We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,200)
Filter reviews
2,200 results
Traveller rating
861
1,038
226
50
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
861
1,038
226
50
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews subway station nishiki market walking distance karasuma oike top floor minute walk japanese standards stayed here for nights small room central location hotel lobby manga museum location is great green tea buffet breakfast around the corner bus stop
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 2,200 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Hotel Monterey is right in the centre of Kyoto, close to the old district, walking distance to Kyoto Castle and many other things. The hotel itself is large, clean and has a great onsen on the top floor with wonderful views of Kyoto and the surrounding areas. Will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: February 2018
1  Thank jay123452017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monkyo, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Thank you for staying at Hotel Monterey Kyoto. I am very pleased that you can come again.
On the 13th floor of the hotel, there is a large public bath of natural hot springs. Although it is charged, I will heal the tired body, so I think that the tiredness of the trip of the day is gone.
If you are staying next time please use the public bath on the 13th floor.
We are waiting for your staying again.
Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

We spent 5 days here and it was amazing! We loved the location. It wasn't walking distance to the train station but close to a lot of local sites. For the temples and stuff we took the day tour on 2 different days and they picked us up right from the lobby!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asack2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monkyo, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you for staying at Hotel Monterey Kyoto. The hotel is very convenient, as the bus stop and the train station stop are nearby.
In Kyoto, I think that you can discover new things if you have a different seasonal scenery and you can visit during a different season. In addition, we are pleased if you can use Hotel Monterey Kyoto when you come to Kyoto. All of our staff are waiting for you.
Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed 6 nights in their twin room in October 2017. Room size was good but the rate was very expensive ( USD 180 / night, not include breakfast ). Everything was clean and we highly appreciated their Uji green tea in the mini bar. Staff were very friendly and nice. The inroom wifi did not work on the first day. But they fixed it the next day.

They do have an onsen on the top floor. But you have to pay around USD 15 per visit. Normally onsen is free of charge for hotel guests. They should have mentioned this in their website.

And although they claim that their onsen is 'natural hot spring', we did not feel it was. So don't expect too much. Just treat it as hot water will be fine.

Location is very good. Easy to access underground both green line and red line. One day we even simply took the underground to Nara without changing any line, straight from the hotel!

There are plenty of restaurants and convenient stores around. And a museum too.

We particularly love the shampoo and conditioner the hotel provided. It would be nice if we know where we can buy those.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bling_Li
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

This is a really good hotel! Service is flawless, the breakfast is amazing, and the location is great. The food market and a fun shopping mall is just 5 mins away by foot. Several streets close by have restaurants, cafés, small shops and more. The spa on the top floor (13th) is quite small, but cheap and very relaxing. I would also really recommend renting a bike, and spending a day cycling in the city!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Victor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monkyo, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you for staying at Hotel Monterey Kyoto.
We are very pleased that you have compliments such as service, breakfast etc.
In the vicinity of our hotel there are various markets such as Nishiki market, restaurants, shrines and temples.
In the place about 20 minutes on foot from the hotel, there is a Kamogawa river, and walking around the riverbed etc, I think that it is perfect for the current season.
All of our staff are waiting for you.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

Unlike many Japanese 3-Star hotels, Hotel Monterey Kyoto had really good service. I approached the concierge for dinner reservations. I told her I wanted to taste the different types of Japanese cuisine and she booked a restaurant for every evening I stayed in Kyoto. She even made me a file with all the dates, restaurant names and maps of how to get there. Location of the hotel is also very good - on a main thoroughfare and near subway stations, shops and restaurants. Nikishi Market is a short walk away. Rooms are a little small and furniture is worn but bathrooms are a very good size.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monkyo, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you for being at Hotel Monterey Kyoto.
Thank you for your compliments to the service of the staff.
Also, we would be pleased if you could stay at Hotel Monterey Kyoto when you come to Kyoto.
In that case, I think that you can also help traveling by all means.
In Kyoto, the views of shrines and temples will change every season.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews