We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 107
USD 87
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 98
USD 94
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 117/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 329
USD 235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 270/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dotonbori Hotel(Dotombori)
USD 139
USD 117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 139
USD 127
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 1,657
USD 297
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 394/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 88
USD 68
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 100
USD 81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 100/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 134
USD 69
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 135
USD 92
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
43
60
25
20
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
60
25
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspublic bathkaiseki dinnertraditional experiencejapanese breakfastenjoyed my staylocation is greatbasementonsenosakasubway
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and while breakfast was nice and the room itself was pleasant, this was tainted by the noise. We had the worst nights sleep we have had during our entire trip- walls are paper thin and roadworks were going on from 1am-5am (pneumatic drills etc) which kept us awake all night. When I called reception to ask to change rooms, the staff spoke no English and told us they couldn't help.

I also felt that compared to other accommodation we stayed in, this was extremely expensive. I understand that it's a traditional experience that you're paying for but we didn't feel it was worth the expense.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank lauraexplorer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yamatoya, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Yamatoya Honten, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thank you for staying with us. Since the toilet There was pointed out that dirty, will continue to clean more than ever in the future now tell the cleaning crew.We look forward to welcoming you back to Yamatoya Honten in the nearest future for another impeccable service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

We stayed only one night as a group of 7 (2 rooms) but wished we could have stayed longer. The rooms were clean and the staff was extremely friendly. We regret not having enough time to enjoy the baths in the basement. We asked the staff for the free kimono rentals and they were very accommodating. A female staff member went with us to our rooms and helped 3 of us put on our kimonos properly. They held our luggage after checkout and were extremely friendly. It is very close and walkable to Dotonburi and Kuromon Ichiba Market. We highly recommend this ryokan.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank loctieu10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yamatoya, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Yamatoya Honten, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback! It is always a pleasure to receive nice comments such as yours, and to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us.We appreciate your detailed review and we hope for another opportunity to serve you again in the nearest future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

location is great, short walk from central dotonbori. easy to get food from surrounding restaurants. we love the traditional experience of sleeping in ryokan. room is clean, spacious, comfortable. staff were helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yamatoya, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Yamatoya Honten, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2017

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Yamatoya Honten. We are happy you are pleased. Your kind feedback is very much appreciated and we hope to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

This place was a huge disappointment. The first thing we noticed was the stench coming from the toilet. If absolutely stunk of urine. The room itself looked a little grubby but wasn't too bad. But the noise! Dreadful piped music was played in the hallway until late at night and due to the very thin walls, kept us awake in our room. Drunken businessmen filled the foyer and the halls, which my children found very upsetting. Reception staff were very friendly but that was the only thing going for this place, apart from its location, which is very handy.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank SouthernDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yamatoya, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Yamatoya Honten, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Thank you for staying with us. Since the toilet There was pointed out that dirty, will continue to clean more than ever in the future now tell the cleaning crew.We look forward to welcoming you back to Yamatoya Honten in the nearest future for another impeccable service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

After having stayed in "Western style" hotels on our trip to Japan it was really nice to experience something a little more traditional. A knock on the door from staff coming in to prepare the bedding, along with hot green tea, was a really nice touch as well.
Location was excellent for exploring the shopping district. Only a few metro stations to Osaka Castle and similarly easy access to Kansei airport.
The bathroom was looking "a little tired" but otherwise loved the accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ColinH3123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yamatoya, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Yamatoya Honten, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2017

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Yamatoya Honten and for taking the time to share your positive and detailed feedback here. We look forward to seeing you when you come to OSAKA next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews