We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
11
10
8
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
10
8
3
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2016

Short version- expensive ryokan hotel, great area, room a bit shabby, food excellent staff varied!

This was our ryokan experience while in Japan. The street is absolutely beautiful, actually great location near city hall. No sign but all drivers knew it. Reception is quite frankly shabby, ripped chairs, old carpet behind reception, dusty shelves, not a great start. The receptionist spoke great English but didn't seem that happy to see us...every request we made was greeted with a sigh and when we asked to split ( 100,000+ yen ) charge in 2 we got an ' oh god!" And much sighing ..quite often people smoking in reception so not somewhere we wanted to sit. Some lovely ladies were having a tea ceremony there, goodness knows why.....
The room was one in the new annex overlooking the street. It's tatami style and quite big. It was built about 25 years ago and was made in the old style. There are stained screens and ripped chair covers. Some of the ' wood' is actually plastic. Nice view on street though. Not much noise , a few people passing but it's quiet.
We asked if a friend could come to dinner - more sighing! But the dinner is absolutely a work of art so we saw how they need to be prepared in advance. It was served in our room traditional style , very lovely presentation.
We then headed to a nearby bar so they could make our mats....the duvet is very thick and mat was fine. Pillow thin but that's normal here.
We slept ok, a bottle of Japanese whisky did help!
Breakfast is at set times and if you are late it will be on your table anyway! Amazing Japanese style breakfast really beautiful.
We went to the hot spring bath they have, you go through the interesting old building at the back but the room is a bit of a 70s job with lots of plastic, you can book this for 30 minutes.
On retrospect, we are not ideal customers for this kind of hotel, we like more flexibility and my partner likes more modern places, no wifi apart from reception and we got shocked looks when asked if rooms had it !
If we had been offered some tea at reception, a more calming welcome, and is the reception looked less like Fawlty Towers and and a bit more chic than shabby...the real issue is we paid about 300 USD a night and felt we didn't get good value for that. But I did fall for the charm of the place, the old areas and location are perfect. My partner was thrilled to leave and go to a featureless business hotel in Osaka! Perhaps one night only good to get the experience. I think the rooms at the back might be better. I left tea bags in 2 cups and they weren't touched for 2 days, the room wasn't cleaned but I think the bathroom got a quick wipe. A very mixed experience!

Room Tip: We can't recommend street view rooms if they were like ours, perhaps back end ( Older ) better
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank schemie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2015 via mobile

We loved the old part of the Ryokan as it is really beautiful and authentic. It was nice to be able to use the private hot bath. However our room was in the westwing which definitely needs renovation. The walls and furnitures are worn out and run down. The breakfast room is dark and dull. The bathroom is small and the showercurtain is moldy.
They offer japanese and wester breakfast.
The location is very central and lovely at the riverside.
The staff is very friendly.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
Thank Cowboymaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2015 via mobile

It was great spending my holidays with my friends in Ikumatsu Kyoto. It has its best location - walking distance to the Train station Shiyakusho-Mae station, beautiful Misosogi River with full of lovely Sakura along the river etc.

The Ryokan has provided very Japanese breakfast (you can opt for american breakfast, but why if u stay in Ryokan) and dinner. Thanks to executive chef - Yukilazu Ooya, to prepare delicious and very authentic Japanese dinner. You can't expect any better than these kind of dinner.

The Ryokan Ikumatsu has built for more than 200 years. It is really great experience to enjoy the atmosphere by staying 2 different buildings. It is an amazing experience and I am sure u will only get it in Ikumatsu, Kyoto.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank TravelForQualityLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went with three adults and one child. The food was fantastic (they gave us a different dining room each night, so that we could experience the different atmosphere. One was even on the Kamo river!), the location very central, the staff very helpful. Not all of them speak great English, but they will do their best to help you with whatever you need. The building has lots of history, so although it might look a bit run-down, that is actually because it has been standing there for hundreds of years (but the room we and the other couple had could not be faulted, apart from a small bathroom area, ,but that is so in the whole of Japan). They even gave us presents when we left.
All in all, a great experience, we will certainly use this ryokan when we are in Kyoto next.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mar9687768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Ikumatsu in April 2013 and took a deluxe twin room in the main building. We booked online and requested the kaiseki dinner at 7:30. The Ikumatsu was difficult to find, our cab driver had to get out and walk up & down the street to find the doorway, so if you can print off a pic of the entrance so that you know what to look for that might be helpful. Once we had found our way to the reception desk the staff made us feel extremely welcome even though we had arrived early, we didn't speak Japanese and they didn't speak much English! We couldn't check in as the room wasn't ready but we were able to leave our luggage at the desk while we walked to the Gion Kobu Kaburenjo Theater for a performance of the Miyako Odori, the Spring Geiko Dance Performance (not to be missed!!). At our request, staff at the Ikumatsu had kindly made the ticket reservation for us ahead of time and the tickets were waiting to be picked up at the box office, so that worked out well.

We checked in when we arrived back at the Ikumatsu, confirmed our kaiseki dinner for 7:30, and were guided up to our room. The main building of the ryokan is over 200 years old and wonderfully interesting, full of little passages and crannies. Ask to be shown the Ikumatsu Room and you'll walk beside an attractive koi pool, step across the water, and see a room that played a part in the Meiji Restoration. The way to our room on the second floor was reminiscent of an outdoor country path, the walkway being bordered by gravel on both sides and with sconces to the side of each room's entrance as if they were porch lights. Lovely.

The room itself was large and very comfortable with an en suite two piece bathroom, an antechamber for our luggage which was also screened off to hide the entrance to the hall, and an enclosed balcony. Once settled in our room we spent some time just sitting in the balcony enjoying watching the people relaxing by the side of the Kamo River, as well as the white egrets and blue herons as they fished. We took a bath before dinner in the traditional Japanese style bath in the basement (soap up, and rinse off before getting in the humongous tub!), and got back to our room. The maid who was assigned to our room asked if we were ready to eat and then the kaiseki started coming.

With the kaiseki I advise - try everything! I enjoy most Japanese food and of the 14 different courses we had most were new to me and there was really only one course that I actively disliked. The meal was a leisurely served, beautifully and artfully presented rare treat. See pics!

Our room suffered a bit from age. The screen in the antechamber was damaged, and the chairs in the balcony were quite stained and worn. The glass in the balcony windows could have been cleaner. But most importantly, the room and the bathroom were clean and fresh. The maid assigned to help us get settled in, bring us our kaiseki meal, and then make up our futons for the night, like each member of the staff we came in contact with, was pleasant and cheerful. We were unlucky enough to stay during Golden Week, one of the national public holidays that trigger a country wide steep jump in hotel rates and will make finding a room a challenge if you leave booking too late. However, bottom line: we enjoyed our stay and were happy to have had the experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main building, facing onto the Kamo river, for the history and the view!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank summ3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews