We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ian D
Cheltenham, United Kingdom

Great Location and Felt Very Authentic

Review of Yamatoya Honten
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Feb 2020
My wife and I had a lovely 5 nights here in January. The rooms are Japanese style which we like. The daily servicing was good. The rooms are fairly modest in size but well organised and comfortable. The front desk team were very helpful. The location is superb with lots and lots to do in the locality. The communal bath in the basement was great and kept spotless. We'd stay again.
Date of stay: January 2020
Room Tip: The rooms at the back look over a canal which we liked.
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
yamatoya, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Yamatoya Honten, responded to this review
Responded 11 Feb 2020
Dear. iand279

Thank you for your stay and lovely feedback.

We are very glad that you have had a good time with us.

We are always trying to keep improving ourselves and facility in order to make you feel more comfortable next time.

We always are looking forward to your visit :)

Hope to see you again!

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$72
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$88
  • Agoda.com
    AU$68
  • Priceline
    AU$77
0.1 km from Yamatoya Honten
Free Wifi
Restaurant
キング
AU$243
  • Vio.com
    AU$221
  • Priceline
    AU$201
  • Expedia.com
    AU$222
0.2 km from Yamatoya Honten
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$322
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$297
  • Vio.com
    AU$219
  • Priceline
    AU$231
0.5 km from Yamatoya Honten
Free Wifi
Restaurant
スカイスパ
AU$178
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$214
  • Agoda.com
    AU$141
  • Vio.com
    AU$150
0.2 km from Yamatoya Honten
Free Wifi
Restaurant
ツインルーム
AU$146
  • Vio.com
    AU$134
  • Priceline
    AU$140
  • Agoda.com
    AU$136
0.2 km from Yamatoya Honten
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$186
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$207
  • Agoda.com
    AU$161
  • Priceline
    AU$170
0.8 km from Yamatoya Honten
Free Wifi
Restaurant
ホテル正面
AU$98
Fully refundable
  • japanican.com
    AU$96
  • Agoda.com
    AU$80
  • Vio.com
    AU$93
0.6 km from Yamatoya Honten
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$79
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    AU$74
  • Agoda.com
    AU$65
  • japanican.com
    AU$87
1.5 km from Yamatoya Honten
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$105
Fully refundable
  • japanican.com
    AU$129
  • Agoda.com
    AU$96
  • Expedia.com
    AU$101
2.2 km from Yamatoya Honten
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Chuo
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
52
66
27
22
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
52
66
27
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews public bath western style japanese breakfast wi fi basement onsen tatami english osaka signal
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2019

Just a block off Dotonburi Street, foodie haven, this Ryokan was everything it needed to be! The room is made up with a low table, cushions and tea service (with snacks!) during the day, and then in the evening, staff comes in and changes it over to mats and linens, pushing the table to the wall. Our room had a lovely window alcove on the river with table and chairs to sit at as well. Yukatas are provided and the Ohsen (steam bath) was terrific.

Altogether a great experience! We stayed in traditional Ryokans out entire stay and this was my favorite!

Room tip: Get a view on the river!
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
yamatoya, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Yamatoya Honten, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2019

Hi, eirekay
Thank you for your stay and feedback.
We are very glad that you had a good time.
We hold different event every month
It would be appreciated if you visit us again when you come to OSAKA next time.

We hope to see you again in the near future :)

YAMATOYA HONTEN STAFF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2019 via mobile

I normally accept really low standards but this ryokan ( if at all it is an original one) would not even qualify for this review. It was a complete let down from all aspects of cleanliness. The bathroom shower curtain had fungus all over. The windows were dirty and so were the sheets. The breakfast was sad :(. The aircon disfunctional and none of the photos showing up on both tripadvisor or booking.com come half close to the reality.

What surprises me is how this ranks up so high. Honestly I like Ryokans but this was a complete let down. Bottomline - Stay away from this one and stay in a hotel if you want to be close to the dotonbori district.

Completely spoilt my stay at Osaka, perhaps that is what I will remember Osaka for.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank vishalk825
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
yamatoya, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Yamatoya Honten, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2019

Hi, vishalk825
Thank you for your stay and feedback.

Please let us apologize to you about what you pointed out in your review and having spoilt your stay in OSAKA.
There is no excuse about this matter.
From this matter happened, we discussed and started improving quickly to never let this happen again. We are making our best effort to keep cleanliness. Some things might seem to dirty because it became old. We also trying to replace it, but cannot finish it quickly. It is kind of step by step. We hope you would understand. Your feedback made us motivated to be better than before.

If we have opportunity that you visit us again, we promise that we provide you more comfortable stay!
We hope to see you again.

YAMATOYA HONTEN STAFF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

The situation of this hotel is perfect for downtown Osaka. A couple of minutes walk from hotels and bars.I travelled by myself and was disappointed that the dinner that they can serve in the room is only for 2 people plus. When I booked the room it had stated that it was a size for 4 people plus - it was really the perfect size just for me. Ask for the Japanese breakfast and book a room facing the so called "river" - it is quieter.

Date of stay: March 2018
5  Thank chezcrabenrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
yamatoya, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Yamatoya Honten, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback.We appreciate your detailed review and we hope for another opportunity to serve you again in the nearest future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

I enjoyed staying in the traditional style rooms. The location is great. The staff is really great. Very helpful. One man even went above and beyond to help me get a charger for my computer. Some people mentioned that the rooms are dated, but I found that to add to the charm of the place. Nothing was dirty. The room was always clean. I did not eat any meals here. I opted for all the Dotonburi options.
There is a nice coin laundry just down the road. The staff gave me a map to help show all three nearby laundry locations. The one straight down the road seems the best.
I would stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattK284
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
yamatoya, 支配人 at Yamatoya Honten, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Yamatoya Honten and for taking the time to share your positive and detailed feedback here. We look forward to seeing you when you come to OSAKA next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed here with our two sons (20, 24) and found it wonderful! Extremely friendly staff, a little tea surprise everyday after a long hot day of touristing, and adequate private bath facilities. The public bath was great and special. It is in the middle of the spectacular night district of Osaka and price/quality is extremely good.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 719liesbetv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
yamatoya, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Yamatoya Honten, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018
Google Translation

この度は大和屋本店をお選びいただき、誠にありがとうございました。 また、ご感想をお寄せいただき重ねて御礼申し上げます。 またご指摘頂きました件に関しましては、 今後ともお客様にご満足頂ける改善して参りますので、引き続き大和屋本店をお引き立てくださいますようお願い申し上げます。 スタッフ一同、またの「お帰り」を心よりお待ち申し上げております。

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews