We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
33
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rita exterior enjoyment lives vegetables land homemade tourists design nature cooking wine farm products august house
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Vittorio gave us such a lovely welcome, once we found the house, it was a little tricky as there are no signs and no other directions than the main road from an address perspective. He welcomed us with a delicious refreshing drink that was home made. Rita was equally as warm and welcoming and together they make a great team. Breakfasts were delicious, they were kind enough to host dinner one evening which was lovely. The location was great for us as we wanted to explore the small towns around the area and Ceglie Messapica was our favourite, very quaint and lots of delicious restaurants to dine, minus the tourists, hurrah! I hear they're getting wifi soon, which would just make things more convenient when you're planning trips etc and you need to look up addresses or map your routes. Be sure to visit, you won't be disappointed!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We stayed with Rita and Vittorio in August, during our road trip around Puglia, and it was a very relaxing and peaceful break.
The house is down a track (quite hard to find!) and surrounded by the land on which Vittorio works unless he is greeting his guests with a home-made mint syrup! Rita also makes the most incredible pastries - breakfast was amazing. We also had a really nice dinner with them and their friends one lovely evening.
Ceglie Messapica is such a cool little town that oozes charm. Good restaurants too. Would fefinitely recommend.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoLondon2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

It was one of the most wonderful experiences we've ever had. Their house and garden is absolutely beautiful, and we were welcomed with such warmth (and a refreshing homemade mint drink!) We loved sharing stories and cultures with Rita, and Vittorio kindly introduced us to their many animals. Breakfast was a real highlight (Rita's tiramisu is top notch), and we were so happy we were able to enjoy some absolutely delicious homegrown, homemade and home-cooked food on our last night. That was a truly unforgettable experience! If you want a unique, relaxing and heartwarming experience, stay at Vittorio and Rita's. It'll be the highlight of your trip.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lottie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016

You can see and feel the love from Rita and Vittorio for their B&B in so many ways:
- The feeling of almost being part of the family
- The lovely and very tasteful interior (and exterior) design (Rita´s heart is full of ideas!)
- The more than delicious breakfast with ingredients from their own animals or land
- The perfect Fusion of comfort and sustainibility
- Their warmness and enjoyment of life
It was -as simple as it may sound, but as hard to find- a perfect week in Apulia!

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2015

A truly amazing place, a real home from home. We spent 4 days here in late October and watched the olives being harvested by day and cosy nights by the roaring fire eating delicious home grown and home cooked food ; our favourites being pizza cooked in the wood fired oven and the best chick peas we have ever tasted slow cooked the traditional way in a clay pot by the fire. The house is beautiful decorated, we loved the farmhouse kitchen and the rooms were stylish, and very comfortable at the same time.

Rita and Vittorio are fantastic hosts, it felt like a lovely family home. Breakfast each morning is superb, always something home made, home grown and home baked.

Our daughter (1) loved getting up each morning and visiting all the animals and going on the swing, while our son (18) and his friends kept themselves amused with table tennis tournaments and playing football on the pitch Vittorio made.

It is so relaxing and beautiful here, so much so that our only problem was we found it hard to leave and go out and about!!! Thank you Rita and Vittorio for such a wonderful time.

Cannot recommend Il Grillo dalle Ali Turkesi enough, we will definitely be back to stay soon.

Room tip: we stayed in the double room with the ensuite, the views were lovely over the olive groves and the sun rise each morning (October)
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews