU$79
1.4 km from CROSS HOTEL OSAKA
Free Wifi
Pool
ホテル外観
AU$81
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$61
  • Hotels.com
    AU$90
2.2 km from CROSS HOTEL OSAKA
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$97
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$94
  • japanican.com
    AU$132
2.3 km from CROSS HOTEL OSAKA
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Chuo
Reviews (1,948)
Filter reviews
1,948 results
Traveller rating
1,085
670
138
31
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,085
670
138
31
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews namba station great location good size minute walk nice bathroom other hotels buffet breakfast central location kansai airport restaurants and shops room size heart dotonbori japan osaka luggage action
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,948 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2024

The hotel is on a main thoroughfare, only a 5 minute walk from the main Dotonbori nightlife area. The hotel is modern but we did not like the decor - black and white with some red. It had a rather business hotel feeling. The room was also black and white (no red) with a tiny window. The king size bed was comfortable and there was a luxurious Japanese style bathroom. We did have breakfast in the hotel - an extra - which offered a great choice but was in a rather non-descript room. We were here only for one night, and thought it was fine for that.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 26 April 2024

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing us to stay at Cross Hotel Osaka.
We are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with our location and the breakfast.
Also, thank you for your valuable comments on the decor.
If we have a room renewal, we will refer to it in the future.
Once again, we highly appreciate you for sharing your precious experience with us.
If there is any chance to visit Osaka, we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Cross Hotel Osaka again in the near future!
Sincerely yours,
Cross Hotel Osaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2024 via mobile

Great location, next to so many restaurants, a, nice hotel, reception very helpful. Breakfast was fine, eggs and coffee 😀. Good sized bathroom, room itself with three beds left not much space as expected but was fine for three nights, we would definitely stay again.

Room tip: No laundry facilities
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Porpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 2 April 2024

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing Cross Hotel Osaka and for your feedback.
We are glad to hear that you are satisfied with our location.
Our hotel is located in the heart of Osaka City, so that it would be very accessible from anywhere like restaurants, cafes and a bunch of sightseeing spots, such as Osaka Castle, Universal Studio Japan and so on.
Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us.
If you have any chance to come to Japan, please stop by Cross Hotel Osaka.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely yours,
Cross Hotel Osaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2024 via mobile

We stayed here after a much better visit at the far better Cross Hotel in Kyoto.

Negatives: We slept to badly here for all 3 nights. Rooms were small and could not get rid of condensation. Window was very small. It seems to me the building was not built as a hotel originally and was re-purposed into one. Another annoying thing is at breakfast you have to share a salt and pepper grinder as they don’t have them on tables. This should be sorted quickly and I’ve never seen it before. Not a 4* by any stretch of the imagination. An average 3 star.

Positives: It’s literally 30 seconds from Dotonburi neon area with shopping, restaurants and a taxi rank literally on the doorstep.

Although it was very conveniently located, we wouldn’t stay here again. We woke up every day feeling unrested and looked forward to moving to our next hotel.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Martin123100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 28 March 2024

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Cross Hotel Osaka from among many hotels.
However, we sincerely apologize for the disappointing experience you had during your recent stay.
Our guests’ satisfaction is our top priority, and we will strive to address the concerns you have highlighted for our guests’ improved experience.
Thank you once again for your valuable feedback.
We sincerely hope that we will have another chance to welcome you back in the near future.
Sincerely yours,
Cross Hotel Osaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2024

Cross has a minimalistic design that caters primarily to young couples (probably because of its location). Location of course is very convenient for restaurants, street food, and transportation.
Rooms are small... bordering on tiny. Superior doubles have a space for a bed, a divan, and a sort of a useless desk that is best used for suitcases (since there is no other space to place them on). Side wall is 10" away from bed, so instead of night-tables you get a headboard niche that fits an iPhone...or glasses...but not both!!!
In keeping with the idea of shoehorning many amenities into a small space, there is a coffee maker and glasses and frig - all tucked into "desk" sliders. Its actually quite clever.
Sink and toilet (yes, its heated and has more buttons than a Tesla) area is tiny as well. Shower OTOH is gigantic - a large tub and an equally impressive Japanese shower area.
Breakfast selection is 70% Japanese, 30% Western, but its enough for a few days. Anyway, why not try a Japanese breakfast.
Front desk services are bare minimum - request for restaurant recommendation will result in receiving a preprinted map, which we ignored and chose by googling.
Overall, if you want spartan accommodation in the middle of action, Cross will do.

Room tip: pay up for Cross floor - the included lounge is more than worth it.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ella_RM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 28 March 2024

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing Cross Hotel Osaka and for your feedback.
We are glad to hear that you are satisfied with our location.
As you said, Cross Hotel Osaka is located in the heart of Osaka City, so that it would be very accessible from anywhere like restaurants, sightseeing spots, and public transportations.
However, we sincerely apologize for any discomfort caused by our inadequate service.
We promise to do our best to improve our services so that your next stay will meet and exceed your expectations, if you can give us another chance.
Thank you again for your valuable and honest feedback.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a more enjoyable stay in the future.
Sincerely yours,
Cross Hotel Osaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2024

Cross Hotel Osaka is a lovely hotel in the heart of the Dotonbori district. Our room was a good size for a city hotel in Japan, with attractive decor and a stylish, clean bathroom. It had a good view of the busy street below but was high enough (10th floor) to be above the noise of the city.

The best feature of Cross Hotel was the outstanding breakfast buffet which can be included in the room rate and is well worth the additional expense. Seating was comfortable and there was a huge range of options, both Japanese and Western. Our children particularly liked the soft-serve ice cream machine.

We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a comfortable stay in Dotonbori.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wellingtonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 28 March 2024

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and taking time to share your review.
We are so delighted to have your wonderful comments and do appreciate you recommended our hotel to other travelers.
We are delighted to hear that you particularly liked our breakfast.
As you mentioned, we offer a wide variety of breakfast items, including not only Japanese and Western dishes, but also Osaka's local cuisine.
We will continue to devote ourselves to striving to give impression and satisfaction to many guests in the future.
Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We hope to have you as our guest again soon.
Sincerely yours,
Cross Hotel Osaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews