We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 6:30 pm
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Ebisuya, Kyoto Higashiyama
from USD 40.50
More Info
from USD 79.50
More Info
from USD 214.00
More Info
from USD 38.90
More Info
Reviews (941)
Filter reviews
941 results
Traveller rating
909
25
3
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
909
25
3
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rickshaw tour rickshaw guy friendly driver spoke good english surrounding temples hour ride amazing experience interesting facts take photos great guide amazing photos heian shrine fun experience lots of fun bamboo forest gion district rainy day
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 941 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2018 via mobile

Excellent ricksaw tour, our driver Takuto is friendly and pleasant, he can speak English and took lots of nice photo for us along the way. He told us about the history and custom when visiting the temples and shrines around Kyoto. Very recommended for first time visit in Kyoto.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank YickLokH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa C, Guest Relations Manager at Ebisuya, Kyoto Higashiyama, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2018

Dear Tick Lok H,
Thank you very much for choosing Ebisuya Rickshaw to be part of your first visit to Kyoto. Thank you also very much for taking the time to write a comment about your experience afterwards. Your guide Takuto was also very happy to hear from you again. Kyoto used to be the capital city back in the day and history can be still found at every street corner. Together with your knowledgeable time you will not only learn about the history, culture and customs in Kyoto while in fact sitting on a traditional mode of transportation - the rickshaw. Though one tour might not be enough to cover all there is to see, and learn, we hope that you had a wonderful time and now have a better understanding to appreciate Kyoto as a city even more!
Should the opportunity present itself again some day, we would love to meet you again some day!

Best Regards,
Guide: Takuto MURAKAMI
Staff: Larissa C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

Spending my birthday in a kimono and taking a rickshaw ride was totally unplanned, as I just wanted to take it easy, doing what I felt like that day.
And I got a fantastic driver Manabu, the ride was extremely pleasant as the seat was heated for the cold weather, he was very informative about the history and culture of Kyoto plus he took some great photos for me, perfect for solo tourist like me who didn’t get much photos taken :)

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank elainlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa C, Guest Relations Manager at Ebisuya, Kyoto Higashiyama, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Dear Elainlim,
Thank you very much for choosing Ebisuya Rickshaw to be part of your birthday! We are very happy that you enjoyed your tour with our guide Manabu. Our tours can be customized based on your interests, so before getting on the rickshaw you can discuss and decide together with your guide which route you would like to take and where you would like to finish the tour. Depending on the season and time of day our knowledgeable guides may make some insider recommendations. Our guide also doubles as your personal photographer, stopping at scenic locations to take pictures of you with your own camera or cell phone.
We hope that the pictures will help you remember your visit and your birthday in Kyoto for a long time to come! The kimono suits you very well by the way!

Best Regards,
Larissa C
EBISUYA Rickshaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

My Elderly mum and I took the 3-hr tour so she could visit places and sights she could not have possibly walked to. I felt confident that in a developed western country the young, fit rickshaw drivers/guides had choice about their employment. Our driver Russell was very informative and entertaining and mum and I both thoroughly enjoyed the tour. The backstreets and backstory to the Gion district were fascinating, and the autumn leaves and temples beautiful. Lots of fun!

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Intrepid67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa C, Guest Relations Manager at Ebisuya, Kyoto Higashiyama, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Intrepid67,

Thank you very much for choosing Ebisuya Rickshaw to explore the Higashiyama area of Kyoto. Thank you also for taking the time to write a review on our service. This old part of foot might be a bit challenging to cover on foot due to the the many up and down hills including uneven streets and cobble stones. With the rickshaw you can comfortably do some sightseeing and with a knowledgeable guide like our Russell learn a lot about the area at the same time. Though our tours can be customized to meet your interests, our guide might him- or herself to make a few suggestions based on the time of the day and season to show you the best Higashiyama has to offer.
Though the autumn foliage has started almost a week earlier than usual, the leaves have not all fallen yet and the colours are still quite a joy to watch.
We hope you have many many other wonderful discoveries and memories during your visit to Kyoto.

Best Regards,
Larissa C
EBISUYA Rickshaw Higashiyama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

We had a wonderful time being guided around the oldest parts of Kyoto in a rickshaw.
It was a rainy day but we were warm and comfortable. Our guide Katsuhiko was so knowledgeable and friendly. We felt like princesses as we rode around and learnt about the beautiful and interesting places. Katsuhiko took us to places we wouldn't have seen or understood otherwise. He even gave us suggestions for other things to do and see.
We loved our rickshaw ride

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa C, Guest Relations Manager at Ebisuya, Kyoto Higashiyama, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear Anne,
Thank you very much for choosing Ebisuya Rickshaw to visit the Higashiyama area of Kyoto. While sitting on such an old method of transportation and gliding along the old wooden houses, did you feel like going for a short time travel as well? The Higashiyama is where you can find the spirit of the old capital. Our guide is a local who knows the area inside and out. While he will guide you around the area, pointing out, explaining and describing the sights you are passing by in terms of history, politics, culture and religion but also offering interesting and fun anecdotes. But feel free to ask your guide questions for more details or clarifications but you can also ask him for other good suggestions on what to do, where to eat and how to get to places in Kyoto. We hope to see you again some day, perhaps when the weather is a bit warmer?

Best Regards,
Larissa C
EBISUYA Rickshaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Wonderful and amazing trip under a warm blanket around the bamboo forest. Thanks a lot expeciay to the courageous driver

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank mymelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larissa C, Guest Relations Manager at Ebisuya, Kyoto Higashiyama, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear Mymelia,
Thank you very much for choosing Ebisuya Rickshaw to explore parts of Kyoto. Thank you also very much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. Now that the days are getting colder, we have switched the blankets to thicker ones so you will stay warm during your rickshaw tour. Our guides know the area very well and can not only show you the amazing and famous bamboo forest but also other wonderful parts of the town which are not necessarily listed in your guidebook.
Come and visit us again some day!

Best Regards,
Larissa C
EBISUYA Rickshaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews