We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place , great dinner!”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Mirissa, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Russian first
Any
English first
MartaCoco...
Colombo
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place , great dinner!”
Reviewed 14 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed in Sounds of Nature for a week and enjoyed every single moment!
Rooms are clean and cosy, service is excellent, best breakfast and Thai dinner we ever had in Sri Lanka!
Whale watching trip that they organised was awesome))
Definitely recommend this place, you won't regret!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verufox
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place walking distance to gorgeous beach”
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

The house is located in big garden, outside of Mirissa but still within walking distance to the beach. Borys (the owner) makes great omelettes for the breakfast :-) and he is really helpful. The rooms contain everything you need and the garden around the house is just a lovely place to relax.

My only complaint goes to the bed which is sort of time-worn and creaks terribly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramzi H
1 review
“Recommended place to stay.”
Reviewed 23 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Nice place to stay.
Borys the owner, was very helpful and welcoming. Rooms are clean. Location is good, 2min away from Mirissa beach by tuktuk. Breakfast was nice and very generous. Would definitely recommend the place.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice_Ge...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quiet place, clean, very helpful caretaker”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My friend and I stayed here two nights in a non AC room on the upper floor. The room, bed, bath towels, and toilet/shower was clean. There is a ceiling fan, a cupboard with a safe, no mosquito nets but this was not an issue for us as there were no mosquitoes in our room even though we opened both doors to let the breeze in. We did have a problem with ants on the floor due to a dead bug right outside our door (and thus the ants were marching it off and had various ant scouts all about), but this was more or less resolved when the caretaker, Dima, sped off to buy insecticide immediately after we told him about the problem.

Other than the ants, we did enjoy the "sounds of nature" especially in the morning. There are wooden chairs outside our door, and wooden deck lounges on the roof, second floor terrace, and ground floor for lazing around. Breakfast was decent, with choice of boiled or fried egg or omelette, along with toast, watermelon and banana, yogurt, and coffee/tea.

The "hotel" itself is situated just outside of Mirissa, tens of metres from the "end of Mirissa" signboard on the main road, inside a narrow little lane with high red clay walls just wide enough for a car to navigate. Besides the Copacabana resort, most of the other residents are local, and we did not meet more than a few tourists around the hotel. There is no signpost on the main road except for a small white one high up with a little Buddhist swastika sign and some Sinhalese(?) letters. It's about a 15-minute walk from the nearest beach front cafe, and it's advisable to bring a flashlight at night. There is a path to a quiet little beach with a very rocky shore if you turn right from the hotel entrance and walk for a few minutes.

All in, the hotel is a nice quiet retreat after a day at the main beach with the beachfront cafes and many other tourists walking around.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natalia83...
Doha, Qatar
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent two nights there recently. Place is quiet and lovely. Rooms are cosy, clean and comfortable. Beautiful beaches just near by. Our host Dima was lovely, very attentive, kind and helpful. I recommend it to everyone.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 30
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing