We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,211)
Filter reviews
2,211 results
Traveller rating
865
1,042
229
50
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
865
1,042
229
50
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews subway station nishiki market walking distance karasuma oike top floor other hotels minute walk japanese standards small room stayed here for nights hotel lobby central location location is great manga museum buffet breakfast green tea bus stop
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 2,211 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2018

Stayed for 3 nights in August our first hotel of a two week trip. Checkin was friendly and simple (exactly what you hope for after a long flight). We booked a standard double room but must have been given an upgrade: we had a corner room and the bed was the largest I've seen in any hotel anywhere (let alone a hotel in Japan where beds can be quite small). We had a view of Kyoto Tower from our room.

In advance of our stay, the Concierge Tomi Higashise was able to secure us a reservation (at quite short notice) at a restaurant we really wanted to go to and which we had been unable to reserve ourselves. The spa on the top floor is very nice, with multiple baths (including one cold, and one open air). The staff are very helpful and provide explanations (in English) about the baths, helpful for foreign travellers who may not have had this experience before (A note: tattoos are not allowed in this bath). It is perhaps a shame that guests are charged for the baths, as many hotels offer these for free, but the quality of the facilities was high.

The hotel is very centrally located. We arrived easily on the subway from Kyoto station (it would not be a very long taxi ride). Many restaurants in the neighbourhoods around walking distance to Nishiki Market (even in August heat).

We were very happy with our experience at Hotel Monterey.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank parleek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

My family and I stayed in a family room with 4 beds for 3 nights. The room was spacious and clean, the beds were very comfortable, all the staff were very courteous and helpful. A special thanks to the wonderful concierge Tomi Higashise who helped us make a dinner reservation for a restaurant in Arashiyama before we checked in. She made all the arrangements based on our requests and and she provided a confirmation printout of the dinner reservation, including subway directions to the restaurant when we checked in. She basically made everything easy for us , and we appreciated it. All in all, this was one of the best hotel experiences we've had, and would definitely return here the next time we visit Kyoto.

Room tip: Convenient location
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Greta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Stayed for 2 nights, helpful staff and Onsen was subsidised as a guest, on 13th floor with great views of the city and an outdoor area. Very good buffet breakfast and comfortable room. Desk staff able to give tourist information.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pennyr562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

A very nice hotel with excellent decor, breakfast and rooms. The location is very central. There are two Starbucks with convenient stores are situated nearby. The bedrooms and very clean. The beds are extremely comfortable. Vending machines are situated on every floor which is so convenient. The breakfast has so many options that you will be spoilt for choice and as a result stuffed till dinner easily. They have a mobile phone in the room which you can carry out even when you leave the hotel and even make international calls. Never experienced that before. A must stay if you are in Kyoto!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Humzah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

Walking distance to main tourist attractions, shopping (high street retail and traditional Japanese markets) and foodies hottest spots.
The rooms are comfortable although basic.
Staff is helpful and is spotless clean all over.
It’s a bit shocking to find a small Romanesque style church within the proper patio. Apparently it’s popular to get married ‘occidental style’ at the place.
I even have the opportunity to witness a weddings over the weekend! Overall a rather pleasant accommodation with reasonable prices.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Thousandeurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews