We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (624)
Filter reviews
624 results
Traveller rating
106
346
143
17
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
346
143
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location italian restaurant nishiki market bit dated walking distance karasuma oike subway station staff was very friendly and helpful air con manga museum street level cafes and restaurants walked everywhere pontocho alley vending machine main shopping imperial palace gion district
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 624 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Friends and I really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. Our rooms were comfortable and clean. The location was great as well, just a short walk from Nishiki Market, and from Karasuma Oike subway station, which is an interchange between two subway lines and just three stops from Kyoto Station. Prices now seem to be lower because the hotel is currently undergoing a renovation. It’s worth staying that he actual renovation takes place only during the day, and at other times it hardly made a difference to our experience at all. Would thoroughly recommend this place.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank wzhkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

Very good location not far away from attractions and many restaurants around; rooms are not very big; the bathroom also; nice Italian restaurant; cleaness perfect; sleep quality can be better - pillows. The most impressive is the staff- excellent service on reception.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank ElenaKZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

This hotel is located (karasuma oike subway station) close to many attractions: Nijo-ji Castle (one subway away), Museum of Kyoto, Nishiki Market, Emperor Palace, City Hall and with the subway you have access to other places in town. This month they were under construction. It did not bother us much, as we were most of the day out of the hotel and they started the work after 10 am.

The hotel staff is very nice and very helpful!

I would avoid the Italian restaurant breakfast buffet (I am not sure that they are related to the hotel), as it is a very minimalistic buffet.

Room Tip: Even rooms that point to the main street are not noise.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank good-living-montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and booked through booking.com check in good until we was told there is building works being carried out between 10am - 5pm. This made the hotel useless during the day due to the noise. Next the air con doesn’t work so heating is done with a little heater. Cooling the room well you just cannot. Room and bathroom is outdated but very clean. No bottled water. Beds only have one pillow and are not comfortable. Breakfast is ok but not extensive. However it is in a good location and close to the subway network.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

The hotel is currently undergoing some building works and with scaffolding outside our window we had no natural light which was a shame. The work is being carried out during the day so shouldn't be an issue if you're out sightseeing. Although our room was small it had a desk, 2 chairs and a wardrobe and was considerably bigger than where we stayed in Tokyo. The room was cleaned to a high standard each day and cotton bathrobes/kimonos proved too.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Moriston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews