We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A perfect place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Antico Asilo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serralunga d'Alba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
L'Antico Asilo
Paso Robles
Level Contributor
165 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

We stayed at L'Antico Aslio for three nights while touring the Piedmont region - our first stay in this area. The B & B was lovely - quiet location, comfortable rooms and abundant breakfast. Elena is a lovely hostess who helped us with reservations at local restaurants. She spoke just enough English for us to be able to communicate. It is the perfect base to venture out to Barolo, La Morra, and Alba. I would highly recommend this "gem" of a B & B.

Room Tip: Our room opened up to the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AbbyPasoRobles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
19
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

We stayed at this small hotel in October while traveling around the Piedmont region sampling the local wines. It is very small, peaceful and is steps away from rolling vineyards. Ms Elena, the owner, is delightful and gave suggestions for dinner, local towns to visit, and good directions. One restaurant is a five minute walk from the hotel and it was very good- a menu of fresh, local food and they also bottle their own wine. The breakfast was huge with yogurts, salami, about 10 local cheeses you could sample, bread, juices, cereal, croissants etc. Our room had French doors which opened onto a small courtyard with tables and chairs. The rooms are big with high ceilings and very modern bathrooms. I highly recommend it if you want to stay in the Piedmont and get away from it all!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gergema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayport, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

We can't say enough about Elena and her lovely B&B. After climbing to the top of the mountain, we were rewarded with this beautiful view of the vineyards. The B&B itself is absolutely beautiful; our room was perfect with a small patio outside where we enjoyed some local wine and cheese before dinner.
Dinner at the restaurant next to the B&B was also delicious with local ingredients and very nice wines.
We were the only guests on that particular night and when we awoke the next morning, a sumptuous breakfast spread greeted us in the "breakfast room". Varieties of local cheeses, smoked meat, yogurt, fruit, sweets--all beautifully displayed on a linen covered table. Fit for a king!
It was a bargain at 100 euros per night. We only stayed for the one night, but will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmk1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2007

A piece of typical Piemonte for the most authentic Italian villa experience you will ever have. Serralunga d'Alba boasts a towering 14th century castle (you can make an appointment with the castlekeeper for a private tour) as do all of the neighboring villages. At the foot of this is a nursery school (Asilo) built in 1901 in the liberty style (we still have to figure out what exactly that entails) that has been carefully renovated into three loft rooms (split levels or duplex units) and one larger suite that all open out into a cortille where we enjoyed our own picnic lunch from typical products bought at the local shops. Each room is immaculately clean and distinctive. The hostess is also the manager and cook, with an incredibly sumptuous breakfast awaiting you in the adjoining breakfast room, with unexpected white table cloth and linen service. This would be my inn of choice for any repeat visits to the Piemonte area, to use as a base for easy access to Asti, Alba, Barolo, Grnizane Cavour, Monforte d'Alba and LaMorra.

How Chosen:
Travel and Leisure review. Booked via direct email contact from the website: lavillahotel.net

Pros:
* Early unexpected arrival was accommodated as we were in touch via Blackberry and mobile. There is a facility for left luggage.
* While a car is essential in Piemonte, this location is extremely central to everywhere you would want to be, proximate to major expressways, wineries and high level gourmet Michelin grade dining.
* Plumbing is exceptional with high water pressures, very hot water and a working bidet attachment.
* A short walk (50 m) to a local trattoria and to local food supply stores as well as multiple enoteci if you wish to whip up a quick lunch or dinner. Note timings change daily as in everything else in Piemonte.
* Owner (singular!) is Italian with some working knowledge of English but with considerable enthusiasm and several suggestions for shopping, dining, wine and enjoying the countryside. Her level of energy is to be roundly lauded. She made and canceled various appointments for us, and is always available on her mobile
* Breakfast is fit for a local king and easily outdoes that of any high grade five star restaurant ever attended (keeping in mind there are only 4 suites)
* Each immaculate, distinctive room has a loft with a daybed, ideal for families with children
* Each room has a large fridge compartment under the stocked minibar, ideal for your own products or to chill water
* Bath towels are spun cotton, absorbent and large
* Very clean. Advise against leaving windows open at night (as is my habit) – proximity to wineries during harvest has the fruit bats zipping about in earnest. They can scare small children and pests.

Cons:
* No air-conditioning or fan. Elena indicated imminent plans for rewiring for central air. Given it would be required for only a portion of the year, pedestal fans would probably be fiscally conservative
* Bath products are generic
* For non-Italian speakers, communication could be a bit frustrating, but you should take your little Berlitz guide with you if you fear causing an international incident. The use of hands and maps is strongly suggested

Cost: E95 per night per person (including all local taxes and breakfast)

Go. Now. :)

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — No fan
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SNDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serralunga d'Alba
1.8 km away
Il Boscareto Resort & Spa
Il Boscareto Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Serralunga d'Alba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
2.1 km away
Antico Podere Tota Virginia
Antico Podere Tota Virginia
#2 of 2 in Serralunga d'Alba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Castello di Sinio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Da Felicin
Da Felicin
#2 of 3 in Monforte d'Alba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.1 km away
I Grappoli
I Grappoli
#1 of 7 in Serralunga d'Alba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
2.0 km away
Agriturismo Tenuta Cappallotto
Agriturismo Tenuta Cappallotto
#2 of 7 in Serralunga d'Alba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Antico Asilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Antico Asilo

Property: L'Antico Asilo
Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini 13, 12050 Serralunga d'Alba, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Serralunga d'Alba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Serralunga d'Alba
Price range (per night): $137
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome…At the foot of the majestic 14th-century castle, and facing the hills of the prestigious Barolo wine, I am proud to introduce you to the Antico Asilo:.. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing