We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Gimmond Kyoto(Nakagyo)(Great Value!)
USD 145
USD 55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 44% below average rates

The price you found is 44% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 118
USD 92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 227
USD 163
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 232/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 134
USD 72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hearton Hotel Kyoto(Nakagyo)(Great Value!)
USD 94
USD 71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 86/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

UNIZO INN Kyoto Kawaramachi Shijo(Nakagyo)(Great Value!)
USD 107
USD 72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto(Nakagyo)(Great Value!)
USD 51
USD 48
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 49% below average rates

The price you found is 49% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
USD 353
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
USD 787
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,165)
Filter reviews
2,165 results
Traveller rating
847
1,025
222
47
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
847
1,025
222
47
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnishiki marketsubway stationkarasuma oikewalking distancetop floormanga museumgreat central locationjapanese standardsminute walksmall roomstayed here for nightshotel staffrestaurant reservationsjapan tripbuffet breakfastmodern hotelgreen tea
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 2,165 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We had stayed at this hotel for a few nights during our visit to Kyoto. We love the location of this hotel. Very conveniently located to lots of shops, local market and subway stops.

The room is typical Japanese size room, which is tiny compared to western standard. Nevertheless, the room is quite clean and equipped with everything you need.

The staff at concierge is beyond amazing. Special thanks to Ms Magara Ishidhara. She made a huge effort helping us making a couple dinner reservations and other things. All their help made us have a pleasant stay and feel welcome. Super grateful to them.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank ayu312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monkyo, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Thank you for staying at Hotel Monterey Kyoto.
We will also tell the compliments of consultation to the person in charge of the concierge.
There are various festivals and events in Kyoto, so I think that you can go there once. We will wait from the bottom of my heart to help you memories of your trip by the next visit to Kyoto.
We are waiting for your visit again.
You sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Great room, spacious with a nice sized bathroom with large bath and shower over. Good breakfast variety, and a well organised table system. You give in your breakfast tickets then wait outside for a space to become available, and a reservation card is placed on your table so you can easily choose your breakfast selection. You give back the card when you've finished. Close to places of interest and the trains.

Room Tip: Got a room at the back which was nice and quiet
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chocsmoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monkyo, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Thank you for staying at Hotel Monterey Kyoto.
It seems that you are satisfied with your room and breakfast, I am very happy.
Near our hotel there are train stations and bus stops. There are many temples and shrines in the vicinity as well as the Nishiki market where abundant souvenirs and food are abundantly located a few minutes on foot.
Apart from cherry blossoms and autumn leaves, there are plenty of places to enjoy in Kyoto.
I hope to be able to help you memories of your trip when you come to Kyoto next time. We are waiting for visitors.
You sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

The Hotel Monterey has some old school charm in the elevators and Library bar and seeing a church chapel within the building, very cute.
The rooms are simple and lovely with nice detail on the high ceilings but they’re small and nowhere to put your suitcase.
The hotel is very central and you can walk to many sights.
Finding food in the morning was a bit painful - so if you find a good breakfast place, stick with it as we found ourselves wondering around trying to find something open.
But for dinner there is no problem!

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Shanelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

For a cultural visit theMonterey is perfectly located near the metrostations. Take a metrocard like Suica and you reach many interesting sites by tube and or bus. The rooms are nice and quite spacious, the noise insulation towards the busy street excellent. The break fast is o.K., rich in Japanese food. What we apreciated most was the nice and extremely helpful service. We had a misshap and the staff with great efforts solved the problem. Thanks!

Room Tip: Chose higher floors
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Katharina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monkyo, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you for staying at Hotel Monterey Kyoto.
The hotel has good transportation convenience and can visit various sightseeing spots.
Kyoto has plenty of sightseeing spots to enjoy every season, so we are waiting for you to come again.
Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Hotel Monterey is right in the centre of Kyoto, close to the old district, walking distance to Kyoto Castle and many other things. The hotel itself is large, clean and has a great onsen on the top floor with wonderful views of Kyoto and the surrounding areas. Will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: February 2018
1  Thank jay123452017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monkyo, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Thank you for staying at Hotel Monterey Kyoto. I am very pleased that you can come again.
On the 13th floor of the hotel, there is a large public bath of natural hot springs. Although it is charged, I will heal the tired body, so I think that the tiredness of the trip of the day is gone.
If you are staying next time please use the public bath on the 13th floor.
We are waiting for your staying again.
Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews