We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little restaurant!”
Review of CAFE GREEN DOOR

CAFE GREEN DOOR
Ranked #5 of 28 Coffee & Tea in Higashiyama
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: City Centre
Description: Cafe Green Door is a small eatery tucked away in the middle of the Gion district. It lies right of Sanjo street, near Higashiyama station. Stop by for a good american coffee, one of the monthly specialties, or when you're in need for a healthy lunch.
Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

We stopped here on the way back to our hotel...lured in by the sign for pita pizza. They were so gracious and the pizza was delicious. It was served with a small salad and homemade yogurt. Wonderful find on a quiet side street in Kyoto.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Kristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

Found this place while wondering around the streets. Beautiful fresh food and coffee was great! Must try!

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

We got a vegetarian pizza. Lovely fresh crunchy vegetables. Amazing coffee and Gen also gave us a kale smoothie fresh from the garden

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Sophia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

This place offered delicious and fresh pitas and pizzas. Vegetarian friendly options available. We ordered cheese pita and seasonal veggie pizza and both of them ruled. The pizza came with a bowl of sugared homemade yoghurt which was a bit weird but delicious nevertheless.

This place is great for breakfast or lunch. The space's divided in two dining rooms: bar type table with seats and traditional Japanese dining room that had a heated blanket to warm up during the frisky winter day. Excellent!

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank TuhoJuho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Found this place down a narrow alley following recommendation of TripAdvisor and it was close to our hotel. All run by one friendly guy who spoke great english. Peaceful tatami area to eat and we had two smoked chicken pita breads. Pita was fresh, thin and crispy. Smoked chicken and filling was amazing. If you are not that hungry two people could probably share one. However we had one each :) also came with pickles and a small bowl of yoghurt and blueberries. Also filter coffee was great. One of the best breakfasts I've had. If your in the area, support this guy. You will not regret it.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CAFE GREEN DOOR also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Higashiyama, Kyoto
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to CAFE GREEN DOOR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing