We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
124
21
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
21
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel rice yogurt breakfast table charming area international staff great location quiet lane other guests sake tasting japanese touch modern japanese style hotel staff public transportation check in was easy would highly recommend this hotel favorite hotel
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Great location, awesome rooms with all comforts and friendly service. We got a bunch of advice from the front desk and they were very helpful with any questions. Great Japanese/ Western breakfast and we were lucky enough to be there during Thursday when they offer free introduction to sake. Overall we had wonderful stay.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank elinahann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ethnography, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ethnography Gion Shinmonzen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2018

Thank you for leaving us a review, Elina-san
We really appreciate your comments, especially for the sake tasting. The staff really spend a lot of time studying about sake.
We hope to host you again next time you visit Kyoto! This time with more sake to try :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Great location, very quiet and extra attentive staff. Never seem annoyed by any of your requests no matter what they are. Don't let the not having a bathtub deter you. The shower is epic! Has nozzle and rain shower feature along with a little bench.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ethnography, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ethnography Gion Shinmonzen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2018

Thank you for leaving us a review, Christina-san.
We really appreciate your comments on the facilities, staff and especially the shower. We are glad you liked it :)
We hope to host you again next time you visit Kyoto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

Absolutely fabulous small boutique hotel in a great location near Gion area. Very nice comfortable modern rooms with lovely appointments, and facilities. Perfect English and other languages spoken, which is a bonus. Staff excellent, very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended if you want to spend a few days in Kyoto.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank edward5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ethnography, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ethnography Gion Shinmonzen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2018

Thank you for leaving us a review, Edward-san.
We really appreciate your comments on the location and our staff. We are really proud of our staff's language skills as well.
We hope to host you again next time you visit Kyoto :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

We stayed at the HEGS on a trip through Kyoto. The hotel was excellent - clean, friendly staff, and in a great location. Our room, which I think is representative of the general room layout, was large and well lit. The bathroom was great. One note - the hotel is only about 4-5 stories tall, so you're unlikely to have a view unless you are on one of the higher floors. Check-in was easy and they were accommodating when we asked to leave a lot of luggage for the day after check-out.

Room tip: If you can, ask to be higher up - we were on the fourth floor and had plenty of light and a little view; our friends were on a lower floor and didn't have as much light. At the same time, hopefully you're not spending much time in the hotel if you're visiting Kyoto with so many great things to see!
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ZackGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ethnography, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ethnography Gion Shinmonzen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear ZackGo,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.We appreciate your feedback on your experience at our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed in Kyoto and staying with us. We look forward to hosting you again, should you visit Kyoto again. We wish you safe travels ahead.

Best wishes,

Hotel Ethnography Gion Shinmonzen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

I stayed for 3 nights in the room with a private garden. The room was really beautiful. I enjoyed the sake tasting the hotel hosted one evening. The breakfast was great and included miso soup, yogurt, toast and jam, and coffee and tea.

Room tip: The private garden is very peaceful.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ethnography, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ethnography Gion Shinmonzen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Tracy S,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.We appreciate your feedback on your experience at our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed in Kyoto and staying with us. We look forward to hosting you again, should you visit Kyoto again. We wish you safe travels ahead.

Best wishes,

Hotel Ethnography Gion Shinmonzen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews