We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Chettinadu Mansion(Kanadukathan)
USD 69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chettinadu Court(Karaikudi)
USD 50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sathyam(Pudukkottai)
USD 21
TripAdvisor
View Deal
SRM Hotel Tiruchirapalli(Tiruchirappalli)
USD 49
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Gardenia(Tiruchirappalli)
USD 52
USD 43
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Surag Residency(Tiruchirappalli)(Great Value!)
USD 16
USD 14
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
JK Residency(Tiruchirappalli)
USD 18
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chettinad Packer(Kanadukathan)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
222
40
5
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
40
5
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscgh earthtamil nadufirst floorswimming poolart decocooking demonstrationchettinad mansionearly morningsouthern indiabeautifully restored mansionsouth indian breakfastrooms are hugesmall hotelcooking classchettinad stylethe ground floorbygone era
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

My daughter and I stayed on night at this glorious place. A welcome drink on arrival, shown to our room which was gi-nor ours,beautifully furnished, separate bathroom with walk- in shower. Doors on to a balcony where we watched the chickens . Great swimming pool and lovely to have dinner outside by the pool. Would go back in a shot.

Room Tip: Room 102 great for us.
Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank cleveland16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, Manager at Visalam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Guest,
Our best rating comes from comments like the one you just gave. All of us at Visalam strive to achieve the level of guest satisfaction as being talked here. lt was our pleasure to be able to host you and provide service which would exceed your expectation. Thank you.
Sincerely,
Febin Thomas
Manger
Visalam heritage
a CGH earth experience
Chettinad, South India

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

We stayed for 2 nights which sadly was not long enough! Our room was very comfortable and spacious and spotlessly clean. All the staff were so friendly and helpful. Febin has a great team there. Breakfast was served in the garden and dinner on the roof terrace restaurant. All our meals were excellent reflecting the local cuisine and the restaurant staff were great. After a morning sight seeing in the village our afternoons were spent by the pool. The village is fascinating and well worth a visit. The mansions reflected a bygone era. We also paid a visit to a local weaving centre. Well worth a visit.
A peaceful and restorative stay thank you!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Madeira52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, Manager at Visalam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Guest,
It was very kind of you to give your valuable comments about your stay. Thanks for your review on your many experiences while at Visalam, and your compliments about the staff are already conveyed to them. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our property and the stay with us is a real moment of glory for us. Our effort to present Chettinad experience at its authentic best is our mission and your valuable comment gives us assurance that we are in the right track. Looking forward to see you back more so at Visalam,
Sincerely,
Febin Thomas
Manager
Visalam heritage
a CGH earth experience
Chettinad , south India

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

What can I say! I had one of the most remarkable birthdays in the Visalam mansion. Wonderful restored, historical ambiance and an amazing correct and friendly staff.

It all starts when you arrive with an welcome drink including an explanation and historical facts from the hostess.

After the necessary paperwork she brings
you to your room which are absolutely stylish with a good big bed and lovely shower. Some here complain about the lack of a TV but from my point of view this will demolish the historical value of the room and is not necessary. We didn’t missed it at all.

We had both dinner and breakfast at Visalam with were both delicious. One remark on the tableware that was used during dinner that doesn’t fit in the ambiance of the mansion in my humble opinion. Cool is that Visalam organize breakfast in the garden, lunch at the swimming pool and diner in their restaurant on the first floor. This way you see all the spot’s

In the morning during breakfast I was surprised by the full staff because of my birthday including cake and a postcard. Many thanks to the friendly staff.

We had a great time at Visalam and because of our schedule we’d stay only one day.

Tip; sometimes they offer good deals by Booking.com so keep in mind when you planning to book.

Tip2; the offer free bikes to explore the cute little town Cettinadu.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Scimable D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, Manager at Visalam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Guest,
Am glad your stay at Visalam was enjoyable. It is obvious from your review that you took the time to try your hand at several of the Visalam’s offerings and am glad you were able to connect with them positively. We do hope you will come back and visit some of the other properties of the cgh earth experience hotels, Once again I thank you for sending in your review on Visalam .
Sincerely,
Febin Thomas
Manager
Visalam Heritage
Chettinad,South Ind

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

We stayed for just one night at this beautiful historic hotel during a trip through Tamil Nadu and would have been more than happy to extend our stay if time allowed. We were booked into a suite - a very spacious room which was tastefully furnished. The hotel, a former Chettinad mansion, exudes character and history. It has beautiful grounds, including a secluded and very pleasant pool area. Breakfast is served in an attractive shady garden. The staff are particularly welcoming and attentive and are happy to provide complimentary activities, including sari and dhoti lessons. The manager, brought up in the village, leads a fascinating complimentary tour of the nearby mansions and village streets. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, Manager at Visalam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Guest,
Heartfelt thanks for your absolutely positive review of Visalam. I'm glad you enjoyed your local experiences at Visalam and we hope you will book a stay at some of our other offerings in other destinations on your subsequent trips to South India.
Sincerely,
Febin Thomas
Manager
Visalam Heritage
a CGH earth experience
Chettinad, South India

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

visalam is a super comfortable place to stay for anyone exploring chettinad - the rooms are splash (very large, simple and elegant, with athangudi tiles), the dining areas are spectacular, and the pool area is perfect; kanadaktuthan has two beautiful old mansions just down the street you can walk into and explore (the town is filled with classic chattiar mansions), and you are an easy drive to karaikuddi. Food choices could have been more varied for vegetarians staying more than one night, but for non-veg eaters no such issues. Staff is super super helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank yatrawallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, Manager at Visalam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for posting a glowing review of your stay. I’m so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and the service our staff provided. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and it will help us in our efforts to continually improve our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the Future.
Sincerely,
Febin Thomas
Manager
Visalam heritage
a CGH earth experience
Chettinad,southIndia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews