We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relax and Unwind. Take a deep breath and enjoy...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Daisy Lanka

34ft Private Swimming Pool in the garden with a 12 seater outdoor lounging area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
34ft Private Swimming Pool in the garden with a 12 seater outdoor lounging area
Daisy Lanka Villa Daisy Lanka at Twilight
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
34ft Private Swimming Pool in the garden with a 12 seater outdoor lounging area
Daisy Lanka Villa
Daisy Lanka at Twilight
The Sala/Lounge
The indoor Sala/Lounging area
The dining area indoors
Kitchen with breakfast bar
Kitchen
Master Bedrooms
Master Bedroom - Super king size
The Private Dressing Room off the Master Bedroom
Master Bathroom
The Green Room - King Size Bedroom
The Green Ensuite
The Twin Bedroom
The Orange Room - Twin beds... 6ft 6in long
The Twin Bathroom
The garden and swimming pool
The grounds at Daisy Lanka
The Ambalama
The dining area under the Ambalama
The outside lounging and dining area in the Ambalama
Rear Ambalama with additional seating
Rear Ambalama
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mirissa, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Stace2020
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relax and Unwind. Take a deep breath and enjoy peace, comfort and style.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

OMG! From being picked up at the airport our stay was absolutely amazing. The driver provided from the start of our journey was polite and friendly and this set the tone for our stay at this wonderful "home" provided for us by Andy and Tracey and their team of warm friendly staff. On arrival you are met by the staff who are genuinely pleased to meet you and waste no time in making sure you are settled.
The three bedroomed villa sits in its own beautifully tendered grounds that ensure you have complete privacy throughout your stay. The grounds themselves are a treasure trove of wild life and throughout the stay we saw a wide variety of birds, insects and other furry creatures that are bound to delight.
The "house boy" Mahesh is a friendly character who never fails to make an excellent cocktail brought out to you by the pool or while you relax under the amba lamba in the shade.
Chef, Proboda although a young lad has experience and skill way beyond his age and never failed to deliver a lovely meal. Further more he is only to pleased to share his skills should you wish to make one of his creations when you eventually have to go home.
Chatu is the guest relations manager and she will help you get the most out of your stay and is a wealth of knowledge when it comes to organising trips and a anything else you need a hand with.
The local area is very traditional in its appearance and pace of life. The beach is a short five minute walk away and here you will find stunning views to your left and right on this gently curved beach. The waves roll and crash and come right up to any of the beach bars along the bay. Here you can mix body boarding with sunbathing and enjoy a cocktail, local beer or soft drink and locally caught sea food.
All the locals we met at the various bars are extremely friendly and are genuinely interested in you. If we could make one suggestion then a visit for sunset beers at Sudu Weli beach bar is a must (Nala the owner is definitely a character) and a tuc tuc ride can get you there in minutes. The locals in all the shops are wonderful, everyone from the pharmacy to the jewellery shops are neither pushy or unfriendly. Lads don't worry about the Mrs disappearing into one of the jewellery shops either, the prices are unbelievable and silver and sapphire items are sure to go down well with her indoors.
To sum it all up the break we had was fantastic we spent time with some wonderful friends and made some new ones. After you have stayed at Daisy Lanka you will never want to go anywhere else again, we certainly won't.
Thank you Andy, Tracey and all the staff.
Stace and Emma.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, relaxed friendly home from home
Liked least: Having to leave, boo hoo :(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
millerfam...
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bliss!!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, but could have stayed much longer. The house is lovely, it is stylish yet comfortable and has everything that you need. We were greeted by the lovely staff of the house - all so friendly and welcoming. The chef is great and cooks superb food - always too much though! The 'house boy' has a real talent for drinks - anticipating when you might want a drink and surprising us with delicious iced coffees.
We spent our time relaxing by the pool, which is great, and going to the amazingly beautiful beach near by. it is an easy walk to the beach - even with two small kids - but even better fun to take a 3min tuk tuk ride.
The beach has big waves which were great for playing in but I'm not sure if it would be safe for kids to swim. There is also a good surfing area to the right of the beach. as we were there for only three days we did not do any sightseeing, but the villa staff have lots of local knowledge and would have been happy to arrange anything for us. Driving along this coast back to Galle is beautiful - seeing the local fishermen etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the staff and the pool
Liked least: mosquitoes
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
family_fa...
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Dreaming of Daisy Lanka”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Daisy Lanka is a delightful three bedroom villa located up a quiet lane, an easy 5 minutes walk from Marissa beach.
We stayed at the property for three weeks from New Year onwards with a party of four. Upon arrival we were greeted with cold towels, a drink and a warm welcome. While the drink went quickly the welcome remained throughout our stay.
The quality of the house is excellent with all rooms having their own ensuites – the master bedroom/ensuite is pretty much straight out of Vogue Living. Beds are all nice and firm and the property is clearly well maintained. A noisy ceiling fan was serviced within 24 hours and likewise the broken Seaco Espresso machine replaced.
The grounds are lush and tranquil with a well maintained in ground pool (2 metres at the deep end) and a very gorgeous out door lounge and dining space immediately adjoining the pool. When not at the beach we spent a lot of time here lazing and being pampered by the staff.
While the property is very nice, it is the quality of the hospitality that really made this a very special stay for us.
Proboda is a genuinely talented chef who worked hard to deliver great food as and when required. Sitting down with him to plan out the next few days of eating was a delight and you can either go from the menus or ask for a favourite or “something different”. We tried a number of the local restaurants but after a while came to realise that we had the best food and service at Daisy Lanka. (Only exception would be an occasional lunchtime roti or kottu at Dewmini Roti Shop). Given we only paid for the ingredients, the cost was also extremely reasonable and greatly added to the value proposition of the property. Highlights included the curry nights, seafood feasts, beetroot chicken, hoppers for breakfast, the crêpes/pancakes, the watalapan (sort of Sri Lankan crème brule) and carrot, chocolate, and coconut cakes (yum).
Mahesh is the ever cheerful, helpful and attentive housekeeper who also makes great coffee and drinks (the minty lime drink and ice tea are awesome especially with a piece of Proboda’s coconut tea cake).
Mahesh and Proboda where with us day and night, throughout our visit and beautifully balanced great service with respect for our personal space: no mean feat.
Garmini and his son Hashan alternate as nightwatchmen giving a nice sense of security and most mornings Chathu drops in to make sure everything is as it should be and can organise tours, drivers and the like.
All in all we had a delightful stay at Daisy Lanka. The property is great and the staff even better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to relax completely, swim and surf as much as we liked, eat fabulous food and not have to do the washing up
Liked least: The mossies
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard25...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If I tell you how good it was, we may never get to go again...”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely time in the Daisy Lanka villa. It is a luxury residence within a lush and tropical surrounding and in keeping with the local environment. Bliss behind doors.

The beach a short walk away is a gem, clean and well provided with bars and places to eat. We went in the off season and it was nicely quiet. In the peak, I'm guesing it gets packed - select the time according to your preference. The weather was great, sunshine mixed with tropical standard storms, all cleared up quickly.

Do go to the Mirissa Eye and make a point of friending the owner, Roshan. He is a gem.

The advice and pre-information given by the owners was extremely helpful and definitely added to the overall enjoyment. The villa crew were very helpful and attentive and their driver the single best driver on the island, engaging, calm, very helpful and all with a small cheeky grin.

Will we go back? Definitely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 5 star hotel like home from home, pool and natural surroundings
Liked least: The mozzies
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2013 for a stay in November 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to say here
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing