We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5* Villa in an unspoilt location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Daisy Lanka

34ft Private Swimming Pool in the garden with a 12 seater outdoor lounging area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
34ft Private Swimming Pool in the garden with a 12 seater outdoor lounging area
Daisy Lanka Villa Daisy Lanka at Twilight
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
34ft Private Swimming Pool in the garden with a 12 seater outdoor lounging area
Daisy Lanka Villa
Daisy Lanka at Twilight
The Sala/Lounge
The indoor Sala/Lounging area
The dining area indoors
Kitchen with breakfast bar
Kitchen
Master Bedrooms
Master Bedroom - Super king size
The Private Dressing Room off the Master Bedroom
Master Bathroom
The Green Room - King Size Bedroom
The Green Ensuite
The Twin Bedroom
The Orange Room - Twin beds... 6ft 6in long
The Twin Bathroom
The garden and swimming pool
The grounds at Daisy Lanka
The Ambalama
The dining area under the Ambalama
The outside lounging and dining area in the Ambalama
Rear Ambalama with additional seating
Rear Ambalama
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mirissa, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Lesley B
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“5* Villa in an unspoilt location”
Reviewed 10 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Andy and Tracy's beautiful villa feels like home as soon as you arrive, even when you get there late at night as we did. Their attention to detail, from comfortable beds with lovely cotton linen to cold beers in the fridge meant that this was ta fabulously relaxing stay for ALL of us (aged 60 to 6yrs).

Having staff was a novelty that we found hard to adjust to, but only for the first 24 hours. After that Praboda, Mahesh and Chathu became integral to our holiday. They played football and volleyball with the children, gave us fabulous advice as to best places to visit locally (eg Whale watching), arranged transport and prepared the most amazing meals (some days breakfast lunch and dinner! ) Fresh fruit and waffles for breakfast, chicken and mango salad for lunch and a sri-lankan curries f (you MUST try the runner bean curry) for dinner. The children didn't miss out either with plenty of child friendly options available.

The pool area is delightful with wildlife visiting most days. we saw monitor lizards, king fishes, eagles, and fireflies along with ever present Chipmunk like cane squirrels. The beach IS a five minute walk even for 6 year olds and provides great sunsets and cold beers aplenty at the numerous beach bars. The food here is reasonably priced but lacked the appeal of Praboda's food at home so we tended to eat at the villa.

The owners, Andy and Tracy, have been incredibly helpful and answered numerous emails promptly and in detail. This from changing money and arranging visas to selecting the food for our first meal, stocking the fridge with beers and soft drinks to advising on mosquito repellant (Autan). This really helped ease us into holiday mode.

All in all a great place and a great holiday. Thank you team Daisy Lanka

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sri Lankan hospitality and the local wildlife
Liked least: Sri Lankan driving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Reviewed 6 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality and spaciousness of the property, attentive and professional service of the staff.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Mar 2013
Many thanks Kevin, we are glad that you had such a great holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Morvan69
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Extremely Relaxing”
Reviewed 12 February 2013 for a stay in November 2012

Our family holiday in Daisy Lanka, was the best holiday we have had together. The property is fantastic. And the overall ambiance of the property is magical. Daisy Lanka is located only 5 miutes walk for the Merissa Beach, which is beautiful. Clean white sandy beach, not bad surf, plenty of waves for the kids & adults to have fun in. The beach is dotted with resturants so plenty to choose from.
The house is beautifully laid out, modern and clean. Each room has a four poster beds and is en suite. The master bedroom also has walk in waredrobe. The Salon is a lovely cool area to cool off from the Sri Lankan sun. The pool is fantastic, if you want to relax at home, alabama, the outside garden area is perfect.
The staff are fantastic so helpful and friendly, we really felt like we were all part of the daisy lanka family!
Mahesh, the chief can cook you anything and is always there if you need anything. Gimani, the night watchman, what a wonderful man, a true gentleman and we felt very safe under his care at night. Hasan, gimani son, a super tour guide if you need one! he took us off for a four hour tuk tuk tour of part of the island! The kids thought is was an amazing adventure in the tuk tuk. Chatu, the best hostess ever. A wonderful girl, so helpful and eger to please. Nothing was too much to ask of her and also a great tour guide of the local area.
All in all, i highly recommend Daisy Lanka for your holiday villa, you will not be disappointed. It has given us some wonderful memories and we look forward to returning there soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was quite, no TV!
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful comments, the staff are thrilled to know that they made your holiday so special. We are lucky to have such a fantastic team and so pleased that you enjoyed your time there so much. We look forward to welcoming you all back soon :-D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clareandc...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“"Beautiful Villa"”
Reviewed 22 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Stayed at Daisy Lanka over New Year - originally for seven days but extended our stay for an extra three nights as it was a perfect place to relax.

The villa which is new has great size rooms (all with en-suite). The lounge was an ideal size as was the outside area with a lovely pool and seating area in immaculate gardens.

The staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Chef and Mahesh provided a marvelous New Year candle-lit meal in the outside area by the pool. Chef will cook anything you wish, ranging from a Sri Lankan Banana Curry to Pancakes whenever you like! His Spring Rolls were yummy too.

Location was 5 minutes away from a lovely beach which is definetely the nicest beach on the island. The Night Watchman's son Hasan will take you to the beach in his Tuk Tuk and pick you up if you wish.

Overall a perfect holiday destination and would return in the future.

Would like to thank Andy and Tracey (owners) for all their help to ensure we had a wonderful time at Daisy Lanka.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outside seating area by pool and Mahesh who was a very kind and helpful person.
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of 10 days!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2013
We are so glad you had such a good holiday over New Year and extended your stay. Our aim is to make people feel like it's home from home and such a pleasure to hear that you felt it was so. We would certainly look forward to welcoming you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
2 reviews
“A fantastic family villa”
Reviewed 30 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

Daisy Lanka is a terrific villa for a holiday by the beach. It is beautifully furnished and the attention to detail is such that you feel you are in a 5 star hotel! The staff are very friendly and informative- helping to arrange trips, walks to see Monkeys, transport etc. the chef is fantastic cooking up some delicious curries for us. The beach is close by with great surf/ boogie boarding and good bars and restaurants. The owners were very helpful and answered numerous questions by email. I would recommend this villa for a great beach holiday with also the option for cultural day trips. A magical place!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2013
We are so glad that you had a special Christmas at Daisy Lanka and that we could assist you with your enquiries.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing