We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
AustTrail
Sydney

Comfortable stay with good extras

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Dec 2019via mobile
Room may be a small for a family of four but it was comfortable and service was good all round. The four star review was because the lady at the front desk was not very friendly. A rarity in Japan but the reception here was the least helpful of all the places we have stayed in Japan.
We enjoyed the free nightly ramen from 9.30pm and the bath was nice with good clean facilities.
Modern rooms and close to the station. A good choice for a budget stay.
Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dormyinn-Kitahama, frontdesk at Dormy Inn Premium Osaka Kitahama, responded to this review
Responded 23 Dec 2019
Thank you for your stay at our hotel.
We are glad that you satisfied and relaxed our hotels stay.
If you have opportunity to come Osaka again, we are look forwrd to see you.
Thank you.

Sincerely,

Misaki Ebina Receptionist
Dormy-inn Premium Osaka Kitahama
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$399
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$335
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$270
  • Expedia.com
    AU$321
2.3 km from Dormy Inn Premium Osaka Kitahama
Free Wifi
Restaurant
スカイスパ
AU$208
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$245
  • Agoda.com
    AU$154
  • Vio.com
2.1 km from Dormy Inn Premium Osaka Kitahama
Free Wifi
Restaurant
ツインルーム
AU$148
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$136
  • Priceline
2.0 km from Dormy Inn Premium Osaka Kitahama
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$73
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$72
  • Priceline
2.3 km from Dormy Inn Premium Osaka Kitahama
Free Wifi
Restaurant
キング
AU$196
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$161
  • Expedia.com
    AU$196
2.4 km from Dormy Inn Premium Osaka Kitahama
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$103
Fully refundable
  • japanican.com
    AU$130
  • Agoda.com
    AU$91
  • Expedia.com
    AU$98
0.0 km from Dormy Inn Premium Osaka Kitahama
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$75
Fully refundable
  • japanican.com
    AU$87
  • KLOOK
    AU$61
  • Expedia.com
    AU$89
1.1 km from Dormy Inn Premium Osaka Kitahama
Free Wifi
Pool
ホテル外観
AU$80
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$70
  • Expedia.com
    AU$89
0.5 km from Dormy Inn Premium Osaka Kitahama
Free Wifi
Restaurant
ホテル正面
AU$88
Fully refundable
  • japanican.com
    AU$85
  • Agoda.com
    AU$83
  • Vio.com
2.8 km from Dormy Inn Premium Osaka Kitahama
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$380
  • Swissotel
    AU$379
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$378
  • Vio.com
2.9 km from Dormy Inn Premium Osaka Kitahama
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Chuo
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
21
18
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
21
18
4
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2019 via mobile

End of October we spent 5 days in Osaka and stayed at the Dormy inn in Kitahama. This has proven to be the best choice. Very central and from Kitahama station there are direct trains to Kyoto!

The hotel is great, the onzen for men is incredible! Very relaxing and spacious. The sauna and hot baths are superb! My partner informed me though that the one for the females is not too great, much smaller. Shame.

Other than that, rooms are great, and very friendly staff! Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Thanks!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank BoudewijnG91
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dormyinn-Kitahama, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Dormy Inn Premium Osaka Kitahama, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2019

Thank you for staying at our hotel.
I'm really happy that you like the hotel.

While our hotel is in the middle of Osaka, you can enjoy natural hot springs.
As you say, it's not wide, but it's perfect for relieving your travel fatigue.

I would be glad if you stayed at Dormy Inn when you came to Japan again.
We want to see you again.
Thank you for your comment.

Hotel DormyInn PREMIUM Osaka Kitahama
Receptionist A.Kido

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2019 via mobile

Very accommodating staff who answered all of our questions in a friendly manner. The spa there is also excellent and free to occupants.

The room itself was small, environmentally friendly (our room was not cleaned daily) and had superior blackout curtains. Would stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dormyinn-Kitahama, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Dormy Inn Premium Osaka Kitahama, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2019

I'm glad that you were satisfied.

I was relieved that the service of the staff was praised. We want to continue providing services that will please customers.

If you stay overnight, the recommended hotel is a plan without cleaning. A new towel is given every day.

We are waiting for the day we can meet you again. Thank you very much.

Hotel DormyInn PREMIUM Osaka Kitahama
Receptionist A.Kido

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2019 via mobile

Stayed in several hotels during my trip to Japan. Visited Osaka for 2 nights and stayed at the Dormy Inn. The hotel was the least expensive of my trip. At first, it was a bit of a shock going from two hotels that cost three times more to the dormy! Howevee, the hotel was clean, no noise as others had reviewed, easy access to the subway, underground access to the subway that connects to the train stations. Overall a good location in a safe area.
The room has a door to divide the entry from the bedroom giving more noise reduction. The shower was amazing.
I did not try the Japanese hot tub, but it is available.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Lawsut59
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dormyinn-Kitahama, 副支配人 at Dormy Inn Premium Osaka Kitahama, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2019

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel.
Your comments pleased us.
Showers only, as the hotel has a large public bath with its signature natural hot spring.
The nearest station to the hotel is Kitahama Station, which has easy access to sightseeing spots.
The hotel is new, but even if it is old, we will work with ambition every day so that our customers can be delighted with our service.

Hotel Dormyinn Premium Osakakitahama
Receptionist A.Kido

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2019

Really cosy and comfortable hotel for staying near to downtown Osaka. The location is well connected via subways to downtown as well as the airport. Comfortable beds, decent room size, good bathroom amenities, and an electric kettle is present. Nice restaurant downstairs offering free Japanese food for the guests every night. The highlight though is the Japanese hot spring present on the roof-top. It provides an amazing and relaxing experience. Hotel staff are very polite and helpful. Highly recommended.

Room tip: the top floor is where the hot spring and massage chairs are.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tulika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dormyinn-Kitahama, フロント at Dormy Inn Premium Osaka Kitahama, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2019

Thank you for your stay at our hotel.
We are glad that you satisfied and relaxed our hotels stay.
If you have opportunity to come Osaka again, we are look forwrd to see you.
Thank you.
Sincerely,

Misaki Ebina
Receptionist Dormy-inn Premium Osaka Kitahama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2019 via mobile

Hotel is new and looks nice from the outside but it is not ideal for tourists. At check in we got a receptionist who spoke okay English but who was not very friendly. The hotel is located in a light commercial area with not much around. We were not impressed with the buffet breakfast so we decided to find a cafe and found there is nothing in the close vicinity that is open on the weekend. The buffet breakfast is very small and was unappealing to us. The Western options were pizza, sausage, crumbed prawns and very small omelette. The omelette chef refused to talk to us and so we had to ask the restaurant manager for an omelette. The bed is very hard, harder than any bed we have ever slept on and this was our fourth hotel in Japan. The pillows are also very tiny. We requested extra pillows which the hotem provided to us, but they were unable to provide another doona to soften the mattress.

We asked for a late checkout as our flight wasn't till the evening and the male receptionist just said "1pm" awkwardly to us without any other communication. Alas we got a call at 11am asking us why we hadn't checked out and that late checkout cost Y4000. The room layout is also very awkward. You enter the room through the bathroom/dressing room. The shower room is on the opposite side of the room with no where to hang a towel. We chose the option of no daily housekeeping but found that after 3 days the fresh towels left in a bag on the door handle each day were piling up in our room with nowhere to be hung. Amenities are provided including hairdryer, toothbrush n toothpaste, shampoo and conditioner but there was no hand soap. A container labelled "face soap" was on the basin so we washed our hands with face soap. Overall this hotel is probably good for non-local Japanese but I would not recommend this hotel to other Western tourists wanting to sightsee Osaka.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank EmPark3098
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dormyinn-Kitahama, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Dormy Inn Premium Osaka Kitahama, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2019

We are sorry for not meeting our expectations even though we have chosen our hotel from among many hotels.

We will continue to share the entire staff so that we can solve any problems with staff's response even further in the future, and we will work to make our customers happy with a smile.

As for the bed hardness, there are rooms with a large bed with some hard beds and rooms with soft beds.

If you have any hope, please let me know as long as you can and respond as long as you want.

If I have the opportunity to come to Japan, I want to meet your expectations.

I am sorry that I couldn't help you with the memories of my trip to Japan.
Thank you for your valuable comments.

Hotel DormyInn PREMIUM Osaka Kitahama
Receptionist A.Kido

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews